8/3/13 Angie PMBG=79 +2=142 +3=130

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Dyana said:
Very nice. I see that 58 on your spreadsheet. You're doing good, but.. you may have to stay up for a while tonight again. Sorry.
The good news is I think Angie is on a mission :mrgreen: .

Poor Angie may be on a mission but I'm struggling to support her properly. Last night I did fall asleep, but not until she had risen from 58 to 83. This morning 3 alarm clocks and my partner couldn't wake me up. I slept till 9 am. I've been shooting at 6 am/pm so I skipped again this morning.

By skipping the shots that I've skipped, am I likely to be holding up her progress? Or worse, jeopardising her chances of remission? (We won't mention double dosing and what's likely to happen with that.) Looking after her is really important to me. I just haven't been able to keep up without enough sleep. At least I don't have any guests anymore so I can sleep during the day when I need to.

Today:
AMBG - 128, 1st breakie
+1.75 - 113, 2nd breakie

Yesterday:
AMBG - 130, 1st breakie
+4 ---- 94, 2nd breakie
+7.5 -- 94
PMPS -- 124, 1st dinner, 0.1 IU insulin
+2 ---- 74, 2nd dinner
+3 ---- 61
+4 ---- 58
+4.75 - 83

Yesterday's condo is here.
 
Re: 8/3/13 Angie AMBG=128 +2=113

I put my phone on vibrate and put it under my pillow. Sounds like your a sound sleeper but maybe the vibation will help, helped me.
Hopefully it will get easier for you. Your doing good, just by being here (((FDMB))) your ahead of most in terms of care. We're all pulling for you.
 
Re: 8/3/13 Angie AMBG=128 +2=113

Hi,
This is definitely a sleep deprivation club. You'll find a balance as time passes. There are so many changes in the beginning and the dance steps aren't routine yet.
Angie will get there. :-D
 
Re: 8/3/13 Angie AMBG=128 +2=113

Hi Grace

So far it hasn't had a huge impact on her but numbers can get a little wonky when you shoot just once a day. If you were able to stick with it consistently even for a week, I have to wonder if Angie might just be done with this whole thing.

I know it's hard...as Rhiannon said, it's somewhat like a sleep deprivation club. Somehow we adjust but I can always sleep if I sit still long enough :-D
 
Re: 8/3/13 Angie AMBG=128 +2=113

Go Angie! You can do it! You're doing great, Grace. You have to take care of yourself too, so you can take care of Angie. Can your partner help with early morning or late night? Anne and I split things up that way. I do the morning and she does night. It helps a lot.
Liz
 
Re: 8/3/13 Angie PMPS=79 - shoot or no shoot?

Hi everyone,

If I shoot tonight, this will be my first time shooting green. Angie's pre-shot number is 79, after missing her insulin this morning. I don't know whether it's safe to shoot and stay up and test her or if I should skip. I've been reading the handling low numbers sticky and they suggest to stall. What does that mean?

Thanks so much for your support, and help again and again!

Grace
 
Re: 8/3/13 Angie PMPS=79 - shoot or no shoot?

Hi Grace,

A stall means waiting 15-30 minutes and testing again. If the numbers are rising, then it's safer to shoot. However, you have to not feed while you are stalling.
 
Re: 8/3/13 Angie PMPS=79 - shoot or no shoot?

Ah. Thanks for that Wendy. She's already had first dinner so it's too late to stall. I think I'm going to skip as there isn't anyone on who advises about doses.
 
Re: 8/3/13 Angie PMPS=79 - shoot or no shoot?

Now that you've fed, that is probably the best choice. Then you can get some sleep tonight and maybe Angie will give you green in the morning and someone will be on to advice.
 
Hi (good morning here/good evening there) :lol:
I know what the sleep deprivation is like--kudos to you, as I know it is tiring, but it shows just how much you care and love Angie!
Here's Gobbles shot schedule and how I manage it:

Alarm goes off at 4:45 a.m. (then I test and feed him)
Shot time 5 a.m.
Spot checks throughout the day, as needed
Shot time 5 p.m.
Spot check 7 p.m. (to see if his +2 is more or less than nadir)
Spot check 9 & 11, or just at 11 p.m. (+4 or +4 and +6)
If low at PM+6, I set my alarm to go off at 12 or 1 a.m. (+7 or +8, depending on +6)
Alarm goes off at 4:45 a.m.

Of course, there's the low number scenario, which you know all about :mrgreen:

Then I try to get a nap sometime in between.
 
It is better if she can get her insulin twice a day. I don't think she's quite ready for a trial, yet. Maybe, it's time to try 1 drop of insulin BID. Or, you could try to get a +11 before the PS test and then you can compare the +11 to the PS test and know whether she is just surfing along or rising or dropping.

As far as sleeping, I sleep whenever I can. And once I get to a certain point at night time, I sleep for 20 minutes or a half hour between tests (using an alarm of course). I do sometimes sleep through alarms, though. I, like you, have more than one, and can set a bunch to go off and sleep through them all. You do the best you can, and you are.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top