3/2 Chyna PMBG 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Happy Morning! It's finally the weekend! I think it's going to be a BTB for me in a bit, sore throat is worse. All food was eaten overnight, and Chyna is purring on the bed so at least someone feels good ;-) Last night was exciting, as at PM +3 she went down all by herself! I'm hoping for the same this morning...I'm not sure what all to do yet about this, I guess I continue PS and +3 if her numbers stay lower? Yesterdays condo:

Chyna 3/1

Have a good day peoples:) I'd better go feed my Chyna cat, she is (im)patiently waiting :lol:
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna AMBG 124

Yay, Chyna! :-D I'm glad she's recovering so well from the dental. Getting out those bad teeth has helped. Healing vines to you, Rachel. I hope you can rest this weekend and feel better soon.
Liz
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna AMBG 124

Hi Rachel,

I've been looking at Chyna's spreadsheet. She seems to be trending upward.

What do you think of this plan for today:

Today, get a few spot checks throughout the day. Feed some small meals throughout the day (it looks like you do this usually anyway).

At +8, test and feed a small meal (a couple of tbsp).

Test at +12 and post her number. Let's see if that +8 feeding helps her get to a green number at +12.

It is looking like by stopping insulin so suddenly after Chyna's dental, we might not have given her pancreas enough time to heal completely (it does look like her pancreas is sputtering, but not working all the time). If that is the case, resuming insulin will give the pancreas additional support while it continues to heal. I don't want to see her come back on the juice just because we made her pancreas work too hard too soon.

Let's see if the +8 feeding helps, and go from there. What do you think?
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna AMBG 124

Thanks Liz, I hope so too! Libby, can do, I figured I may have to go back to small amounts of insulin for a bit:) I didn't really stop insulin on purpose, the first few days after the dental she was too low (I'm guessing from anesthetic) and not eating much for me to shoot, especially with me working all week. Then the next few days she ate more but not when I needed her to, lol. Looks like full appetite is back now...does a + 3 then feed, a +6 then feed, and a +8 then feed and test/post at +12 sound good? I can divide her usual 2 a day meals into 3.

On a side note, I'm wondering how long to give bupe? I think the vet tech said 5 days...they gave me plenty. They're open today so maybe I'll call later to ask...
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna AMBG 124 +3 115

I've usually given bupe for 3 days. How is Chyna feeling? You might try skipping a dose of bupe and see how she's reacting.
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna AMBG 124

raeifo said:
Looks like full appetite is back now...does a + 3 then feed, a +6 then feed, and a +8 then feed and test/post at +12 sound good? I can divide her usual 2 a day meals into 3.
That sounds good. Might as well experiment a little, since you haven't shot in a few days. Let's see what she does!
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna AMBG 124 +3 115 +6 108

So far, going down a tiny bit:) I usually give her 1/4 can at breakfast, and another 1/4 can during the day divided into 2 (then 1/4 can supper, and 3 x 1/8 can overnight since I read they go lower at night I did the extra portion then). That equals her "calories" for 24 hours around 225.

Today I gave 1/4 can breakfast and she ate 3/4 of it. I divided the afternoon 1/4 can into three portions. I gave her the last bit of breakfast along with the first portion at +3, the next portion just now at +6 and have the final portion saved for +8. For the +8 you mentioned a few tablespoons, should I make that meal bigger? Once it's mixed with water it may be that much...(edit) I just did her +8 and gave her the normal portion.
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna PMBG 126 start insulin?

Thanks Sam, at least I know the pancreas is starting to work:)

So we did the trial today that was suggested and the PMBG/+12 is 126. So I need to bug the experts again...should I be starting insulin again then, tomorrow morning or wait a bit more? If so...not sure how much. I was thinking a small dose like 0.25 but wanted some help on that...
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna PMBG 126 start insulin?

I have no clue, I know the protocol usually goes in .25 increments, but chyna is still close to good range so might need less. I again know nothing about dosing or the numbers, but look at ruben's ss ambg/pmbg are close to the same and dips in the middle. (i use an alpha trax to my range is under 70-150) Similar to chyna #'s. I'd wait to hear what an expert says b4 you shoot. She's still bringing herself down after meal time. I'm still trying to have faith in her lil pancreas...come on chyna give us a green :mrgreen:
again i'm still learning how this whole FD works and each cat dances different.
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna PMBG 126 start insulin?

I'm helping bump you up again...
with meter variance, 126 is still okay.... especially if she comes down again after some food..
it looks like others were telling you to keep observing....

if you don't get answered.... pm someone who has been advising you before....on when...
but imho, you are still watching...
she's still doing okay. ( shadow did this too which always makes me feel like we're living on the edge)
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna PMBG 126 start insulin?

Thanks again. I'm so happy to see it working, but with no green the last few days and me being no expert...I don't want to stress it out if she needs the insulin a bit longer while healing :-D No kidding I feel like we're living on the edge :lol:

And we'll have the food change to deal with for the kidney thing and possible drugs that the vet mentioned we'd talk about once the dental is healed, although I'd like to not have drugs if not necessary yet. She did talk about prescription food as a mix with current food and adding dry for lower protein, which I said maybe to the wet food but the dry I don't want to do. She gave me a pamphlet hand out to read on CKD, but didn't say much about exactly the diagnosis or if it may be from the infections from before...although I had a lot of info given to me about the dental and such which is probably why she said to get ahold of her in a week or two to discuss.

I did look at Dr Lisas lists and the EVO I'm giving now (cat and kitten chicken and turkey) is higher in phosphorus than recommended, but the EVO chicken and turkey is much lower in phosphorus and a bit lower in protein so I'll be switching to that to start with. The only place in my city that carries EVO is Petland and they are out of stock in that flavor (of course, lol, they have all the other EVO in stock). So I ordered a case online, but it won't show for a week.

I'll be trying to find some of the other low carb/phos ones too, just to have on hand and switch it up if she won't eat. I've been sick so haven't had much of a brain to read Tanyas site, it is so jammed packed with info I was getting confused. I'm not sure if I should use the lab results before the IV or after. I did increase the methylcobalamin to 1mg from 0.5mg daily and I guess I'll need to look at a vitamin. I know several people said they have diabetic and CKD babies and offered help, which I will for sure need! Anyways sorry to babble on, right now I'm trying to get the insulin thing all straight :?
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna PMBG 126 start insulin?

Chyna is doing great! Just look at her spreadsheet the past two weeks compared to the beginning. :-D Yes, she might need a bit more insulin but, wow, what a difference. :-D So breathe deeply, Rachel, and try to relax. You are doing a super job. Generally, those prescription foods are not very high quality but are good money makers for the vet. The dry is terrible. You might send a pm to Sienne or Marje to ask about dosing.
Liz
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna PMBG 126 start insulin?

your a good bean! Chyna is so lucky to have you, but then again they make us the wonderful people we are.
I have good feelings about Chyna's pancreas. Hoping you don't have to worry about insulin at all.
I like to talk to Ruben's Mr. P, I tell him how he's the best Mr.P and how Ruben and I appreciate him...lol :razz: I'd like to say I was joking but I'm not :lol: :lol: :lol: I mush my face right into him and wisper sweet nothings to him...Best part of it all is, he starts purring as soon as I start talking, when I stop talking he stops purring... :lol: :lol: :lol:
Freakin love him.
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna PMBG 126 start insulin?

Thanks ladies, for the support, I am trying to breaaattthhheee. It doesn't help that I am getting sicker with achy muscles and headache etc, blah. I'm either going to bring or send Dr Lisas food list to the vet when we discuss options, the one listed by phosphorus. Sam, Ruben sounds like a wonderful kitty and he is just as lucky to have you as for you to have him, I ADORE my kitty too and I do some pretty silly things with her like tell her what a pretty girl she is and kiss her soft fur and sweet face cat_pet_icon

Liz, I may PM Marje or Sienne soon, I just didn't want to bug them since it isn't emergency, they're probably busy helping people as usual:) I was going to do a +2 or +3 tonight, but Chyna decided just now it was a good idea to finish her supper...oops. But I just scooped and today we had Poo! Looks pretty soft...hope that isn't bad.
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna PMBG 126 start insulin?

I think if tomorrow morning looks the same, I would resume insulin. Ultimately it's up to you, of course. Her numbers aren't bad, but she is running right at the top of the normal range and normally we look for mostly green with just a little bit of blue. As far as dose, what makes you comfortable? You can either pick up where you left off, 0.75u, or go a little lower to see if that works. You can always increase if the dose you pick isn't enough.

Food: Jill/Alex has a helpful tab on Alex's spreadsheet where she started a list of some low carb/low phosphorous foods.
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna PMBG 126 start insulin?

Thanks Libby, the food I want to switch to is on that list too:) Do you think 0.25 is too low to start with? I guess with the ECID it doesn't do me any good to ask how long it may take for the pancreas to get better, LOL. I'm just worried that I won't be home much to monitor this week once Monday comes for work, and I don't want her to go too low if mr.p decides to jump start...and I'm getting sick as well :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/2 Chyna PMBG 126 start insulin?

if you like 0.25, then go for it. That should be nice and safe, and if it's not enough, then it's easy enough to adjust it later.

I hope you feel better tomorrow.
 
Rachel

I'm sorry you are feeling so bad. When you feel better, let me know and list your questions on CKD and I will answer what I can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top