3/23 Sweetie PMPS=234 +1=210 +2=175 +3=143 +4=113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo

Another "spring-y" morning here! Hopefully he'll settle down into a nice surf somewhere above 60 and give his bean a break. He's grumpy when the rice sock touches his ear; good think he bleeds better now anyway.

I'm assuming that his dose reduction earned at +12 in yesterday's first cycle (I took that reduction right away at the PM shot) covers the under 50 numbers in yesterday's second cycle?? If not, let me know by this evening's shot. At any rate I wouldn't reduce in the face of the 350 this morning - I would shoot through the bounce, right?

Have a wonderful day everyone!
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350

Hi Sweetie.
No dosing advice from me but just thought I would stop on to say HI. My Fur Ball went OTJ in Oct so I'm not on daily as I just to be but I still come around and say HI to my LL friends as I'm able. Looks like you are doing good and getting some lower numbers on this lovely sugar dance.

Have a great Caturday!

Karen
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350 +1=340

Nice to have new visitors! It is fun to get to know all of these sugarkitties and mama/papa beans. Congrats on the OTJ - hope Sweetie can join that club soon.
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350 +1=340 +2=331 +9=242

The numbers under 50 in last night's cycle were most likely from the depot built up from the 1.50 dose and the 1.75 dose before that. I would stick with the 1.25 tonight.
Sweetie is doing very well. Keep up the good work, Sweetie!
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350 +1=340 +2=331 +9=242

My girl hated the rice sock too...
Hope Sweetie continues the downward trend. But maybe also lets you get a little rest before the next pajama party.
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350 +1=340 +2=331 +9=242 +11=258 PMPS=

Yes I would prefer NO PJ party tonight, but who knows??

Dyana you are right; I'm still getting used to this depot thing, but I would guess that too many low numbers all together even if they cross a cycle are really just part of one pattern, so just one reduction.

I do have a question though about Sweetie's interesting pattern in his first cycle today - here is the recap:
350 AMPS
340 +1
331 +2 --> all nice and slow decrease so far
(out midday and couldn't test)
242 +9
258 +11 --> all a nice normal curve so far
234 PMPS ==> What the . . .? He hasn't eaten since breakfast except for the small amount of FF appetizer that is his bg treat. What is happening with the depot and/or Mr. P? Is Mr P anticipating that it is dinner time and food is on the way? I test, prepare the shot, and give it to him as he is eating dinner.

I'm dreading another active cycle so soon . . . I suppose I will want to test at +1 and +2 to check this?
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350 +1=340 +2=331 +9=242 +11=258 PMPS=

It looks like the bounce is breaking. I would definitely get a +1 and +2. If you shot a dropping number, there may be momentum from both the numbers coming down on their own plus this evening's shot.
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350 +1=340 +2=331 +9=242 +11=258 PMPS=

OK Sienne. Can you tell me more about momentum and shooting a dropping number, even one that is as high as 234? Did I do the right thing in keeping to the schedule in spite of the dropping number?

Do I just need to be prepared to use some extra food to stop any fall that might happen and coax him into a surf in a situation like this?
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350 +2=331 +9=242 +11=258 PMPS=234 +1=

Well his +1 doesn't show any effect from his dinner toward breaking the downward momentum . . . nailbite_smile
Will test at +2. Maybe feed a bit more at +2 if his trajectory doesn't slow down? He is still in yellow so perhaps I'm overreacting.
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350 +9=242 +11=258 PMPS=234 +1=210 +2=

If he keeps dropping at this rate he'll reach 50 at +6; but then with the shot kicking in it will probably be sooner! I guess I'll do the next test at +3, right?
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350 +9=242 +11=258 PMPS=234 +1=210 +2=

Cathy

I need just a minute to look at his SS and read through the condo so hang tight and I will also explain what Sienne meant :-D Brb!
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie AMPS=350 +9=242 +11=258 PMPS=234 +1=210 +2=

Cathy

Yes..you can do a +3 to see if he's still coming down at the same rate. There's no way to tell if he will continue to drop at the same rate or level off.

Sweetie was clearing a bounce in the a.m. Cycle...and still tonight. Usually when they are clearing a bounce, they can get a lot of downward momentum where numbers drop fast. So take that drop and add the next dose and the numbers can drop fast and/or go lower.

Shooting dropping numbers can be a great way to take advantage of overlap of two doses as long as you know how to control numbers and are on top of it. There is a difference between dropping numbers and a second dip and it's important to understand that.

A dropping number is what you had today...usually a bounce clearing cycle. They will often continue to drop after PS.

A second lantus dip is a characteristic of the lantus . The kitty nadirs, comes up a bit, and then drops back down at the very end of the cycle. However, the second drop is usually not as low as the nadir. Second dips are usually safe to shoot because numbers go up after the dip, typically.
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie PMPS=234 +1=210 +2=175 +3=143

He's at 143 now at +3; it is been pretty much a steep line down from the PMPS. At +4 I expect he will be close to breaking into green. If I feed him his normal bedtime meal then (3oz FF) perhaps that will turn him up enough to surf the greens? I'll keep testing of course.

Thanks for the informative response Marje; it will take a few readings to get it to sink in. I'm so grateful for your expertise! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/23 Sweetie PMPS=234 +1=210 +2=175 +3=143

Cathy,

You can give him some food to try and slow him down if you would feel better doing that. He might not get that low tonight but fast drops can also cause bounces. He is coming down quickly but not near as fast as I've seen some cats do (inc my own).

I think it was absolutely fine for you to shoot. You are on top of the numbers. Once someone has a little data and knows how their cat responds to food, it's a good experience to shoot high dropping numbers so you learn how to shoot the lower ones.

I'll be up two more hours if you want to post. :-D
 
Thanks Marje. He is at 113 now @+4 and eating his bedtime meal. I'll keep testing until I see that he is leveling out. We will be fine :smile: !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top