2/28 Michelangelo AMPS 328, +6/281

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

Not sure how low he might have dropped during the day yesterday, but last night, he went up instead. I'd think it was a bounce if it weren't for the fact that I just decreased his dose yesterday to 1.75u. I don't know if I'll be able to get a midday test in today, either. If he needs it increased again, then.... Then, I'll probably cry :cry: because I have NO CLUE which dose to pick: 2u, which resulted in skipped shots or 1.75u, which resulted in higher numbers or even 1.88u that is a ***** to measure and still seemed too low a dose the last time he was on it.

I'm just getting so frustrated because it feels like we're sooooooo close to getting him regulated now that I can almost taste it and I just want to GET THERE ALREADY after the last 4 months of sleepless nights, constant testing and dose adjustments, and worry-filled days when I'm gone that he might hypo.
 
oh kpassa, i feel your frustration. stay the course. i don't have one but i hear calipers help with the measurements
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79851&p=862883&hilit=+caliper#p862883
remember what your father says... ;-)
wish i had more advise to give, but can only offer support. have you tried threatening lil mikey ;-) i hear that works sometimes.
let me know how can help, i wish i was closer, i'd test for you so you could sleep. hopefully when mikey gets all grown up he'll settle into regulation. your almost there, breath, stay positive and know were pulling for you and him
(((((kpassa & mikey)))))
 
This information is from the TR protocol used on the counterpart of this forum in Germany:
Phase 3: Holding the dose

Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.
Mikey, IMHO, isn't quite at being regulated. I posted the quote just to point out that even in a cat that is in a desirable BG range, you may need to make periodic dose adjustments. In addition, there is that LL truism -- sometime you have to take the dose up in order to get the numbers to come down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top