3/24 Jupiter PMPS 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Here is the link from my condo posted 2 days ago (I did not post yesterday) viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91545

I am wondering if it is time to increase Jupiter’s insulin dose. If you could please give me your opinion/advice on this issue I would really appreciate it.

Jupiter is still transitioning to lower carb food. I am still mixing pate and shreds together to try to get him transitioned to the pate. Yesterday he ate some of the 50/50 mix but sometimes I have a hard time getting him to eat it (sometimes I have to add a little more shreds or he will refuse to eat it) He seems to be doing well with the transition. I am also feeding him some nutro chunk canned food which is 8% - 10% carbs. I am also feeding him Friskies Flaked tuna which is 8%. Sometimes when I feel like he isn’t eating enough - I feed him the FF appetizers (he seems to like those a lot and will usually eat that)
I am unable at the moment to have him on a feeding schedule so I am worried that some of his numbers may be from the food. When I am able to, I take away the food at +10 and give it back after the AMPS/PMPS.

Jupiter started off a little better today, and had a good number last night at +2 - wondering if its the lower carb food!


Thank you in advance for all of your advice/opinions. I appreciate it!!
 
Re: 3/24 Jupiter AMPS 269 Advice needed on dose please

The count of cycles starts over again from that 0.20 dose. Since he is just building up his depot, I would give him the full 10 cycles on this dose and see how he does this cycle.
 
Re: 3/24 Jupiter AMPS 269 Advice needed on dose please

Have you tried the 7% FF Chunky Turkey and 5% FF Chunky Chicken? I think they have gluten in them, so if you cat is allergic to gluten, that wouldn't be an option.
 
Re: 3/24 Jupiter AMPS 269 Advice needed on dose please

I think you're fine to increase to 1.25u.

Will Jupiter eat the LC if you mix in the FF Appetizers? What about mixing in some cooked chicken that you shred up?
 
Re: 3/24 Jupiter AMPS 269 Advice needed on dose please

I think Jupiter likes the shreds because of the gravy, I tried rinsing the shreds off and then mixing those in and he wouldnt eat it like that. I will definately try the FF ones. I didnt know that they had a lower carb chunk one. I havent tried mixing in the FF appetizers yet - I could try that. He did like when I mixed a can of tuna with the pate too.
 
Re: 3/24 Jupiter AMPS 269 Advice needed on dose please

Dyana, he has gotten 10 full doses now since the .20 dose - but I was going to wait until tomorrow to raise his dose, as long as everyone thinks that would be okay.
 
Re: 3/24 Jupiter AMPS 269 Advice needed on dose please

think that will be fine jamie. make sure you have strips. you are gonna want to keep and eye on him. save the gravy
 
Re: 3/24 Jupiter AMPS 269 Advice needed on dose please

Do you think it would be okay to wait until wednesday to increase his dose? I just feel like I will be able to keep a really good eye on Jupiter Wednesday and Thursday. I am really worried about increasing the dose tomorrow because I am not sure if I will be home to check on him much Monday and Tuesday
 
Re: 3/24 Jupiter PMPS 262 Advice needed on dose please

I feel like there is finally some improvement in Jupiters numbers!! He has been in the yellow range all day!! although its not a ton of improvement - its still improvement - which makes me super happy!!
 
Re: 3/24 Jupiter PMPS 262 Advice needed on dose please

I did look into the fancy feast chunky chicken. Its not anything like the shreds or other chunky food that I have seen. Its a lot like the pate - and Jupiter doesnt seem to like it =[ It was totally worth a try though so thank you so much for the suggestion
 
Re: 3/24 Jupiter PMPS 262 Advice needed on dose please

Jamie

Just checking to see if you still needed some help? If your questions are answered, could you please take down the "advice needed on dose please" and the "?". If it hasn't been answered, how can I help you? :-D
 
Thanks Marje for replying and the offer to help. I forgot to take that down - its down now. I am going to start Jupiter on 1.25 on Wednesday - so I have received the advice I needed. Thanks anyways =]
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top