2/20 Gobbles PMPS 402 +3 261 +5 260

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89282&p=956210#p956210

Alarm went off at 5:40 a.m....shut it off to "just sleep 5 more minutes"...Gobby woke me up 40 minutes later, at 6:20 a.m....shot 1/2 hour late at 6:30 a.m...well, it happens & is no big deal (maybe he wants me to start moving his shot forward?)

Gobby picked at his food this a.m. and ate about 1/3 can FFLC + 5 pieces of chicken at AMPS. He seems a little laid back this morning as he went back to bed after his shot. He may have eaten in the middle of the night as I leave food out. I'll weigh him later; I'm a little worried he's lost weight again. I'm sure like people, cats weight fluctuates during the day...at his last weigh-in, on 2/16/13, he had lost a few ounces....
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221

J.D. goes up and down a few ounces during the day (depending upon whether he's gone potty or not) and during the week. I record J.D.'s weight on my ss in the column following Remarks, as an example.

I hope you have a good day, and you all wake up bright and cheery soon :)
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221

Morning Kat, oh how funny with you doing the opposite of me. :lol: So glad Gobbles got you up and shot just 1/2 hour late. Maggie also free feeds and eats overnight and sometimes very little in the morning. Have a great Wednesday.
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221

I just noticed that, in the plate of food I left out last night, somebody (either Gobby or civvies--Nigel & MiMi) puke a small amount of food on the same plate as the other food...gross--no way of telling who did it, though :o
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221

You can pull through it Bigs! Sending prayers & hugs to you & to all the sugar-babies :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221

Morning Kat ~O)

Ahhh the joys of a multiple cat household :lol:

Sunny start for Gobbles - sure is working that NDW, yesterdays PMPS ohmygod_smile
Hope those #s level out soon
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 ! aCtIvE cYcLe !

Gobby has gone from AMPS 221 and now 110 +2. I now know, from the teachers here at FDMB, to expect an "active cycle". I'll be home most the day and will keep an eye on him, to be sure!

He just ate about 4 ounces of a new breffis I've concocted. Since he picked this AM and was at 110, I thought I'd do a little something different to entice him to eat. The "recipe" was 3 T. of Friskies LC (4%) mixed with 2 T. of FF LC 8%. He scarfed it down; hopefully no barf...
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 ~ aCtIvE cYcLe !

All I can say is that the snooze bar and coffee makers have become my new BFFs since Trix's diagnosis...

Looks like Gobby is after some action today! Start surfing now, little one!

Have a great day, Kat!!
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 +4 91 ~ aCtIvE cYcLe !

I'd say he's surfing --

+2 110
+4 91
+5 107
+6 119

He's been sleeping since 6:30 AM; and only waking up each time mom pokes him to get a test (though he doesn't leave his bed when I do that--he just looks at me, rolls his eyes, eats his treat, and goes back to dreamland....)
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 ~ aCtIvE cYcLe !

Amy&TrixieCat said:
All I can say is that the snooze bar and coffee makers have become my new BFFs since Trix's diagnosis...

Looks like Gobby is after some action today! Start surfing now, little one!

Have a great day, Kat!!
Maybe I should use the snooze bar--I just turn it off, thence sleep in...And we must thank our sweeties for giving us a reason to drink more coffee ~O) There is nothing like a cup of coffee and a keyboard in the morning laptop_smiley

Gobby's been on his surfboard for the past 4 hours :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 +4 91 +5 107 +6 119 ? shot

His shot was 30 minutes this a.m. because I slept in. I will have to wait till tomorrow to move it 30 minutes back to where it should be, correct? Or can I move it forward PM?

Example:
His shots were at 6/6.
Last night's shot was at 6 PM.
This morning's shot was at 6:30 AM.
Tonight's shot? (6:30 or can I go back to 6:00 PM?)
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 +4 91 +5 107 +6 119 ? shot

glad you asked. :smile:

I was looking at Gobbles' spreadsheet and thinking "what would I do if Gobbles was my cat and I could stay home with him and be a little flexible with times?"

What I would do today would be get a test at +10 and +11 (or at least +11). If he is rising significantly between +10 and +11, then SHOOOOOOOOOOOT!

Reason I say that is because I'm looking at his last green on 2/14. He was 100 at +8, but zoomed to 338 in the next 4 hours, then kept going up from there. There should be a point today at which he starts to go up fast, and if you can catch that and get the insulin in at that time, it might help keep the bounce from going as high. So if he is already yellow or pink at +11, there should be no problem shooting early and it might even help.

You could even shoot at +10 if you want to and if he is already zooming up, but that would put you even earlier than your usual shot time.
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 +4 91 +5 107 +6 119 ? shot

ditto to what libby said!

you and i have talked about this before. if you can catch the rise.......... shoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooot!

caveat: don't shoot early before +10. shooting a full dose before +10 often leads to too much overlap which may show up a couple cycles later.
there are exceptions to this, but those exceptions are rare and do not apply to gobbles at this time.
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 +4 91 +5 107 +6 119 ? shot

Libby and Lucy said:
glad you asked. :smile:

I was looking at Gobbles' spreadsheet and thinking "what would I do if Gobbles was my cat and I could stay home with him and be a little flexible with times?"

What I would do today would be get a test at +10 and +11 (or at least +11). If he is rising significantly between +10 and +11, then SHOOOOOOOOOOOT!

Reason I say that is because I'm looking at his last green on 2/14. He was 100 at +8, but zoomed to 338 in the next 4 hours, then kept going up from there. There should be a point today at which he starts to go up fast, and if you can catch that and get the insulin in at that time, it might help keep the bounce from going as high. So if he is already yellow or pink at +11, there should be no problem shooting early and it might even help.

You could even shoot at +10 if you want to and if he is already zooming up, but that would put you even earlier than your usual shot time.
I just tested him at +9.5. He is 388 !!! He has risen significantly.Husband & I have a dinner date. I was going to leave now, but, I agree about shooting early. I can shoot at +10 or even +10.5. How's that sound?
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 +4 91 +5 107 +6 119 ? shot

Jill & Alex said:
ditto to what libby said!

you and i have talked about this before. if you can catch the rise.......... shoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooot!

caveat: don't shoot early before +10. shooting a full dose before +10 often leads to too much overlap which may show up a couple cycles later.
there are exceptions to this, but those exceptions are rare and do not apply to gobbles at this time.
Just shoot at +10 then (will be 4:30 pm est here)? I can easily then, be up by 4:30 for AM shot....
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 +4 91 +5 107 +6 119 +9.5 38

+10 works for me, if you're ok with 4:30am. We can work on getting that moved later, but it probably will help if you can get insulin in early today. It's worth a try!
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 +4 91 +5 107 +6 119 +9.5 38

On my way to dinner date w/DH....when should I check him? (in case you didn't hear the gun go off--I shot at +10)!!!
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles AMPS 221 +2 110 +4 91 +5 107 +6 119 +9.5 38

nice shooting. :mrgreen: I hope you enjoy your dinner and that Gobbles decides to make short work of this bounce.
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles PMPS 402 (shot 2 hours early!!!)

Would it be wrong for me to assume that, if I catch him rising again, say +10 or +11, in the future--then it's okay to shoot early?
Say for example, tomorrow at AM+9.5 he's at 300 and AM+11 he's at 350 - ???okay to shoot???
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles PMPS 402 (shot 2 hours early!!!)

Had a wonderful dinner with my awesome husband (and best dadabean in the world)! Probably ate too much, but that's what treadmills are for....
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles PMPS 402 (shot 2 hours early!!!)

I thought treadmills were to attract dust to keep the rest of the basement clean.. learn something every day ;-)

Glad Gobbles allowed a dinner out :-D
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles PMPS 402 (shot 2 hours early!!!)

Bruce & Simon said:
I thought treadmills were to attract dust to keep the rest of the basement clean.. learn something every day ;-)
haha_smiley -- I have to use the treadmill just long enough to justify the cost of it!
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles PMPS 402 (shot 2 hours early!!!)

for now, I wouldn't recommend shooting +10 in back-to-back cycles. That can create a lot of overlap. We have had people use that technique with great success, but it's an advanced technique, requires round-the-clock monitoring, and isn't necessary for Gobbles at this time. He clears his bounces fairly quickly sometimes, and that might get you into trouble. So, +10 back-to-back, no.

Jill might have a different opinion, but for right now I would say that you probably want to reserve +10 shots for times when he is clearly bouncing off of a green or blue number, and only in the first cycle of the bounce. So today was obvious, he went from green to blue to pink very quickly, so you might as well shoot. Same with 2/14, 2/11, and 2/6 - that is a repeatable pattern for him and one you should be able to identify pretty easily.

With regards to shooting at +11 in other cycles, I'll say this: for Gobbles, as long as your schedule permits, a +11 every now and then when he is clearly rising probably is fine. A caveat, though - he has tricked us a couple of times. He has occasionally done the thing we call "high before a break," where he throws a random high number just before taking a dive. If you see a weird high number that isn't a bounce and doesn't make sense, I would resist the temptation to shoot early. It probably means he has something up his sleeve. :lol:

For others reading this thread: This post is meant for Gobbles only! Your circumstances may vary. A lot of Lantus cats have what we used to call a "double dip" at +12. They might look like they are heading up after nadir, but then will dip back down again before PS. Unless you are SURE your cat does not do this, don't shoot an hour early without asking for advice first! Kat has a lot of +10 and +11 spot checks and Gobbles has very rarely dropped after +10 (and then it is usually when a bounce was clearing). Be safe, and if you're not sure, ask. End of Public Service Announcement. ;-)
 
Re: 2/20 Gobbles PMPS 402 (shot 2 hours early!!!)

Libby and Lucy said:
for now, I wouldn't recommend shooting +10 in back-to-back cycles. That can create a lot of overlap. We have had people use that technique with great success, but it's an advanced technique, requires round-the-clock monitoring, and isn't necessary for Gobbles at this time. He clears his bounces fairly quickly sometimes, and that might get you into trouble. So, +10 back-to-back, no.

Jill might have a different opinion, but for right now I would say that you probably want to reserve +10 shots for times when he is clearly bouncing off of a green or blue number, and only in the first cycle of the bounce. So today was obvious, he went from green to blue to pink very quickly, so you might as well shoot. Same with 2/14, 2/11, and 2/6 - that is a repeatable pattern for him and one you should be able to identify pretty easily.

With regards to shooting at +11 in other cycles, I'll say this: for Gobbles, as long as your schedule permits, a +11 every now and then when he is clearly rising probably is fine. A caveat, though - he has tricked us a couple of times. He has occasionally done the thing we call "high before a break," where he throws a random high number just before taking a dive. If you see a weird high number that isn't a bounce and doesn't make sense, I would resist the temptation to shoot early. It probably means he has something up his sleeve. :lol:

For others reading this thread: This post is meant for Gobbles only! Your circumstances may vary. A lot of Lantus cats have what we used to call a "double dip" at +12. They might look like they are heading up after nadir, but then will dip back down again before PS. Unless you are SURE your cat does not do this, don't shoot an hour early without asking for advice first! Kat has a lot of +10 and +11 spot checks and Gobbles has very rarely dropped after +10 (and then it is usually when a bounce was clearing). Be safe, and if you're not sure, ask. End of Public Service Announcement. ;-)
You answered my question & thank you for all the information. And your PSA was a good idea! I'd hate for someone to follow suit, without advice, and end up in trouble with their cat.

I looked over 2/14, 11 & 6 and see the pattern. I'm so glad I have history on him~it sure does help. And I'm so blessed and thankful for all the education, help and training I'm so graciously receiving. And oh, the wonderful friends I made.

With regard to an occasional +11--I'm going to think that through a little. Last night (well this morning), I got up to give him his 4:30 a.m. shot and we'll see how that goes (as far as me getting up). Testing in the middle of the night; I can do that in the dark, practically asleep!! As far as giving him his shot--I had to allow my eyes to awake, put in one contact to measure the dose (I measured, and re-measured, and re-measured) and make sure I didn't give him a fur shot. All went well. I'll keep my eyes out for a weird number, before I would shoot +11, as he can be real trixster when he's looking for something to do...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top