3/21 Jupiter PMPS 307 / 261 +2 !!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
yesterdays post : viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91403

Jupiters AMPS was given an hour late today (now we will be consistently giving him his shots at 9am and 9pm - given an hour later today to get onto this schedule)

Is it okay that I am not feeding at specific times? I have been leaving food out during the day -whenever their plates get low - I put a new plate of food out.
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

For now, I would not feed Jupiter after his nadir. If you can figure out how much you're feeding, you can portion it out so there's food available prior to nadir. Once the insulin peaks, there's less available to offset the effect of food. If this is too hard of a transition for your kitty, be sure to pick up all food by +10. You don't want your pre-shot numbers to be influenced by food.
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

Hi guys .. I can't remember if I've been to jupiter's condo or not, so welcome from us! Glad to see Sienne answered your food question .. hope that jupiter see's some lower numbers for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

I think my cats are going to have a hard time transitioning to that. I can take away their food at +10 and hold it for 2 hours though. I have had to hold their food for a few hours before (like when one of them had surgery and such) and they kept me up all night meowing and trying to get into things - one was opening all the cupboards and going inside and the other was on the table and counters searching for food. I dont think I will be able to hold their food for 6 hours twice a day.
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

remember how I said you can give a little every few hours while you are home. can make the biggest meal breakfast and then just a TBS every 2 hours or so until the +10. I find with mine,as long as they get something, they are happy
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

If I put out only a little bit for each cat - Little Rosette hogs it all and she will quickly eat hers and then go to Jupiters plate and eat his before he is done. I have even tried separating the cats while they eat - Jupiter wont always eat when I give him food - he seems to be more willing to try his food if the other cats are eating too. When I wanted to get Jupiter to try the FF appetizers I put some infront of him and he sniffed it once but wouldnt try it - so I brought Little Rosette over and she started eating it - then Jupiter decided he would have some too. Its weird - I know.

I also think it will be a little easier to do this once I get them all completely switched over to the wet food. I have still been leaving the dry food out because the other 2 cats are still occasionally vomiting up the wet food. I am seeing less and less vomit around the house though, so I think their bellies are starting to get used of the wet food.

Jupiter seems to be switching to the wet food really well (other then he wont eat the pate unless some of the shreds are mixed in - but we are still working on that and I am mixing less and less shreds in each day), have only seen him eat the dry food once - and I immediately went and gave him some fresh wet food so he ate the wet food instead.


I will take away all the food (both wet and dry) at +10. And as long as you guys think its okay - I will wait until I get their diets completely switched to the pate before I work on getting them on a feeding schedule.
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

I also think that the cats still think of the wet food as a treat - so I think they gorge themselves when they eat it. I think once they get used to only eating the wet food maybe they will stop thinking of it as a treat and maybe they will stop trying to gorge themselves. (So maybe Rosette wont try to eat all the food before Jupiter gets to eat some)
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

sounds like a plan and taking up food at +10 is OK. they will not starve or be damaged in any way. might get pissed but they will learn to suck it up
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

Here's a canned variety with shreds that Jupiter might like all by itself. Shadow likes it and she was previously a friskies shreds kinda girl.
I always fed her every 4 hrs... so it was shoot and feed, +4, +8, and then shot time again....


6% carbs Nutro Natural Choice Mature Health Chicken & Turkey Formula chunks in gravy 204 phosphorus
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

do you know if this is on dr. lisa's new list or janet and binky. I have never personally heard of a food with gravy that was low carb. still learning here.
thanks
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

I do not see anything on binky's for this with gravy. other kinds there are but not this one.
link from here seems to be broken for dr. lisas food chart
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

It is on Dr. Lisa's list, right at the top of page 15. It says 6% carbs.
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

On the previous page it has NC Mature Health Chicken & Turkey Platter as 17% carbs.
I have a feeling there might be a mistake. I don't know.
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

I could not get to her site with the link... anyway... i question it cause 2 things....gravy and chunks KWIM red flags for me. but who knows
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

this particular one does say 6 wow!! I would still be hesitant cause I have never seen chunks and gravy go together and not be high in carbs
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

sorry guys. I was off making dinner.
I doubted too but I think it's not what the other companies are using for gravy. (like friskies and their rice flours)

Shadow has been eating it since it showed up on dr. lisa's site. I think that nutro also has another with platter in the name. it has to be the mature health version.
Shadow ate some 2 1/2 hours ago when I got home. and I just tested her and she's at 104. ( since she went into remission , she has been slow to drop
back down after eating... but it does seem to depend on what she ate) Obviously this one didn't raise her numbers. She's been cruising at that number most all
week. ( liitle up and a little down)

I would say the gravy in it is similar to the friskies flaked tuna and egg in sauce.
So maybe it's not really a gravy but a sauce....
I don't know.
But I haven't found any spikes for Shadow when she eats it.
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

TY, you can see where I was coming from... gravy and chunks was always a no no in this dance so it is hard to wrap ones head around this.
if this is true, then jamie, your guy will have the best of both worlds
have no clue of cost or if pet store carries. might be worth looking into if nothing else works
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

Yes!! I will definately look into this!! Im sure Jupiter will like it!! Thank you soooo much!!
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

Have you considered getting an autofeeder (or several, one for each cat)? One model has a rotating wheel with 5 compartments. Others have 2 compartments with pop-up lids. If you google automatic pet feeders you will see the range of what is available.
Rusty free feeds, but if we are out for the day I always leave a "snack" in the feeder and set it to open when I want it to be available. That doesn't always mean that he will eat it then, but it does guarantee that he won't eat it before then!

Good luck. It sounds like a challenging situation, but I'm sure you will make something work!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/21 Jupiter amps 369 & question please

well... maybe don't thank me yet....

I went looking for it online....on the nutro website to get you the store locator search engine and I think they may be discontinuing it.

http://www.chewy.com/cat/nutro-natural-choice-mature-health/dp/29514

there is some out there in a few places but amazon and many others are showing it to be out of stock.
I'm calling the company tomorrow.
figures.... they'd discontinue something...
I like it so much more than friskies....with it's nice low phosphorus.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top