3/20 Gobbles PMPS 364 +10 354

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posting.php?mode=edit&f=9&p=978609

Gobbles woke me up late and therefore his shot was 50 minutes late. I increased his dosage back up to .50 today. I don't feel too awfully bad about the late shot, because of the increase which may possibly compensate for it. I was hoping these last few days of reds & pinks were a bounce, but last night proved otherwise and did show an interesting pattern which cannot be blamed on mere meter variance:

PMPS 270
+4 448
+9 334
AMPS 426

I gave Gobbles 3/8 tab of Cypro last night which proved to be a little too much: he gorged (I thought I'd be finding a pile of V, but so far have not) and was somewhat restless. Next time, should I need to give it to him, he'll get 1/4 tab. The clumps in the LB were excessive and someone (either Gobbles or one of the civvies) had diarrhea. I suspect it may have been Gobbles due to the amount of food he inhaled last night.

The Raffle ticket sales have gone stagnant. The last purchase as on 3/17. This site is invaluable and priceless; FDMB is such an awesome organization and has been a life saver to so many of us who have sugar cats. We still need $695 in raffle ticket sales to reach our goal of $1,000 and there are only 19 days left to meet that goal. Please consider buying a ticket(s) soon. The tickets are so reasonably priced and the prizes are awesome! You can buy one ticket for only $2, 3/$5, 7/$10, 15/$15 or 25/$20. Ticket Sales end on 4/7/13.

Direct link to FDMB BASKET RAFFLE FUNDRAISER for more information and ticket purchase. There are links in that post to see pictures of all the fabulous prizes: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles AMPS 426

Hi Kat. Hope the dose increase dose the job to get Gobbles numbers down.

Sorry to here that the raffle ticket sales have tapered off. Can you put a starred post on the TR page. Maybe folks that don't visit the Health page missed the post there. I'll put a note on PF's condo too.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles AMPS 426

Good luck with the dosecrease....work it, Gobby!!

I'll repost the raffle on FB after work tonight! Have a great day, Kat!!
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles AMPS 426

I hope Gobbles is feeling good and not the source of the LB issues. Your description of the gorging and what not was pretty spot on. Gotta love the intestinal adventure of the kittehs. :-0
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles AMPS 426

Lisa & Leo said:
I hope Gobbles is feeling good and not the source of the LB issues. Your description of the gorging and what not was pretty spot on. Gotta love the intestinal adventure of the kittehs. :-0
He seems to be feeling good and all 5 P's are in place; the high numbers distress me but he physically acts the same when they are high (well, over 450 he sleeps more) as when BGs are lower. My fear is what is happening inside his body when he gets over 200.... He started picking at his food last week, thence the cypro. The cypro does help, but I don't yet know what is making him pick at his food. There is a chance that he is "holding out" for HC as last week he got it a few times due to low, low numbers--no HC for him though; we don't go over 10% here for daily feedings (though 14%-22% HC as needed). The vet ran labs and physically examined him; which were all basically good. So you think that gorging=diarrhea? I never seen him eat that much at once...I'm sure his belly couldn't have felt well afterwards (I guess it might feel similar to how a stomach feels after a hearty Thanksgiving dinner!).
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles AMPS 426

Amy&TrixieCat said:
Good luck with the dosecrease....work it, Gobby!!

I'll repost the raffle on FB after work tonight! Have a great day, Kat!!
Thanks so much Amy :-D
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles AMPS 426

On "Gorging = diarrhea" ... over in our neck of the woods, gorging leads to barf-o-rama. Gorging can sometimes start up the normal intestinal process and start really moving things (and sometimes a LOT of things) along. Sometimes in the urgency things can get a little...ehhhh....pliable. :roll:

Hey, on another note, I think they might have taken us seriously from the other day ....

Punxsutawney Phil Beheaded For Inaccurate Prediction On Annual Groundhog Slaughtering Day

:shock: :shock: :shock:
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles AMPS 426

Lisa & Leo said:
On "Gorging = diarrhea" ... over in our neck of the woods, gorging leads to barf-o-rama. Gorging can sometimes start up the normal intestinal process and start really moving things (and sometimes a LOT of things) along. Sometimes in the urgency things can get a little...ehhhh....pliable. :roll:

Hey, on another note, I think they might have taken us seriously from the other day ....

Punxsutawney Phil Beheaded For Inaccurate Prediction On Annual Groundhog Slaughtering Day

:shock: :shock: :shock:
OMGee--is that really for real? I mean, I'm all for eating wild animals that your hunt--but that is blatant slaughter, poor Phil--he's met the same fate of Anne Boleyn (and her devious cuz, Catherine) & little Lady Jane Grey!!!! If it is true, did the mayor actually eat him? I hear that they're somewhat tasty; my grandfather used to hunt them and have them with a side of pasta.....

On the other note: There was another bout of Diarrhea (why did I capitalize that...LOL) at about 11 a.m., but has since--stopped. I cooked him some boneless, skinless chicken in water and gave it to him when I left at noon. He drank the "chicken" water and ate some of the chicken--seems that may have bound him...
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles PMPS 364

Lisa & Leo said:
Hey, on another note, I think they might have taken us seriously from the other day ....
Punxsutawney Phil Beheaded For Inaccurate Prediction On Annual Groundhog Slaughtering Day
:shock: :shock: :shock:
I hope to God that's not true Lisa :evil: That's awful!!

In response to a PM:
TheBowHuntress said:
Subject: 10/01 J.D. PMPS 192, +3 141, +3.75 104

Dyana said:
Question:
At first I made a mistake and told her the Denamarin was for the Pancreatitis, and she said to stop the Denamarin.
She said it causes inappetance, diarrhea, and vomiting. That could be why (as I suspected) that he has been appetant in the mornings. I give it to him at PM +11, and then at AMPS, try to feed him, and sometimes he doesn't eat, which bothers me freaks me out, when he's low or dropping, and I have to go to work and he won't eat.
When I told her I made a mistake and the Denmarin was actually for Dementia and I asked what do they usually give for Dementia, she said Denamarin :?
I'm a little confused about when the fasting for the Denamarin has to be made. Before? After? Both? For how long?
Maybe, I could give it to him in the middle of the night or something..
TheBowHuntress said:
Hi Dyana. I found this post of yours when I ran a search on "denamarin diarrhea". Do you mean that "she said it [Denamarin?] causes inappetance, diarrha..." Gobbles has diarrhea again. I posted a ? re: cypro and I guess that MAY not cause it. So I am trying to narrow it down. It might be the denamarin (he's been on it close to 2 weeks).... he went to the vet last week due to picking at his food; was given a B12 shot, which didn't work, and then cypro--which does work a little while although last night he totally gorged--which may have caused his diarrhea...don't know. His labs weren't much difference than a few weeks prior. He has more labs scheduled for 4/26. I really want to give him the Denamarin because his ALT is 132 (and the vet agreed with me that it may help), but not if it causes diarrhea. I suspect MAYBE p-titis, but didn't have the test run last week because Gobbles ate just a few hours prior to the vet visit... any opinions or thoughts on this would be appreciate. Thanks, Kat


Kat,
The vet did say the Denamarin can cause inappetance and diarreha but it did not in J.D.
This is what it says about Denamarin on Drugs.com: "While mild side effects, such as gastrointestinal upset, itching and headache, have been rarely reported in primates, no side effects have been noted in dogs or cats."

I would want to keep giving the Denamarin a chance to help Gobbles liver. Livers are just too important.

I do not think the cypro itself caused diarrhea in Gobbles. I think it could have been something he ate, maybe something new that he is not used to eating, or maybe just the amount of food he ate. You can give him some FortiFlora sprinkled on top of his food (my cats LOVE it) and that should help to firm up his stool.

My thoughts on the pancreatitis test are if he continues to be extra picky, and especially if he acts hungry and approaches food and or sniffs it and then licks his lips or turns away, I would probably try to get the test. You will have to plan for it though as it is a fasting test. The last time J.D. had one, he only fasted for 5 and 1/2 hours because he chose that afternoon to go into the 40s and his appointment was at +11 :roll: If Gobbles is nauseated (licking his lips and walking away from food), then you don't want to give him an appetite stimulant until you have his nausea addressed first.

I hope that helped a little. Brain is fading, almost off to bed time, for me.
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles PMPS 364

Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope Gobbles appy gets back to normal soon.

Hey, on another note, I think they might have taken us seriously from the other day ....

Punxsutawney Phil Beheaded For Inaccurate Prediction On Annual Groundhog Slaughtering Day

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Lisa, thanks for posting that. I needed a good laugh. :lol:
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles PMPS 364

It's not true - it's The Onion! Fooled you!!!

Every now and then something from The Onion really gets me going, they sound so REAL! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles PMPS 364

Dyana said:
The vet did say the Denamarin can cause inappetance and diarreha but it did not in J.D.
This is what it says about Denamarin on Drugs.com: "While mild side effects, such as gastrointestinal upset, itching and headache, have been rarely reported in primates, no side effects have been noted in dogs or cats."...maybe something new that he is not used to eating, or maybe just the amount of food he ate. You can give him some FortiFlora sprinkled on top of his food (my cats LOVE it) and that should help to firm up his stool...My thoughts on the pancreatitis test are if he continues to be extra picky, and especially if he acts hungry and approaches food and or sniffs it and then licks his lips or turns away...If Gobbles is nauseated (licking his lips and walking away from food), then you don't want to give him an appetite stimulant until you have his nausea addressed first
Well, here at PM+10, I found soft poo that was formed, but still some was runny; not "entirely" diarrhea (yesterday was just plain runny). He may have eaten/is eating dead bugs on the enclosed back porch (I do keep it swept, but they still are out there); I am going to keep him in the house. As for diet change; I cannot think of anything that has changed; no different food has been introduced. I started him on Denamarin 3/10 and looking at his SS, diarrhea started off & on 3/12. From 3/12 on, I gave it to him almost every day. These past few days he has got it every day. He refused the FortiFlora this a.m. so I put a little on my finger and wiped it on the top of his mouth (not a happy kitty). I am thinking that maybe I should forego the Denamarin today and see what shows up in his LB? With regard to pancreatitis: I don't think he's nauseated because, although he just licked the juice of Friskies LC this morning, when I broke out a container of cooked boneless, skinless chicken (package says: chicken, water, salt & sodium phospates), he devoured 1/2 cup of it--maybe with regard to appetite, he's just acting spoiled? I think he's had more than enough chicken; if he refused catfood during his next feeding, should I just go ahead and give him the cypro? I thought maybe a course of action for today could be: no back porch, withhold Denamarin, and only administer cypro if he continues to refuse cat food? What's your opinion on all this Dyana? ADDED: 5 minutes after eating chicken & FortiFlora, he threw it all up. He has never threw up chicken and the last time I tried to give him FortiFlora (a few weeks ago) he adamantly refused it... & ADDED (after last addition): he just ate 1 t. FFLC....15 minutes after vomiting...
 
Re: 3/20 Gobbles PMPS 364

Lisa & Leo said:
It's not true - it's The Onion! Fooled you!!!

Every now and then something from The Onion really gets me going, they sound so REAL! :lol: :lol: :lol:
OMGee, you stinker!!! Well, at least you reminded me of a good memory of my Grampa :lol:
 
I would not give him an appetite stimulant, until the nausea has been addressed. Does he get Pepcid?

I have to log off, as I have to leave earlier than normal for work, and I still have to throw up a condo.

If he continues to not want to eat today, I would think about taking him to the vet.
 
Dyana said:
I would not give him an appetite stimulant, until the nausea has been addressed. Does he get Pepcid?

I have to log off, as I have to leave earlier than normal for work, and I still have to throw up a condo.

If he continues to not want to eat today, I would think about taking him to the vet.
I will give him Pepcid--2.5 mg (1/4 of a tab). Thanks Dyana & have a great day at work :-D
 
quilterkitty said:
Sending sweet furry thoughts and prayers up for Gobbles and for you, Kat. Hope he's better today. :YMHUG:
Thanks Phyllis...Gobby & I are going to take a walk to your Condo... :-D
 
Dyana said:
I would not give him an appetite stimulant, until the nausea has been addressed. Does he get Pepcid?

I have to log off, as I have to leave earlier than normal for work, and I still have to throw up a condo.

If he continues to not want to eat today, I would think about taking him to the vet.
I gave him Pepcid. He has been eating sporadically today, just not alot at once. So he is eating; though less than usual. I haven't seen any diarrhea. I checked for ketones (numbers have been too high!!!!) I think I might give him cypro, but wait until 1/2 hour before PMPS (3/21). I am going to copy/paste my response here into today's (3/21) post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top