28/02 Angie PMPS=130 +2=126

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone,

It's 9.30 and I'm still not quite awake. I'm going to have to learn to nap during the day if I have to keep the late nights up.

This morning Angie has been cross with me about poking her ears and she kept flicking her head. I had to hold her down to keep her on my lap and hold her head still. I haven't had to do that before - I've just held her ear lightly and she held still for me.

She's also started running again over the last two days. I think she is starting to feel better! :-D She bowls up the hallway for no reason at all with her little legs blurring under her round tummy, making a drum roll sound on the wooden floors. It's been more than six months since she did that.

When she was first diagnosed her BG was in the 216-234 range (it was 12.something mmol/L). That's not so high but after seeing her running I'm wondering if she had been sick for a while and her numbers crept up quite slowly. Is that likely?

Today so far:
AMPS - 182, insulin 0.5 IU

Yesterday:
AMPS -- 151, insulin - 0.75 IU, breakfast
+2 ---- 103
+4 ---- 58
+5 ---- 40 (two teaspoons of high carb tinned food)
+5.25 - 70
+6 ---- 95
+7 ---- 83
+8 ---- 92
+9 ---- 121
+11 --- 146
PMPS -- 142, insulin - 0.5 IU, dinner
+1 ---- 148
+2 ---- 113
+3 ---- 68
+4 ---- 76
+5 ---- 77
+11 --- 157

Yesterday's condo is here.

:razz: Grace
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182

It's great when you can see a change in them - you know you are doing the right thing :thumbup
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182

That's quite a drop. Should I test again soon to see if it's going to go below 50? It might have already done so and be coming back up on it's own. If I give her food now, I won't know if it's coming back up on it's own. Does that matter?

Thanks
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +1=140 +3=52 - food or retest in 15

sorry nobody saw your post. Spreadsheet shows that you retested and she is surfing, good! I would feed 2 tsp of low carb then test in another 30 minutes to see if she will keep surfing.
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +1=140 +3=52 - food or retest in 15

Thanks Lucy,

I started feeding her high carb tinned food by some sort of brain confusion ohmygod_smile . Before I realised and took it away she got a few licks of gravy in. I then gave her two teaspoons of low carb food. I'll test her in a few minutes (half an hour after the last one). I've probably ruined the "keep surfing" though.

For next time, did I do ok to leave the food and retest in 15?

Grace
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +1=140 +3.25=52 +3.5=59

No dose advice from me, but I just wanted to say "hello!" I don't think I've visited you guys yet. Angie's numbers look really great! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +1=140 +3.25=52 +3.5=59

think of it as an opportunity to see if she is carb sensitive.... see where it goes ... after all, she already
got a few licks.... :-D
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +3.5=59 +4.4=43 - help w low?

Today:
AMPS - 182, insulin 0.5 IU
+1 ---- 140
+3.25 - 52
+3.5 -- 59, 3 licks high carb gravy, 2 tsp low carb
+4 --- cranky kitty
+4.5 - 43, 1 heaped tsp high carb

Test in 15 minutes? She is getting hard to test.
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +3.5=59 +4.4=43 - help w low?

It looks like Angie liked the high carb food. How about giving Angie some of the gravy from the HC to bump her numbers up? Re-test in 30 min.

Here are the written instructions for handling low numbers.
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +3.5=59 +4.4=43 - help w low?

What do you mean by liked the high carb food? She kept going lower after her first bit?

I've got the handling low numbers info printed, with hypo info and protocol in her testing box. I feel like such a slow learner though. I don't feel confident that I've understood it all properly and I want to post just to be sure that I'm doing the right thing.

testing now.
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +3.5=59 +4.4=43 - help w low?

I've just retested and she's come up to 86. Should I give her more low carb food now to keep her up? She had some 1.5 hrs ago and some high carb 30 mins ago.
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +3.5=59 +4.4=43 - help w low?

a little low carb won't hurt. I would test again in an hour to be sure she is staying up.
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +3.5=59 +4.4=43 - help w low?

Thanks! Does this mean a dose reduction two days in a row? She had a low yesterday and got a reduction from 0.75 at AM to 0.5 at PM.
 
Re: 28/02 Angie AMPS=182 +4.4=43 +5=86 - reduce 2 days in ro

Usually we try not to do two reductions in a row because today's low numbers might still have some influence remaining from the higher dose. However, since Angie just had a food change, I think it's worthwhile to try a dose reduction. If it doesn't work you can always increase again, but I think there is a good chance it will work.
 
Re: 28/02 Angie PMPS=130

Today so far
AMPS -- 182, insulin 0.5 IU
+1 ---- 140
+3.25 - 52
+3.5 -- 59
+4.5 -- 43
+5 ---- 89
+6 ---- 101
+8 ---- 115
+10 --- 144
PMPS -- 130, insulin 0.25 IU
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top