3/25 Mego Skipping PM dose & Note to Today's Helpers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katie & Mego (GA)

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone. Does anyone else feel like they need an IV of ~O) STAT?!? Welcome to Monday! We've got a nice low number to start the day with. Whatcha gonna do today Mego???

Sending out special love to Kat & Gobbles today and hoping for a quick recovery. cat_pet_icon

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS 149

Morning Katie.. yes!! ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) I'm wandering around like a zombie.
Mego looks great this morning. I hope there's another one of those lovely blue/green days ahead of you.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS 149

Coffeeeeeee Coffeeeeee.... Time for Mannie to make some special deliveries! ~O) ~O) ~O) Have a great surf day!
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS 149 +3 100

Hey Mego, lookin' good right at the edge of the Green Lagoon. Wade in and surf!
Rusty, LagoonMeister


Welcome to LL, Katie! Sorry I missed you earlier.

Ella
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS 149 +6 110 +7 94 +8 99

I couldn't leave Mego out of the celebrations, so it is "Christmas in March" in my house today. All I can say is I pity the furry little mouse that Mego won't let go of. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS 149 +6 110 +7 94 +8 99 +10 76

Since his numbers went down after the introduction of new toys this afternoon, would his +10 be lower than +8 due to a high amount of physical activity? I gave him 2 tsp LC food @ +10.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS 149 +7 94 +8 99 +10 76 +11 61???

So we have gone down in the last hour??? I just gave him another 2 tsp LC food. Not sure if this was the right thing to do since we are 1 hr away from PM meal time. Jeez this boy is all over the place. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS 149 +7 94 +8 99 +10 76 +11 61???

Was he just playing with his toys? Playing does lower numbers but I can't say by how much.

Since you are at +11, almost shot time I went and pulled the handling low numbers sticky in case you need to stall...
I'd hold off on any more teaspoons for now and see where he goes....


Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

•When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.

•If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
•--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Using the overlap by shooting low is a great way to take advantage of Lantus/Levemir’s long, flat cycles, once you have learned to do so safely.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS 149 +7 94 +8 99 +10 76 +11 61???

Thanks! Mego finished heavy play pre +10. He did also finish the 2 tsp LC food put out @ +11. I'll test again @ +12 (typical PMPS) and see where we are. Clearly, I have more stickies to re-read and info retention to be done.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +12 59 +12.5 63 First Low Green/Pu

Today's recap:

AMPS 149
+3 100
+4.5 103
+6 110
+7 94
+8 99
+9 Heavy play activity
+10 76 -2 tsp LC food given
+11 61 -2 tsp LC food given
+11.75 64
+12 59
+12.5 63

This is is my first low green at typical shot time. I have not given any food since +11. If I read the sticky for shooting/handling low, I should not feed and see where he goes from here. To test often to catch the rise. Is there anything else I should be doing?
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +12 59 + 12.5 63 First Low Green/Push?

Yep - wait 30 minutes and test again. do not feed and do not shoot. lets see how he is going .. I am here. Hopefully some others soon

how is your strip s? Got lots? also do you have HC?
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +12 59 + 12.5 63 First Low Green/Push?

How is your strip count? do you have lots? Are you able to stay up?

Also you have HC food and syrup right?
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +12 59 + 12.5 63 First Low Green&Pushing

I've got 100 strips, Karo and 4 cans HC gravy food. I don't know if this makes a difference, but Jill, Marje & Sienne & I were going to talk tonight about dosing tomorrow when I go back to work. I am a little concerned that this push could have a significant impact on that decision. Are you able to get any of these ladies involved at this time to see if they have any input?
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +12 59 + 12.5 63 First Low Green&Pushing

The issue is that they arent around right now. However the fact that you are stalling implies to me he gets a 0.25IU dose decrease whenever you do shoot.

Now the question arises. How much can you keep pushing this that it doesnt totally push you off schedule because it means the next shot is 12 hours after whenever you shoot tonite.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +12 59 + 12.5 63 First Low Green&Pushing

Wendy, I just PMd Dyana as Jill has PMd her about dosing when I go back to work. I've sent her the link to Mego's condo today.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

Updated Recap:


AMPS 149
+3 100
+4.5 103
+6 110
+7 94
+8 99
+9 Heavy play activity
+10 76 -2 tsp LC food given
+11 61 -2 tsp LC food given
+11.75 64
+12 59
+12.5 63
+13 59
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

Still dropping although within range of the meter.

Your call. Either

1. Keep stalling and testing and not feeding but bear in mind the 12 hour schedule means next shot is 12 hours from now if you can do it. (you can move back 30 minutes a day ) I am here if you want to keep testing etc.
OR
2. skip

either way i believe its a 0.25IU dose decrease.

Wendy
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

Katie, how late can you stall and still be on schedule of you shoot 12 hours later tomorrow? Mego picked a heck of a time to surf.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

Note that a delay in shooting acts like a decrease, so you've already effectively done a decrease for this cycle.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

Honestly Wendy, I really don't know what to do without a lot of data. And tell me about it - really, he has to throw this at me the night before I go back to work. AHHHHHHH! Tomorrow is my first day back to work from my vacation and there will be no one to check on him when I'm gone. The only thing I might be able to do is come home on my lunch break sometime between 11am and noon to test and check on him. I would really like to keep my 6am shot schedule set - as some of the other ladies know, I will not be able to keep on schedule with the 6pm shot time due to my work schedule.

So if I really think about it, I'm wondering if the best thing to do is give him his dinner now and don't shoot?/shoot decreased dose tonight? (maybe even .5 unit just so I feel comfortable leaving him tomorrow) and decreased dose tomorrow morning before I go to work. I think those are the options I have.

Thoughts...
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

If you shoot now, how long will it be until 6AM tomorrow. Sorry, I'm on west coast time.

Your options are:
1) skip, start back up tomorrow. That will drain his shed.
2) shoot a reduced dose, will also reduce the shed but not as much. This only works if you have at least 11.5 hours or more until your next time.
3) shoot the full dose and let him earn his deduction he'll probably get. But means you may not get much sleep tonight.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

We are nearing 10.5 hrs unitl his next shot. And as much as I want him to earn his reduced shot, I just can't afford to be up all night testing him - and I'd say that would probably be the first selfish thing I've done since he has been diagnosed and we've started testing/shooting. So with that said, it looks like our best option will be skipping tonight.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

Sounds good to me at least. Tomorrow at his usual time he gets a dose decrease of 0.25U. And be prepared for a bit of high numbers since you skipped.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

Katie & Mego said:
Wendy, I just PMd Dyana as Jill has PMd her about dosing when I go back to work. I've sent her the link to Mego's condo today.
I'm sorry, Katie. I got a bunch of PMs, but I did not see one from you.

I would agree with you, that maybe skipping is the best option for tonight.
Go ahead and give that Mego his food.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

Updated Recap:
AMPS 149
+3 100
+4.5 103
+6 110
+7 94
+8 99
+9 Heavy play activity
+10 76 -2 tsp LC food given
+11 61 -2 tsp LC food given
+11.75 64
+12 59
+12.5 63
+13 59
+13.5 60
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

Since you are skipping, you might still want to get a couple of tests in tonight, just to see how he is doing. After all, he's still in the 50's. :o It'll give you a better idea how long the Lantus is lasting for Mego. Good info to have.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13 59 First Low Green&Pushing

Hi Dyana,

No problem - The Wendys had it under control. I know you said to feed, but is there any positive to continue testing for a while just to see what he's up to. Or do you think keeping him on his regular meal time is a better for him?
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13.5 60 First Low Green&Pushing

Oh Wendy, I like how you think... I just posed the same question on the condo. I think it's a great idea. I'm all about more data. But pretty soon, I think Mego is going to be officially labeled a Pin Cushion! :lol: Poor little guy.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13.5 60 First Low Green&Pushing

Let me clarify what I'm asking: Should I still put off feeding a little while longer and continue testing to see how long the lantus is lasting, OR should I feed him and continue testing?
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13.5 60 First Low Green&Pushing

I'll say feed. I don't want to be in Mego's bad books!
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13.5 60 First Low Green&Pushing

Feeding done and testing will resume momentarily. Thanks for your help ladies. What a roller coaster ride!

Dyana,

I will PM Jill, Marje & Sienne and attach today's condo and hopefully we can all have a discussion later tonight about the best way to move forward.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego First Low Green Pre-PMPS

Okay, I may not be up, but keep me in the loop ;-) I'm here for you in the mornings.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego First Low Green Pre-PMPS

If you're skipping, you can feed. You will be back on schedule for your usual shot time in the AM.

FYI: if you're stalling, it doesn't mean a dose reduction. The only time you reduce is if the numbers are below 50.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego AMPS +13.5 60 First Low Green&Pushing

Katie & Mego said:
Let me clarify what I'm asking: Should I still put off feeding a little while longer and continue testing to see how long the lantus is lasting, OR should I feed him and continue testing?
I'm sorry, I had to log off for a bit to take care of my own cats. I always think feeding in smaller mini meals is best and easiest for the pancreas. I will be looking forward to seeing how he does tonight.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego First Low Green Pre-PMPS

Hi Sienne,

Just so I'm clear, because he didn't go below 50 today, he should not get a dose reduction tomorrow? My hypothetical question would be, had I not given him the LC food around the +10 & +11 hours, do we think he may have gone below 50? I'm wondering if giving him the food is preventing his #s from falling into that <50 range thus giving him a dose reduction - does this make sense? I would still like to consider a dose reduction for tomorrow since I'll probably be worried sick about being away. That doesn't mean I'm opposed to the full 1 unit either. I do have the catsicles made and can leave them out when I leave for work.

Also, do you know if there will be someone on the MB tomorrow morning between 5-7am Eastern time in case I have any questions after his AMPS? If not, is there any way we could arrange that? I know that's asking a lot and if it isn't possible I'll just have to deal with it.
 
Re: 3/25 Mego Skipping PM dose/ ? 3/26 AM dose

Dyana,

I just asked Sienne if someone will be on between 5-7am Eastern time tomorrow morning if I have questions. I see you are in NJ - will you be available tomorrow AM?
 
Re: 3/25 Mego Skipping PM dose/ ? 3/26 AM dose

I would like to know that too. I think there was one time I skipped Tiggy and we reduced but maybe that case was different?
 
Re: 3/25 Mego Skipping PM dose/ ? 3/26 AM dose

Katie & Mego said:
Dyana,

I just asked Sienne if someone will be on between 5-7am Eastern time tomorrow morning if I have questions. I see you are in NJ - will you be available tomorrow AM?
I can get up and be on the board at 5:00am for you.
I better get to bed now, though..
 
Re: 3/25 Mego Skipping PM dose/ ? 3/26 AM dose

See you in the morning, Katie. Have a good night :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top