3/20 Jupiter 315-PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
This is my link from yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91335 I had to give Jupiter a very small AM dose yesterday as I couldnt be home to check on him so was a bit nervous to give him his normal dose.



Update: Im going to call the vet tomorrow. Im really hoping I dont have to take Jupiter there quite yet. I will tell him that I started hometesting Jupiter, and Im trying to change Jupiters diet to a wet low carb food. I will offer to email or send him the spreadsheet. Is there anything else I should tell him? I would appreciate any ideas please!!



His numbers finally seem to be going down a little bit (at +4)


I was worried about him yesterday as he seemed to be drinking a lot of water again. Today seems like he is drinking a normal amount so far. He seemed a little more energetic then normal - but it didnt last long- only a few minutes. I was still so happy to see him playing though (with that sock toy from Dian!! my cats love that thing so much - Thanks Dian!)


I dont use ointment when pricking his ears for his tests, I am able to get the blood easy - and have never tried it using ointment. Should I be using the ointment afterwards on his ears? I dont want his ears to get sore - I wasnt sure if people use the ointment to help it heal or just to help get the blood up.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394 - AMPS / 374 +2// 271 + 4

some use it and some do not. if you apply pressure afterwards, that should be good enough.
as usual, that is your call.
you are doing great with the testing.
your are like an old pro now and you thought it would be hard and hurt jupe.
nice to know what the insulin is doing and feeling safe giving it... yes????
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394 - AMPS / 374 +2// 271 + 4

Yep feel much better giving the insulin now that I am testing him. Just did a +6 and hes at 301. cant seem to get him out of the "purple range" today
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS /374 +2//271 + 4//301 +6

that's ok.. he needs to build up his shed. if we need to increase at some point, we will, sometimes you need to go up in dose before you come down
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS /374 +2//271 + 4//301 +6

I am slowly increasing the pate/shreds ratio. I was getting ready to mix some pate and shreds and Jupiter was sitting there, so I figured I might as well try, so I just set down some of the pate. I was very surprised - he ate a few bites of it. I dont think he liked it much - but I think he is getting used to the flavor and consistency so I am really hoping that soon enough I wont have to mix in some shreds for him to eat the pate.

I am really hoping that once he is switched to the pate completely - his numbers may go down a bit.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS /374 +2//271 + 4//301 +6

He wont eat it that way - I tried. I am doing my best to reduce the amount of shreds and gravy I am mixing in with the pate though. Each time I give him food - I add a little more pate to the mix and a little less of the shreds.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

What is the question?

I am going to guess that your question is about the vet visit?

Please don't update the body (big window) of you first post, but just do a Reply to the thread instead with the latest question. The reason is, when you update the first post, people will tend to miss the question or anything new you have added there, because anyone that has already read part of your condo, is going to click on First unread post, and since they already read your first post, they will just skip it and go to the posts they have not read yet. Does this make sense? Sometimes, I'm not so good with words.

I think if you tell the vet the numbers you have over the phone and just have a discussion with him or her over the phone, that should be enough. Unless there is a specific reason you want a test done.

Let's see what other ideas people have for you.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

I want to avoid taking Jupiter to the vet right now as he was there 3/14 and 3/16. The vet who originally diagnosed Jupiter with Diabetes was not there on saturday but asked us to bring Jupiter in on saturday for a blood test. When we were there on saturday they asked us to bring him in again on thursday (tomorrow). I think they just want to do another blood test but I would rather do it at home if possible. I just want the vet to know Jupiter will be monitored here at home but I am not sure what all to tell him.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

Also If I tell my vet Jupiters numbers he may want to raise or lower the dose. (Thats something else they said would be discussed tomorrow when I took Jupiter in) Isnt it too soon to tell if his dose is correct?
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

Yes Dyana the question now is " Im going to call the vet tomorrow. Im really hoping I dont have to take Jupiter there quite yet. I will tell him that I started hometesting Jupiter, and Im trying to change Jupiters diet to a wet low carb food. I will offer to email or send him the spreadsheet. Is there anything else I should tell him? I would appreciate any ideas please!!"

Thank you for letting me know, Im still learning how to use the forums and I appreciate your help. I will remember to do that next time.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

Ask him if he was just planning to test his blood sugar and discuss the dose. Tell him that you now test Jupiter at home (where he is not stressed by being at the vet's office) and then give him the numbers you have so far.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

Hi Jamie,

You could tell your vet that you want to give Jupiter some more time to settle in to his dose and to transition to LC wet food. Tell him/her that you are testing Jupiter's blood glucose a number of times every day and that if a problem should arise, you will call them. Tell them that you are keeping a detailed spreadsheet and that you will be eager to discuss it with them the next time you schedule an appointment (I don't think you should bother to send it to them now; in my experience they never look at it unless you are there!). And tell them that you will call them in a few weeks to report on his progress. I don't think you need to schedule an appointment now unless Jupiter has other health issues. He just has diabetes and you are learning how to deal with this "condition" (it isn't an illness per se!).

Good luck. Many of us have had to work with feline diabetes on our own, only using our vets for other health problems. It is best to strike a happy balance, but not always possible.

Give that handsome boy some scritches from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

cannot remember, but how long and or when should she increase the dose? tomorrow or next day????
thanks
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

This is a quote from the "Sticky" on the Tight Regulation Protocol.

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

TYSVM. had a hell of a time finding it for some reason. could be cause I am old ??? :-D
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

I wasnt able to give him a full dose yesterday for his AM shot. Barely gave him any at all, I wasnt able to be here to check on him so I was worried about giving him more.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

With Lantus, you don't want to give a little bit at one time and then more later in the cycle. You end up with more than one nadir which can make like difficult. Given the reduced dose, I would probably hold your current dose for 7 days so the depot has a chance to form.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

I agree with Sienne.
I would hold the dose for 7 days starting after the .20 you gave yesterday to allow the depot to build.

Jamie7489 said:
I wasnt able to give him a full dose yesterday for his AM shot. Barely gave him any at all, I wasnt able to be here to check on him so I was worried about giving him more.
It's okay, we've all been there. Eventually, as you gather data, you will feel more comfortable with shooting insulin and leaving. One way to help you to feel more comfortable when you have to leave and won't be home to monitor him, is to leave out some extra food bowls around the house in all the places that Jupiter hangs out. That way you know he has food available wherever he is. You could leave out different flavors too, if you wanted. And if you're really worried, you could leave out some higher carb food than he normally gets, in a timed feeder, or frozen catsicles to slowly thaw out for him later.
 
Re: 3/20 Jupiter 394-AMPS Question. Please!!

Yeah, I always make sure there is food out for him. I even had someone stop by that day to put more food out for him. If I werent going an hour and 45 mins away for anesthesia and to get a few teeth pulled - I would have never missed his dose or decreased it. I didnt know how long I would be gone for, and since I dont know how the insulin works for him (like what numbers he will have after insulin) just was too nervous about giving him a dose and leaving. I have been trying to test him a few times a day and adding to my SS.

I just want to be prepared and know what to say to the vet tomorrow. Jupiter has really really bad anxiety problems (which he is on anxiety meds - helps but still bad anxiety) so I hate taking him to the vet. His heart is pounding the drive there, the whole time we are at the vet, and the whole way back. I just hate to put him through that if it isnt necessary.

I was mainly worried that if I tell the vet Jupiters number - then he would want to increase the dose. So I will make sure I tell the vet that since I had to decrease Jupiters dose one day - that I would really like to wait a few more days before changing his dose.

Thank you to both of you for your replies
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top