3/4 Sweetie AMPS 259, PMPS 291, yellow bgs and no vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo
Hey I finally figured out what is meant by the link to "yesterday's condo" and will start including it in my posts now.

This message board is such a great resource - I made a donation tonight and also ordered a T-shirt! Seems like a great thing to do with some of the money saved by not needing the vet's curve tomorrow. I talked to the vet on the phone today; she asked to see my curves so I sent her a link to the Google spreadsheet, and she agreed I didn't need to bring him in for a curve there. She said she didn't see why I increased the dose from 1 to 1.25, and I told her I am following the tight regulation protocol which has such a high rate of remissions. I guess she hasn't had much experience with it - apparently I'm the first client who even wanted to do any home testing.

She wasn't worried about the vomiting at this point - said that salmon is too rich for many cats and that I shouldn't try new foods right now. I probably will stay away from the salmon for now but I also just bought some new canned foods that are 5% carbs or less (plus on the budget side), so I'm still going to try introducing some new LC foods.

She also isn't worried about ketones "with his numbers". So she said it wasn't necessary to bring him in at all tomorrow. Not sure either one of us is all that satisfied with this client/vet relationship.

Well I was hoping to see a spot of blue before bed but it was not to be; the lowest bg I got today was 219 at +11. Hopefully he spent some time in the blues before that while I was at work; it doesn't look like he'll be there tonight with numbers of PMPS 291, +2 229, +4 246.

He still doesn't like to poop in the litter boxes (left a present on the carpet again just a few feet from 2 boxes which are kept immaculately clean following Dr. Pierson's excellent advice, and I have 4 boxes for 2 cats) :YMSIGH: . He only had the occasional out-of-box incident in the first 9 years of his life. At least he's been using the box for peeing lately.
 
Hi guys .. not sure if I've been to sweetie's condo before or not, so welcome from us! .. You guys post early :shock: :lol: Thanks for donating to the board, this is such a wonderful site and we all want to keep it going! I hear ya on the not so satisfied with the vet experience .. we went through a few with mocha before finally just getting a vet mainly for emergencies .. we did all our own home testing/shot dosing based off this board and now mocha's food controlled :-D have a great day guys!
 
Sounds good that you saved a bunch of money.
I was wearing my fdmb tshirt today. I'm going to have to order another one since I've already gotten something on it just carrying big metal objects.

My vet was the same. Once they see the numbers , suddenly they see how it works and I'm an example that it does work.
Hope Sweetie decides to come back the other direction.
 
Thanks for the encouragement Tara and Peter! Yep, I can get carried away on the FDMB with all the learning and visiting condos and reading of other SS stories. Then I realize that it is midnight and I have to finish washing dishes, and when I'm done I think "hey I could get another bg test in now!"

How very persistent you were with Mocha - it reminds me that success doesn't always come quickly and yet it can still be on it's way.
 
The sugar dance teaches us the true meaning of patience. In fact, we have the "Sisterhood of the Travelling Patience Pants". :-D
 
When I found this site, I read everything... other condo's... spent most of my time here seeking all the things I could do and learn.
After all, every time I laid down to sleep, I worried and didn't sleep . nailbite_smile
I even moved to the couch so I could test in the night.
I was very lucky to get to remission. And very blessed with all the help here. And I think I caught it early enough too.
 
Thanks to you too Rhiannon and Marje! As I read more and more spreadsheets I see the sugar dance more and more clearly: finding the right dose which gets the cat and pancreas and insulin and bean all working together, forming patterns which change and evolve, then bringing them all down to those lovely blues and greens.

I wish everyone could make it to that OTJ ending, and that all of the vets could see it and know it and help their clients with FD.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top