3/24 Stella AMPS/248 +3/64 +5/73 +7/53 TORNADO PMPS/217

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Good morning-

Well, Stella's vet visit went fine yesterday. The vet was shocked that Stella's BGs were 'low' at 222 during the visit. I wasn't suprised at the time, but when thinking about it she usually shoots up to near 400. Stella's BGs remained on the high end for the next 24 hours and never made it to green.

We are starting out the day a 'tiny' bit higher than our new normal, so perhaps today will bring us back down. Stella was up and chasing Boo around before my wake up call...so their energy is bright this morning. I haven't checked the lb yet, but the appetite was certainly hearty.

As stated in yesterday's condo, Stella will begin taking a med to lower her high blood pressure. She is @ 200

I hope your weekend brings you lots of fun this day!
 
Re: 3/24 Stella AMPS/248

Morning Mary!
congratulations to Stella for showing the vet her lovely numbers in spite of the dogs running around. I hope the BP meds do the trick for her. Is 200 high? could that number be influenced by the goofy, loud dogs?
Slide down to your beautiful numbers please Stella.. nice and easy.. Take it easy on Boo!
hugs and scritches to you from us.
mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/24 Stella AMPS/248

Yay on the vetty visit. Always so stressful but it looks like Stella took it in stride. I hope her values slide down into nice blues for you today at least. It's good to hear that the kittehs are bright and happy this morning - that's always nice to wake up to. Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/24 Stella AMPS/248 +3/64

Hello Carla and Lisa and furballs too. ;-)

Here Stella goes showing her green :mrgreen: today. It almost seems impossible that Stella is able to do this from such a high BG. I used to think this was a bounce, but when I notice the environmental things that upset her (the dogs yesterday, or my personal stress at times) I hold her dose steady which proves to work for her. It has been successful so far. Stella is a very sensitive kitty and picks up on things around her... so I have to be careful that the tv isn't too loud or a handyman isn't too loud etc.

Most of you know my schedule and the necessity to keep dry food available...a HUGE no no for our diabetic kitties... but this high protein no grain Innova Prime has been doing well for Stella. I can't wait to get the high protein zero carb food from Young Again in the mail to see if that will lower her dose and assist Stella in shedding that extra two pounds. Stella is 14 pounds and according to cat charts her former...long ago former shape of a 12 pound cat was the ideal for this pretty kitty. Heck, I would be happy if she could hit the 13 pound mark again! But alas, I do not put her on a 'diet' so ultimately it is my fault. :o
 
Re: 3/24 Stella AMPS/248 +3/64

PS if anyone knows of a device that I can test Stella's blood pressure at home please let me know. The vet says his costs around $1500 ...yikes... I am not a vet. :lol:
 
Re: 3/24 Stella AMPS/248 +3/64 +5/73 +7/53

Wow! Look at my Stella go! She is content and happy today surfing the green wave... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Wow! The power just came back on! My kitties and I just got through our first tornado here. You can watch this afternoon's events on my YouTube channel:

:shock: :shock: :shock: Our Tornado Today

Despite the excitement of today's events, Stella has a descent PMPS of 221 I am amazed!
 
Hi Mary, crazy weather... wait until your first hurricane! :shock: I live in Miami and was a little, little kid when Hurricane Andrew struck in 1992. It leveled our house :sad: Crazy weather is part of living here. I've lived through more hurricanes than I can count! The kitties always know what's up and can usually sense the pressure changes right before a big storm.

We got horrific rain and wind on Friday, the worst is when you're driving when a squall hits. And of course Floridians are morons and will put on their emergency blinkers ohmygod_smile
 
Thanks ladies! It took a few hours for my heart to calm down. I don't think the gravity of it hit until an hour later after I took the video!

So what does one do if you are caught in this weather while driving? I thought I was prepared and then I realized how I am NOT at all. I need a battery back up supply for my telephone, a larger flashlight, ice for Stella's insulin supply (the power came on just as the refrigerator was getting to the high end of required insulin temp), a battery powered radio etc. I did have all of this before I moved and now I can't find it. Yikes!!!

Any other hurricane/tornado inside info welcomed. At least the kitties microchips are updated!
 
Yes, it's a very good idea to be prepared and have "hurricane supplies" year round.

If you're ever caught in a bad squall on the road, you can either pull over (that's when you'd put on your hazard lights... it's illegal to drive with them on, though people do it all the time :roll: ) or just go very, very slowly and follow the taillights in front of you.

Glad you guys are okay! The good thing about Florida is that the storms usually pass very quickly. It will come down hard in torrents, and 20 minutes later you'll get sunshine like it had never rained. :shock: We get a LOT of rain in September and August, though, and they are also the hottest months of the year.

I lived in Orlando for a couple of years. I always seemed to be on I-4 or the turnpike when the rain would hit ohmygod_smile
 
Stella had a nice run in the greens!

You should try to get ahead in supplies for kitties and for yourself. When disasters hit, stores empty fast if you can even get to them.
You want extra strips, batteries for your meter, and a backup meter. lots of cat food.
a couple of weeks worth of food at least at all times...in reserve... water in thicker storage bottles ( stored in opaque containers or in a dark closet)
foods you could eat without power... if you had to... oatmeal keeps a long time, pasta, canned foods...


And you don't want to be near those windows with a tornado... I'm glad it wasn't right out next to you.
 
Thanks Courtney and Kismet for the 'on the road' tips. I have CA emergency supplies in my car, but after today I will have to rethink that too for the Florida weather!

Also rhiannon and shadow I have a lot of oatmeal, but I will get pasta too. Great ideas for me. I have a lot of canned food, but not enough if a major disaster happens. I will stock up. As far as kitty supplies, I have two extra meters and ironically I just ordered and received 100 test strips in the mail. As far as kitty food, I always have plenty of back up for them...but I don't for myself. :shock: FYI, my sister said the same thing about getting away from the window. I know that too, but my other kitty Boo and I were mesmerized and transfixed from the sight. Stella watched for a few seconds and then took cover under the sofa.

My uncle loved the video. He loved the freight train sound and then the apartment across the way losing power at the end of the video...lol...I must take after his side of the family :lol:
 
okay...
you're the one in the movies that always has to look ..."what's going on" and then .... you get grabbed or eaten ... :lol:

if i saw a weird glow , i hope I'd just leave... :lol:
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
okay...
you're the one in the movies that always has to look ..."what's going on" and then .... you get grabbed or eaten ... :lol:

if i saw a weird glow , i hope I'd just leave... :lol:
This made me :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: so loud! It is completely true. Boo and I would be swept away like Dorothy and Stella would be the only one left to meow the story. :cool:
 
I didn't see the tornado? But I agree wait until your first hurricane. Often some random tornadoes thrown in just to add to the drama and destruction. :smile:

If you want huge monster tornadoes, try Texas, Oklahoma, Ohio. nailbite_smile
 
Most injuries from tornadoes come from flying glass. So being in front of a window is the worst place to be. (I've done that :roll: ). Do you have an interior room without windows? A bathroom or closet is good. Do you have a basement? You can also pull the mattress over you for protection. I'm glad you and the kitties are ok! :-D
Liz
 
That's the thing about tornadoes. Usually some warning and you can take cover.

Unlike earthquakes. :o

But good question, what do you do in FL. in the car when one is plowing down the highway/street?
 
for driving:
This is the warning my grandfather told me about when I was young...
if you see it off in the distance and it's not going left or right....it's probably headed towards you.

If you see a tornado and it is not moving to the right or to the left relative to trees or power poles in the distance, it may be moving towards you!

Nearly everything on the internet says if you are out in your car and see one.... get out of your car and get inside a building.

You can google ... what to do in a tornado and get lots of information.
 
We lived in Kansas for 18mths - just before we arrived there, a tornado went through and took out 15 houses across the way.
I was terrifed when a storm blew up with the kids in daycare out of the house and I hated the monthly tornado warning sirens (like being in an air-raid!).

So glad to be back in California - tornados are so much scarier than earthquakes :? ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top