03/17 Rex PMPS+3.3 48 +3.8 79 +4.4 104 +5.5 156

Status
Not open for further replies.

RichNW & Rex

Member Since 2012
Bounce Return - Rex is coming down off his bounce.

I am predicting Rex might be planning a dose reduction. :lol:

He thinks he is stealth kitty, but I have his number. We will see how much lower he goes prior to PMPS.

One small toes into the green lagoon.

Rex's 3/16 Condo
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96

Shooting GREEN - have all my supplies - Ready for a fun night.

I have lots of school work and reading to do so perfect timing.

Might even do some baking! :)
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96

Question - Can someone take a look at Rex's numbers and give some advise on running out to do grocery shopping.

Do you think I can get away for a couple of hours since I gave Rex his entire dinner at 1800?
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 !!! *** Question Please

OK Just looked at his PM numbers from 2 days ago, and he dropped really fast by +3.

I will do shopping another day. We are all cool! :)
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96

Since this is your first green shot, you want to get a +1 and +2. You probably were going to do that anyway. :-D Good shooting! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

We've got Tuscan bread in the oven, what are you baking in between pokes?
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +102

Wendy,

I might make a bread - zucchini or banana nut.

I could also make ice cream - I make a yummy Basil Ice Cream with Pine Nut Pralines.

Rhiannon & Josie,

Thanks for the well wishes! :)
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46

YOWZA - Rex is 46 @ +2

* Gave him 2 tsp HC FancyF - Food and Gravy (not really able to separate out the gravy only)

Rex has earned a reduction from .5u to .25u

** Will test again in 30 minutes
 

Attachments

  • RexReduction.jpg
    RexReduction.jpg
    10.5 KB · Views: 658
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33

** Little Help **

+2.0 46 - Gave Rex 2tsp HC Fancy Feast - Food and Gravy
+2.5 33 - Gave Rex 3tsp HC Fancy Feast - Food and Gravy

*** No Hypo Symptoms - So that is good!!

** The 33 is scaring me!!

Should I give him even more or maybe Karo to get him up fast?
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33

Since there are no dosing experts on currently, I will tell you what I'd do if it were my cat. I'd wait on the karo and grab another test in 15 minutes. Hopefully the gravy will kick in.

Don't panic, breathe...
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33

Courtney - Thank You!!

Planning on testing at +2.75

** His Nadir as not normally till +3 or +4 or +5 (sometimes)
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33

Good. Please post and let us know. I will stay with you until someone with more expertise gets here. :)
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31

While we're waiting, here's a reminder from dealing with low numbers from the sticky:

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31

** Rex is still falling **

Recap

+2.00 46 - Gave Rex 2tsp HC Fancy Feast - Food and Gravy
+2.50 33 - Gave Rex 3tsp HC Fancy Feast - Food and Gravy
+2.75 31 - Gave Rex 3tsp HC Fancy Feast - Food and Gravy - Tested both Left and Right ears - Same BG

*** No Hypo Symptoms - So that is good!!
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31

Ok, 31 @ 2.75. Why don't you mix a little karo/honey into a tsp of food, feed, and test again in 15?
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31

Hi Courtney,

Just gave him 3 more tsp of HC at +2.75

Should I wait till +3 to do the 3tsp of Karo and HC?
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31

I'd suggest breaking out the big guns. I'd add a drop or two of Karo to whatever you're feeding Rex. I'd re-test in 20 - 30 min. (15 min. may not be enough time for the HC to kick in.)
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31

Sienne - Thanks!!!!!!!!!!
I am testing again at +3.

1. If his numbers are down up I will add the Karo
2. If his numbers are the same I will add the Karo
3. If his numbers are up a little I will add the Karo
4. If his numbers are up a lot I will NOT add the Karo

Courtney - Thank You for sticking with me!!!!!

Thanks,
Rich
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31

I'm also on Rich. Sienne and I will tag team. Courtney did a great job so you've got eyes.

Just post his next number.
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37

I'd give him a couple more tsp HC gravy and another couple drops of karo. Retest in 20. Thanks Rich.
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37

Ok will do!!

2tsp HC with 2 drops Karo

** Retest in 20 minutes
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37

FWIW, Rex gets a reduction with these numbers so there's nothing he needs to prove. You can bump up the numbers especially if you need to get some sleep.
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37

Recap:
PMPS: 96
+1:102
+2: 46 fed 2 tsp HC food/gravy
+2.5: 33 fed 3 tsp HC food/gravy
+2.75: 31 fed 3 tsp HC food/gravy
+3: 37 fed 2 tsp HC food/gravy & karo


Yes...you get the BOS award tonight, Rich. Hope you've got some of that good coffee brewing.

He's earned his reduction so our goal is to get him up into safer numbers as fast as we can.
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37

Sienne & Marje,

Will be testing again in a few minutes.
I knew he wanted some excitement tonight! :lol:

I am just glad that he does not have Hypo Symptoms!!!
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37

I love it when your gut instincts are right on target! Now, if Rex would just decide to spend some time in the 50s or 60s....
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37

* Update *

56Left Ear/48Right Ear @ +3.30 - Have not give any more food or Karo
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37

I'd give him another tsp of HC...no karo....retest in 30. I'll be here.

Even though he's coming up, the reason I want you to feed more is the HC will wear off and he could come back down. It's early in the cycle still. Also...I'd only test one ear.


Recap:
PMPS: 96
+1:102
+2: 46 fed 2 tsp HC food/gravy
+2.5: 33 fed 3 tsp HC food/gravy
+2.75: 31 fed 3 tsp HC food/gravy
+3: 37 fed 2 tsp HC food/gravy & karo
+3.3: 48 fed 1 tsp HC food/gravy
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37

Marje,

I totally get the reasoning! Awesome!

I just gave him 1tsp HC NO Karo

Retest in 30.

** Side Note - Rex was considerate to at least do this early in his cycle. He is a very polite kitty! :lol:
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS 96 +1 102 +2 46 +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37

WTG Rex! You're doing a great job, Rich! Happy I could help. :) You're in excellent hands now :mrgreen: And congrats on the reducie!
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37 +3.3 48 +3.8 79

** Up to 79 - YEA!!

Can everyone say BIG BOUCE in the future! LOL

Will test again in 30 minutes to make sure NOT just a food spike
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37 +3.3 48 +3.8 79

So, was this the fun night you were predicting? Great job Rich. The HC you started giving almost 2 hours ago might start wearing off. Good plan to keep on testing.
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37 +3.3 48 +3.8 79

Good job...all that yummy stuff kicked in.

Good idea to test in 30. Then the next test should be in a hour if he's up more. It's important to stay on top of the testing until you get two, rising, non food or gravy/karo influenced numbers.

See you in 30.


Recap:
PMPS: 96
+1:102
+2: 46 fed 2 tsp HC food/gravy
+2.5: 33 fed 3 tsp HC food/gravy
+2.75: 31 fed 3 tsp HC food/gravy
+3: 37 fed 2 tsp HC food/gravy & karo
+3.3: 48 fed 1 tsp HC food/gravy
+4: 79 no fud
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37 +3.3 48 +3.8 79

Marje & Sienne,

That is the plan -

Test in 30 then test again an hour after that for 2 rising in numbers without food or Karo.

See you then! :)
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS +2.5 33 +2.75 31 +3 37 +3.3 48 +3.8 79

Super. Sienne went to bed. Looks like you're stuck with me ;-)
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS+3.3 48 +3.8 79 +4.4 104

** Good News - 104

Will test again in 1 hour @ +5.5 :)

Marje, Sienne, and Courtney - Again thank you!!
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS+3.3 48 +3.8 79 +4.4 104

Looks good. Yes...please keep testing As we discussed.

Since he's up, I'm headed to bed, too. Good work.

Don't forget about the reduction...he earned it! A full .25u. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS+3.3 48 +3.8 79 +4.4 104

Marje,

I am on it. Testing is a MUST!!
Always want to make sure Rex is safe!

I am up for a couple more hours reading and school work!

Already update signature and SS with new dose :lol:

Sleep Well!!!!!!
 
Re: 03/17 Rex PMPS+3.3 48 +3.8 79 +4.4 104

You crack me up.

I know you will. If I didn't, I wouldn't go to bed.

Good luck with the reduction. Don't forget, if he DOES bounce super high (high 200s- above), you can shoot through the bounce once with .5u and take the reduction Mon evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top