2/19 Muffin pmps 214

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

2/18 Recap:
amps 88 shot 1 drop
+2.5 92
pmbg 87 skipped shot due to time constraints


Good Morning LL! Yesterday was Alette's birthday, so the day was taken up with preparation and celebration! Oh, and taking Cleetus to the vet right at dinner time, which really threw off the rest of the evening. More on that later. Muffin had lovely numbers yesterday - the few that I got. The other family members ended up not making it over, so it was not stressful for Muffin after all. DD took the girls to a late afternoon movie, and because of that and the vet trip, dinner wasn't served until 730pm and then we had cake and presents...and shot time was overlooked. :oops: So it was 830 before I knew it, we were all exhausted, and Muffin gave me a lovely 87, so I decided to skip the shot, thinking that was backing up shot time too much. This morning we all overslept and had a mad rush to get Alette to school on time with her cupcakes and party bags...so once again, it was 830 this morning before I could get to Muffin. Could've shot last night after all. In the mayhem this morning, Muffin treated herself to hash browns with ketchup... ohmygod_smile thus the ugly amps, but at least I know where it's coming from. After skipping last night, I had wanted to just start a trial, but 287 is no way to start off! :lol: So I'll give it a couple more days and if she goes right back to those gorgeous numbers, I'm going to see how she does on her own. I honestly feel she's ready and that many of those wonkier numbers she's thrown occasionally are more due to stress than needing insulin.

So Cleetus has been a bit off at times for the last few days. He's been sleeping in places he doesn't normally even lay - like in the garage, and out in the open. He usually sleeps on a bed or the cat tree, not places like the garage or on the car. Yesterday I noticed he was drooling quite a bit, and although sometimes he's been eating a good meal, other times he only takes a few bites. So DS and I took him in yesterday. Dr thinks GI upset, although he did hear a slight wheezing sound in his lungs. He gave a famotidine injection and prescribed carafate. I gave carafate when we got home, and fed him about a half hour later, and he ate the whole can, then went to the top of the cat tree and went to sleep. I wouldn't really describe his behavior as lethargic, he just has seemed tired. This morning he seemed to be feeling better - ate 2 breffis' before I could even get carafate into him, was playing in the cubes, got up into the rafters in the garage (one of his favorite things to do :lol: ) But he's still drooling everywhere. I haven't seen a big string of it hanging off his face, like I did yesterday, but I can sure tell where he's been in the house. He sits down for a few minutes and there are drops on the floor at his feet. I gave him carafate about an hour ago, and called to update the vet. I'll watch him for a little while longer, and if he's still drooling, we're going back. Dr said if he doesnt' improve he'll run BW. He also said to watch for rapid or shallow breathing, and if I see that he'll do a chest xray. I haven't noticed any of that yet.
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband!

Muffin treated herself to hash browns with ketchup...
and who wouldn't? :lol:
Hope Cleetus clears up OK, and Miss Muffin settles down enough to get that trial started! :thumbup
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband!

Hi guys .. oh boy, lucky muffin! I love hasbrowns and ketchup too! :lol: Good luck with the trial when you start it .. very exciting for sure! I hope that Cleetus starts feeling better soon and that no more vetty visits are needed .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband! +5 133 Feeling bad

I'm afraid there may be more at work here than just hash browns. Cleetus kept drooling even after the carafate, so I called the vet to see if he thought I should bring him back, and he said yes. He checked his mouth really well again, and says teeth are fine - tiny bit of tarter on the back couple, but just minor. Checked tongue and everything, and sees no ulcerations or anything abnormal. So we ran BW and he gave an injection of atropine to try to stop the drooling while we await lab results. Still hears the very minor lung sounds, but temp is normal, breathing is normal (outside of the vet), he's not gagging, coughing or sneezing, we can pretty much rule out foreign object...He said to keep giving the carafate and add pepcid SID or BID, whichever I feel is necessary. He'll be at Disneyland tomorrow and the next day, so we will be hearing from the other Dr who covers his days off. When we got home, I couldn't find Muffin for her test. Finally found her in a kitchen cabinet. She doesn't seem to be feeling well at all. I had to drag her out and after the test she slunk off to the back corner of the pantry. So I will be keeping an eye on her as well. I hope it's just the hash browns not sitting well, or we'll be back at the vet tomorrow. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband! +5 133 Feeling bad

Oh dear! Healing vines to Cleetus and Muffin. What's up with you kitties? Your aunties do not like to see you feeling poorly. Healing vines coming to you. I have to admit that hash browns is not what I thought when I saw "contraband". :roll: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband! +5 133 Feeling bad

Oh no Anne....sending tons of vines to find what's wrong with both Muffin and Cleetus, and get them cleared up quickly.
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband! +5 133 Feeling bad

I hope Muffin starts feeling better and gets back to those nice greens. Sending healing vines for her and Cleetus. I hope the bloodwork helps the vet figure out what is going on and how to treat it. Anne I hope you are feeling better.
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband! +5 133 Feeling bad

I hope both of your kitties start feeling better. Maybe this will convince Muffin that ketchup isn't good for kitties.
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband! +5 133 Feeling bad

Anne, that was quite the day you had yesterday and today was just as "exciting". Sending vines to both Cleetus and Muffin. I hope that both of them will be feeling better by tomorrow so that you don't have to go back to the vetty.
It's a good idea to let things settle down before starting Muffin's trial.

Sending you good vibes for the evening,

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband! +5 133 Feeling bad

Prayers and feel better vines for both of them...
.... Hope they feel better when you wake up tomorrow...
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband! +5 133 Feeling bad

Oh, Muffin....hash browns and Katsup..hopefully you have figured out that this is not a good combination for kitties!

I hope both Cleetus and Muffin feel better soon. Spot was feeling a little icky yesterday and today he is back to normal. I think that sometimes they just feel a little blah. Seems Spot goes through this every couple of months and it ususally takes a day for it to run it's course.
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband! +5 133 Feeling bad

Oh, Anne, what a day you've had! I hope Muffin and Cleetus feel better very soon.
Sending many vines!

~Josie
 
Muffin seems to be feeling somewhat better. At +7 she came out of hiding for some lovies and asked for a snack. I gave her one, but she didn't eat it, at least not for a couple of hours. I really wasn't expecting a yellow pmps. The girls are running around here like crazy people this evening, so I suspect that's part of it, but only part. Made sure the kitchen is free of contraband, and I'll just have to see what tomorrow brings. If the numbers don't come down tomorrow, I'll probably make an appt for Thursday.

Cleetus napped for several hours after we got home from the vet, and got up around 4pm. His chin and mane were dry, and so was the spot where he was sleeping, so the atropine worked. However, it wore off, and the drooling began again around 7pm. I don't know where he is at the moment, but when the girls go to bed (which they should have already) I'll track him down.
 
((((Anne)))). You are such a trooper! It's always something and I hope you are feeling better.

Also hope Muffin is ok. I'm ashamed to say I laughed when you said hash browns and ketchup :oops:

I thought it was a little odd your vet gave him carafate. That's an anti ulcer med. I hope Cleetus feels better soon and they find out why he is drooling.

Major healing vines coming for your household.
 
Re: 2/19 Muffin amps 287 Contraband! +5 133 Feeling bad

I hope it's just the hash brown and ketchup working it's way out of her system. Healing vines to both of your kits.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top