Re: 3/21 Alfred AMPS-147 +2-92 +6-82 Back from the vet.

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
Hello!
Here's the fun we talked about with regards to Alfred yesterday. I hate to take him into the vet but after reading the links about cryptococcosis, I think it might be worth it. I'll see what the local vet says and go from there.

Wish me luck.
 
Re: 3/21 Alfred AMPS-147 +2-92 Wish us luck at the vet!

sending good vetty vines and prayers.
mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/21 Alfred AMPS-147 +2-92 Wish us luck at the vet!

Sending good vetty vines. I'm sure Alfred is a fun guy, but hopefully he doesn't have any fungi :shock: He is quite the handsome fellow, even with a bump on his schnozz!!
 
Re: 3/21 Alfred AMPS-147 +2-92 Wish us luck at the vet!

Thank you all for the well wishes. I hope this turns out to be no big deal.

I'm also taking a copy of his SS and the Lantus Tight Protocol study article to share with the vet. I'm curious to see her take on this. I haven't talked to this particular vet since the day of Alfred's Dx, b/c she left that afternoon on vacation and I was transferred to another vet at the clinic.
 
Back from the vet... she thought cryptococcosis was unlikely since Alfred doesn't go outside, but to be sure we have to take a sample from the bump and she didn't want to do it unless Alfred was sedated. Since I'm leaving Monday to take him to my friend's house (she will be taking care of both my cats for the 2.5 weeks I'll be gone), we decided to wait and watch. She gave me some antihistamines to see if it is just a localized infection, so I'll try those for the next 48 hours. I hope it is something local and simple and not a full blown fungal thing. That sounds difficult to deal with. So, fingers crossed that the bump goes down/stays the same and no new symptoms arise.

She was impressed with the SS and happy that I brought her the Roomp and Rand article (thanks Sienne for suggesting that). I also told her if any local people find themselves with a newly diagnosed diabetic cat and are interested in hometesting, that she is welcome to give them my number. I would love to be able to help someone else the way you guys have helped me.
 
Re: 3/21 Alfred AMPS-147 +2-92 +6-82 Wish us luck at the vet

Hi guys,

I hope that Alfred's bump will go away while you are away. That would be the best. Sending him some healing vines. I'm glad that the vet is pleased with how you are handling feline diabetes.

Enjoy your evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
And, now his eye is super watery and weeping! The first dose of the antihistamine was an epic failure. I mixed the crushed pill with tuna juice and shot the syringe in his mouth, but I must have shot too much or too fast b/c he freaked and then kind of foamed up and gagged and spit up. Poor cat. I feel bad. I'll try again in a bit. All the other testing, feeding, dosing is done for the night. Sometimes I can't believe this feline infirmary I'm living in. Four months ago I had two healthy, easy, leave-a-big-bowl-of-food-out cats and now there are seizures and syringes and spreadsheets...and...and...and....

I don't need to tell all of you. ;-) And I know many of you deal with a lot more than this. But dang, sometimes, it just kind of sucks, doesn't it? But of course, the alternative of not having these sweet kitties is far worse.

Just had to vent a little. Good night, all.
 
((((KJ))))

It's rough starting out here but Alfred is looking great. I can only imagine how you feel dealing with the seizures and the FD.

I hope you can get the antihistamine in him and it helps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top