Bagheera 3/30 AMPS 325, +4 224 +7 298 PMPS 234 +4 258

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
My human is using the Arkray exclusively now. He is holding the three unit dose even though he really wants to amp it up because he doesn't like these numbers he is seeing.

The good news is I am not fussing as much about the ear sticks now. And it's so funny how my human is doing it. Since he is used to the AlphaTrak2 lancing tool, he still uses that. But then he uses the Arkray to test. Silly human. But I guess it's best for me, because it means that I don't have to deal with him fumbling around when he sticks my ear!

Last conversation
 
Re: Bagheera 3/30 AMPS 325, +4 224

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
My human is using the Arkray exclusively now. He is holding the three unit dose even though he really wants to amp it up because he doesn't like these numbers he is seeing.

The good news is I am not fussing as much about the ear sticks now. And it's so funny how my human is doing it. Since he is used to the AlphaTrak2 lancing tool, he still uses that. But then he uses the Arkray to test. Silly human. But I guess it's best for me, because it means that I don't have to deal with him fumbling around when he sticks my ear!

Last conversation

There's a lot of information on this board to consume, so not sure if anyone has shared this with you yet or if you've had a chance to read it, but with dose changes (usually increases), there's a term called "New Dose Wonkiness" as that all-magical Lantus depot re-stabilizes. Even though you've just decreased the dose and this doesn't directly apply, I have seen in Michelangelo similar high numbers after a dose decrease but after a few cycles, it usually stabilizes and he drops into some better numbers....or I have to increase the dose again. Michelangelo also has the issue of it shifting his nadir around after a dose decrease (it also sometimes happens with a dose increase). Usually, whenever I do dosing changes, I test way more often the first few cycles (I call it Mikey's game of "try finding my nadir now, Mom" :lol: ). My suggestion would be to give it a couple of more cycles and he might even surprise you this afternoon and drop lower into some pretty greens.

Disclaimer: If someone else comes along and advices you to increase again, trust them more than me because they know more about dosing than I do. ;-)

As for lancing devices, I use a ReliOn meter and an Accuchek lancet pen (my diabetic relatives gave me a ton of their spare supplies, which were mostly lancet barrels and pens). A lot people free-hand the lancets (it gives better control), but I love the pen because I don't have to dispose of yet another "Sharps" and they're easier for me to re-use (I just don't click over to the next lancet in the barrel). I've gotten so used to using the lancet pens that when I do go free-hand, it's a whole new learning curve for me every time. :lol:

The key to glucometer variance is to stick with one meter for at least the whole day (I usually use a different glucometer for a few days before switching back). The reason for this is that the numbers (and your actions based on the numbers) will always be consistent to that specific meter. When I switch over to my Micro for a few days, at this point, I know how it differs from the readings I get on my Prime, so I adjust my actions on that difference and, most especially, on Michelangelo's behavior. For instance, the Micro reads lower on low numbers than the Prime, so there have been a couple of times when Mikey has tested low enough for a dose decrease on the Micro, but I haven't decreased his dose because I know that based on his previous numbers and his behavior that a Micro 43 is in reality more like a 53. These are all things that you'll learn over time, but no need to worry about it just yet; we'll be able to help with that in the meantime. Just make sure you stay consistent with which meter's readings you're basing your dosing decisions off. It'll all even out in the end.
 
Re: Bagheera 3/30 AMPS 325, +4 224 +7 298

One more thing: because they seem to be taking better to the wet food now, my suggestion would be to use this time to get rid of the dry entirely before increasing his dose again since dry food can impact BGs over 100 points. That way you don't increase his dose only to have to decrease him again once he's fully off the dry.
 
Re: Bagheera 3/30 AMPS 325, +4 224 +7 298

Hi! I'm just out & about passing out easter eggs and thought I'd stop in to say hello :-D
 
Re: Bagheera 3/30 AMPS 325, +4 224 +7 298

One of the things about me is that I show no outward signs of how I am doing to my human. My blood sugar can be way up there, and I'm still running around chasing things. It's been low enough to where my human called the vet, and I showed no signs of being in trouble.

I'm a pretty tough cat. When I was diagnosed with diabetes, the only inkling my human had that something might be wrong was that I was drinking a lot, and peeing a lot. But it also was very hot in San Diego -- well, for us anyway -- and he thought it might be that.
 
Re: Bagheera 3/30 AMPS 325, +4 224 +7 298

TheBowHuntress said:
Hi! I'm just out & about passing out easter eggs and thought I'd stop in to say hello :-D

Thanks for coming by. Are you the Easter cat? My human says I cannot have any sugary things so those are out. :sad:
 
Re: Bagheera 3/30 AMPS 325, +4 224

KPassa said:
but with dose changes (usually increases), there's a term called "New Dose Wonkiness" as that all-magical Lantus depot re-stabilizes.

Sorry, Kay, but this is not correct. NDW only occurs with dose increases. It does not occur with reductions.

I'm glad to see you are being patient, Tony. And Bagheera is not the only one that acts the same regardless of number....several cats do...including my little Gracie. :-D
 
Re: Bagheera 3/30 AMPS 325, +4 224

Marje and Gracie said:
KPassa said:
but with dose changes (usually increases), there's a term called "New Dose Wonkiness" as that all-magical Lantus depot re-stabilizes.

Sorry, Kay, but this is not correct. NDW only occurs with dose increases. It does not occur with reductions.

ohmygod_smile I really confuddled the heck out of that one. :oops: What I was meaning to say (and I think I accidentally deleted an entire paragraph in there somewhere - using a new iPhone and still can't figure it out):

NDW occurs with dose increases. This is partially caused by the Lantus depot being built up to the new dose. With a dose decrease on the other hand, the Lantus depot is still filled to the higher dosage for the first few days. Then the rest of it from here:
I have seen in Michelangelo similar high numbers after a dose decrease but after a few cycles, it usually stabilizes and he drops into some better numbers....or I have to increase the dose again. Michelangelo also has the issue of it shifting his nadir around after a dose decrease (it also sometimes happens with a dose increase). Usually, whenever I do dosing changes, I test way more often the first few cycles (I call it Mikey's game of "try finding my nadir now, Mom" :lol: ). My suggestion would be to give it a couple of more cycles and he might even surprise you this afternoon and drop lower into some pretty greens.

My underlying point was supposed to be that what we're seeing currently with Bagheera might just be camouflaging what's really going on because his nadir has shifted earlier or later. If this isn't the case, then he may simply need an increase.

I hope that helps clear things up for everyone? :oops:
 
Marje and Gracie said:
KPassa said:
but with dose changes (usually increases), there's a term called "New Dose Wonkiness" as that all-magical Lantus depot re-stabilizes.

Sorry, Kay, but this is not correct. NDW only occurs with dose increases. It does not occur with reductions.

Oh! Just got what you meant by "only." Sorry, I'm used to writing in the Corporate World where you can't use Absolutes, meaning anything that could become a legal and binding contract. That's why I used "usually" simply to account for any rare exception to the rule. But yes, Marje is a wonderful and wise woman and she is correct. :-D
 
KPassa said:
ohmygod_smile I really confuddled the heck out of that one. :oops: What I was meaning to say (and I think I accidentally deleted an entire paragraph in there somewhere - using a new iPhone and still can't figure it out):
At least this time it wasn't me.

I can't blame the iphone I don't even have. And I still delete the wrong sentence, paragraph or whole post. ;-)
redface.gif
;-)


If there is anything that looks like New Dose Wonkiness on a reduction, it usually means the reduction has failed.

This isn't really a typical reduction, technically it's a partial reboot. In this case we expect to see some perhaps iffy numbers. Par for the course.
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
...He is holding the three unit dose even though he really wants to amp it up because he doesn't like these numbers he is seeing.
Tell your human great job with that and with getting some good spot checks. These numbers are expected right now.

Keep holding this dose until a master guru outlines the next move. Unless he sees a number under 50, that will be a reduction to 2.75U. Don't expect that just yet, but should it happen tell him to post here for discussion.

And per previous discussion the Arkray GlucoCard 01 Mini seems to be reading right in line with what we would expect.

Great that you are giving your human a break in cooperating with testing.

I'm sure that's because you've figured out how much better you will feel with proper Levemir dosing. :YMPEACE:
 
My human wants to ramp it up, not drop it. He sees these 200/300 numbers and keeps thinking to himself, maybe I should up this to four units. But I remind him that he said he would try this for three or four days, so he has to do that.
 
My underlying point was supposed to be that what we're seeing currently with Bagheera might just be camouflaging what's really going on because his nadir has shifted earlier or later. If this isn't the case, then he may simply need an increase.

Sorry, Kay, again :lol: :lol: I don't really even understand what you mean. ;-) but thank you for the vote of confidence :-D :-D

On 3/28, I suspect Bagheera got into some lower numbers. He "appears" to be bouncing which can take up to six cycles to clear. You are doing great, Tony, with your patience. I know you don't like these numbers, but look how much flatter they are becoming which is good. And if you can keep up these spot checks, you deserve a "super bean" award and Bagheera certainly is being wonderfully cooperative!

If you can just keep those yellow patience pants on through tomorrow's a.m. Cycle, then we can see whether the dose might need to go up. I know this is difficult, Tony. I've had to do it with my own kitty and I was nailbite_smile nailbite_smile. But you are almost there! If you can test today and tonight like yesterday \M/ \M/ .

It's possible he will need more insulin but we just need to be able to see it after these next few cycles.
 
bagheerathediabeticcat said:
My human wants to ramp it up, not drop it. He sees these 200/300 numbers and keeps thinking to himself, maybe I should up this to four units. But I remind him that he said he would try this for three or four days, so he has to do that.
My hunch is it will go up. But Marje or another guru will need to advise when and how much.

This is all about threading the needle and finding that good working dose. It won't take all that long, but it's not instant, even one week.

So (now more then ever) is when you need those Patience Pants to get this cruise liner turned to the right course.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top