2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +6 49 +7 69 +8 57 +9 74 +10 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89560&p=960366#p960366

Good Morning LL ~O) Gobbles in a great mood this morning; mom needs more sleep :lol: I got a ketone test @AMPS: looks maybe a bit tanner, but I'd still call it between negative & trace; I'll continue to push fluids and test nailbite_smile Well, Gobbles' numbers were lovely last night. And his AMPS of 279? I'll take it in light of some of the high numbers we've been seeing! With the guidance of our experts, I shot Gobbles' one hour early this morning @3 a.m.

I went back to bed at 3:30 a.m. & then the kitty-alarm went off at about 6:00 a.m. The kitty-alarm was a constant barrage of kisses and snuggles, which I surely took advantage of! Gobbles ate good at AM+3 (though he wasn't thrilled that I turned his can of food into soup, so I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top of his food), is being social and alert. He had a little catnip and while I type this, he's snuggled on his scratching pad with a crocheted catnip mouse I made him the other day.

**13 WEEKS ON LANTUS**

Weight: 13.0 (dx weight on 11/17/12 was 11.2)
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279

Morning Kat, or rather late night for me on the west coast. Nice sunny yellow start for Gobbles today. Can we have another nice cycle like yesterday? Enjoy your btb. Paws crossed the ketone sticks get paler.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279

Wendy&Neko said:
Morning Kat, or rather late night for me on the west coast. Nice sunny yellow start for Gobbles today. Can we have another nice cycle like yesterday? Enjoy your btb. Paws crossed the ketone sticks get paler.
Thanks Wendy. I'm confident we'll see a pretty blue or green number at nadir :mrgreen: Gosh I hope the stick gets completely back to tan. Has your cat ever thrown ketones between negative/trace?
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279

Good Morning, Kat.

Your link to yesterday's condo isn't clickable. Did you ever try to test the ketone sticks on yourself and read them in the same lighting where you were testing Gobbles results?

Wishing for a nice tan test for Gobbles, today.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279

Dyana said:
Good Morning, Kat.

Your link to yesterday's condo isn't clickable. Did you ever try to test the ketone sticks on yourself and read them in the same lighting where you were testing Gobbles results?

Wishing for a nice tan test for Gobbles, today.
Well good morning Dyana ~O) I fixed the condo link. No, I will test the sticks here in a minute and then post. I did open a new box of strips yesterday; I will BRB with test result!!!
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279

Dyana said:
Did you ever try to test the ketone sticks on yourself and read them in the same lighting where you were testing Gobbles results?
I just ran a self-test. It appears I'm "negative/trace" as well!!!! Since I doubt I am, I now feel so much better, Dyana flip_cat
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279

Maybe use different lighting next time you test Gobbles. The brightest light you have in the house? Anyway, I would keep testing him when you get the opportunity, just to be sure.

Have a good day :)
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279

Dyana said:
Maybe use different lighting next time you test Gobbles. The brightest light you have in the house? Anyway, I would keep testing him when you get the opportunity, just to be sure.

Have a good day :)
The LB box is in the basement. If I'm quick I think I can get upstairs to the kitchen in less than 15 seconds; the lighting in there is good and there are plenty of windows, which will help. And I will continue to test him; I'm sure I can catch him at the LB today. I test him about every other day and keep track of same on his SS.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279

Morning ~O) ~O)
I had to smile about your running up the stairs in 15 seconds. ;-) I've done similar.. running around trying to find a really bright light to compare colors. The things we can do if we have to!!! Do you have one of those little, really bright LED flashlights you could bring downstairs with you?
So sweet that Gobbles loves the mouse you made for him. I hope it's a wonderful day for you! - xoxo mary and ollie
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279

ecurie said:
Morning ~O) ~O)
I had to smile about your running up the stairs in 15 seconds. ;-) I've done similar.. running around trying to find a really bright light to compare colors. The things we can do if we have to!!! Do you have one of those little, really bright LED flashlights you could bring downstairs with you?
So sweet that Gobbles loves the mouse you made for him. I hope it's a wonderful day for you! - xoxo mary and ollie
Good Morning Mary ~O) I'll have to be careful taking the steps two at a time~old age is setting in... :lol: I don't have a small LED flashlight but we do have the little LED clip lights you can clip onto a hat (we use those if the electric goes out!!!)...I'll see if I can find one! I've made 3 of those mice already this week; one for each cat, however, Alpha Gobbles has claimed all three! Have a blessed Sunday Mary & a nice next week!!!
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279

Morning Kat,

Hope you find that LED clip light so that you don't have to race up the stairs, and get hurt ;-) that would be something I'd do, end up tripping and breaking a leg or something.

Have a great day,
Kathie
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279 +6 96

Thanks Kathie--you just reminded me to get off the couch and go look for one of them! Yup, I'd probably trip myself--I just turned 47 years old so I have to be careful...LOL :lol:
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279 +6 96

Good morning, Kat! Wow, what a day you had yesterday -- between the ketone stress, the late night, and EARLY morning, you deserve an easy, restful day today.

Gobbles is looking good this morning, with a nice little dip into green!
Good job!

Take care, and watch those steps.
(PS: I think you're 47 years young :-D )

~Josie
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279 +6 96 +8 110 ? urgent re: dose ?

Gobbles next shot is at 3 pm EST. I have to leave directly after I give his shot. He's been increased/shots moved/good numbers past few days.
If he is under 100, should I shoot his whole dose? Is 100 too low to shoot since I'll be gone a while? Reduced dose?
I will not be home till about 7 pm EST (and therefore, won't be back till +4).

I am posting this ? now because I have to leave right after his shot....
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279 +6 96 +8 110 ? urgent re: dose ?

I don't think he'll be under 100, he was already rising at +8. But you shot 102 last night so he should be fine. Leave out high carb food if you're not sure.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279 +6 96 +8 110 ? urgent re: dose ?

Libby and Lucy said:
I don't think he'll be under 100, he was already rising at +8. But you shot 102 last night so he should be fine. Leave out high carb food if you're not sure.
He's 149. I am going to shoot full 2.25 and will leave out some food...I have FF gravy 21%--how bout if I mix that with LC? (looks like I'll be a little late for my dinner at my sisters)
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149

Still a very nice blue PMPS! :-D Have a great time at dinner.

Kat, hope you found that LED light for the downstairs. As someone who tripped on the top stair and fractured my elbow last week, :oops: I urge caution. The little LED flashlights are pretty cheap, I keep one in my test kit too.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles AMPS 279 +6 96

Josie & Ripley said:
Good morning, Kat! Wow, what a day you had yesterday -- between the ketone stress, the late night, and EARLY morning, you deserve an easy, restful day today.

Gobbles is looking good this morning, with a nice little dip into green!
Good job!

Take care, and watch those steps.
(PS: I think you're 47 years young :-D )

~Josie
I guess we're only as old as we feel, huh? I honestly don't feel any older than when I was in my 20s (mentally, certainly not physically!!!!) And guess what: so I follow him down to his LB, get a strip ready, stick it under his butt (to get it in urine stream), grab the bottle and book up the stairs...waiting, waiting...oh dah, he didn't pee on the stick!!! Will try to catch him down there later..... bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149

Libby and Lucy said:
whatever makes you feel comfortable. It won't hurt him.
Well, I'm back. He ate a little of the mixed LC/HC before I left (he's been nibbing all day!!!) and I left a small plate of it out on my dresser next to one of his beds (or else the dog would get it or the civvies would eat it). When I came home, he met me at the door. The food was still on my dresser. So I offered him some LC; he at 2/3 can FFLC along with a small dish of chicken water; I tested him 10 minutes later and he was 87 (+4.5).
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149

Wendy&Neko said:
Still a very nice blue PMPS! :-D Have a great time at dinner.

Kat, hope you found that LED light for the downstairs. As someone who tripped on the top stair and fractured my elbow last week, :oops: I urge caution. The little LED flashlights are pretty cheap, I keep one in my test kit too.
OMGee--I'm so sorry to hear about your elbow! I about tripped going up my stairsl...I think it was because I was wearing loose slippers--really smacked my knees!!! I'm still looking for those little LED clip lights--we moved last summer and there's still stuff packed, so that's probably where they are... I'm just going to have to put that on my shopping list.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87

Libby and Lucy said:
I really like what I'm seeing on this dose so far. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Me too, Libby. Paws crossed, we've found a good dose for him cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49

+6 49

I gave him 3 soft whisker lickins treats and FF LC 5% food--he ate the whole can. Should I take 911 icon down?
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49

Test him in 30 minutes? And yes, you can take the icon "down" if you want. I'll hang around and see how things are going!

Nice job, Gobbles!!!

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49

Carl & Bob said:
Test him in 30 minutes? And yes, you can take the icon "down" if you want. I'll hang around and see how things are going!

Nice job, Gobbles!!!

Carl
Icon down :smile: Yes, sure I'll test again -- 30 minutes -- which will be 9:40 EST, then I'll post. I'm not freaking out at all. He's sitting here plopped down on his catnip scratching pad making cute faces at me. He ate a whole can of FF 5%. He had eaten earlier, so I'm surprised he ate that much (in addition to 3 soft treats!!!) but I read that ravenous hunger can be a sign of a hypo, right?
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49

Some cats will (if food is available) realize their sugar is down and eat accordingly to bring it up, yes. You want to try to not let them eat too much at once if you're handing out the food though. For 2 reasons.
One, you don't want their tummy too full in case you need to repeat the "test, feed" routine every 30 minutes. Since he's at or near "nadir time", that isn't a huge concern, not like it would be if you were at +3 right now.
And Two, you don't want the "scarf and barf" thing to happen. If the food is going to bring up the numbers, it needs to stay in his tummy.

But so far, so good.

And I didn't figure you'd be freaking out. A month or two ago maybe, but you're an "old hand" at this sugardance now, Kat!

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63

+6.5 = 63

Thanks for the food explanation; makes a whole lot of sense Carl.
Nope, not in the least bit shook up, and yes, I would have been a month or so back..."old hand"...LOL
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63

63. Very nice. Probably can hold off on more food right now, since he ate well at +6. Now to see if he comes up, surfs, or drops back down...

Test in 30? Is he cutting into your sleep time?

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63

Carl & Bob said:
63. Very nice. Probably can hold off on more food right now, since he ate well at +6. Now to see if he comes up, surfs, or drops back down...

Test in 30? Is he cutting into your sleep time?

Carl
Oh gosh...no more food for now--he'd probably burst!!! I can test him in 30 minutes--he'll have to get over it; I keep telling him its for his own good and that "this hurts me more than it hurts you" :lol: No he's not holding up my sleep; I normally am up for about another hour (11 pm-ish EST).
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63

Good. If he comes up a bit in the next hour, you should be able to just give him a spoon or two before bed, and see what kind of number he wants to show you at AMPS.

Has anyone ever explained the whole "shoot through the bounce" thing to you yet? Not that my crystal ball shows a bounce coming, but just in case.

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63

Carl & Bob said:
Good. If he comes up a bit in the next hour, you should be able to just give him a spoon or two before bed, and see what kind of number he wants to show you at AMPS.

Has anyone ever explained the whole "shoot through the bounce" thing to you yet? Not that my crystal ball shows a bounce coming, but just in case.

Carl
Recap:
PMPS 149
+4.5 87
+6 49
+6.5 63
+7 69
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69

Purty. :-D

One more before sleepy time?

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69

Carl & Bob said:
Purty. :-D

One more before sleepy time?

Carl
Sure--how about if I get one at +8 or is +8.5 better? And when should I give him a little snack (and what type of snack)??? Thanks Carl ~ you are so awesome!!!
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69

+8 is fine. You want to keep snacks low carb as long as they are effective. If he stays in the 70-80 range that's great. If he climbs up, he climbs up. You just save the "sweets" for when the LC isn't working, or when you happen to see a big drop pretty early in the cycle. For his bedtime snack, a half can of FF should be good.

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69

Ok...don't know if he'll eat a whole half can though....my guess is that he will probably, maybe, eat 1 t. or T.... I will post again with +8.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69

That's ok, if there's leftovers and he feels the urge, he can snack later.

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

+8 = 57

Therefore:

PMPS 149
+4.5 87
+6 49
+6.5 63
+7 69
+8 57

So, what next? I offered him some FF LC; he ate maybe 1/2 t.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

Gobbles,
this wasn't part of the plan....

Now the +8.5 matters. Got gravy?
Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

Sure; I've got a can of FF 21% gravy lovers...should I give him that now?
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

It is within meter variance, so not a for-sure drop. But an 89 would have been more welcome, Kat
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

Just put some of the gravy on top of the LC.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

He basically just licked some of the gravy off...not much at all.
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

Come on Gobbles, momma's got to go to bed some time tonight! :o

You're doing a great job Kat! :RAHCAT And you have Carl. :thumbup Hang in there girlie! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

Kat,
See, we don't want to super-carb him, but we also don't want you up for the next four hours feeding a bunch of low numbers until AMPS either. I'm sure he'd prefer not having his ears pierced every 30 minutes too.
He "should" be past nadir, but he's had some cycles lately that just sloped downwards from one shot until the next shot too.

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

Well, it's 15 minutes until +8.5. We can see what the snack has done by then.

Carl
 
Re: 2/24 Gobbles PMPS 149 +4.5 87 +6 49 +6.5 63 +7 69 +8 57

Carl & Bob said:
Kat,
See, we don't want to super-carb him, but we also don't want you up for the next four hours feeding a bunch of low numbers until AMPS either. I'm sure he'd prefer not having his ears pierced every 30 minutes too.
He "should" be past nadir, but he's had some cycles lately that just sloped downwards from one shot until the next shot too.

Carl
I understand the super-carb idea. But he really doesn't want to eat. He had maybe a total of one t. of the lc & gravy. He's had some changes these past days with his shot times and dosing. I have to be prepared as to what do do if he has a low AMBG (that will be at 3 a.m.); one drawback to such an early shot time is lack of people on board, and even with that, there's no guarantees...ECID and I'm sure Bob may have put you through something similar when he was on insulin?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top