2/18 Ripley PMPS 348, enema

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday.

Yesterday recap:
AMPS 239 (2.25 oz. Cowboy cookout, vomited at +1)
+2 346
+7 347
PMPS 362 (dose increase to 1.25u) (2.25 oz Wellness Turkey, .25 oz. Cowboy Cookout)
+3 292
+6.25 151

With the exception of a day of pinks (maybe due to vomiting her b'fast??), her evening last night was similar (numbers-wise) to the 3 previous evenings.

She has a vetty appt. this afternoon, at +9.
It was supposed to be a quick check-up so that the vet can write out a prescription for fluids for her CKD treatment (rather than having to buy the bags from him); but I think I'm going to request that some blood work be done, and maybe request a spec fPL test? To test for possible pancreatitis. I'm hoping for an explanation for her higher numbers lately...

Ripley's doing well this morning, though she's only slightly interested in her breakfast. The crushed freeze-dried shrimp is helping a little.

I wish everyone a good day in LL!
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242

Hi guys .. good luck at the vetty's today .. I hope it isn't too stressful for ripley .. sending good appy thoughts her way .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242

Morning Josie ~O)

Good luck with the vetty (maybe call ahead, Ripley might need to fast for b/w?)
Hope you can get some answers for the higher #s.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242

Morning Josie, sending some feel better and appy vines for Josie. Good luck vines at the Vetty, too. Are you able to get a good deal for the fluids at a Walgreens? Have a nice day.
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242

Hi Josie. Glad Ripley is doing good and hope her appetite increases. Fingers crossed for a good vet report this afternoon and you can convince the vet to do the BW you want done.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242

Morning Josie. Sending good vetty vines for Ripley this afternoon. Bruce brings up a good point about the fasting. My vet never had Muffin fast for the specfPL, until I learned here on the board that it should be fasted. So I asked him about it, he called the lab, and since then, he's been having her fast for those. I hope Ripley feels better soon and starts eating better.
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242

Good luck at the vet's today. I know that you just did an increase yesterday, I think. Hoping that the new dose helps to bring her #s down lower. Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242

Hi Josie

Her higher numbers are bothering me, too.

BTW, did you know the injection he gave her was Convenia? We generally recommend against it because once it is in, you can't get it out. And it is primarily for skin infections. When it first came out, Gracie was given a shot of it and within five minutes, went into anaphylactic shock while I was driving. It was the scariest moment ever but I managed to get her right back to the clinic. A friend of mine also got it and he had an allergic rxn to it that ran the full course of the A/B. It was more along the lines of rash/discomfort rather than Gracie's rxn. So I'd advise you tell the vet to record in her records that she get no more Convenia and Cefovecin. You might want to read Dr. Lisa's information about http://www.catinfo.org/?link=convenia]Convenia/url]. I am glad you are going to have bw done because they can recheck her HCT and HGB to make sure the convenia isn't causing an anemia problem. But it could be causing her tummy upset.
 
2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348

Thank you so much for the visits, all!

I just called the vet's office to inquire about the specfPL test ~ they do use it there, but said there's no fasting necessary :roll: . Ripley just ate a few more bites of her breffis, and her appt. is 5-6 hrs. from now. I won't give her any more food between now and then, just in case her vet does perform the test.

She is acting very normal today (aside from not wanting to finish her breakfast).
I went BTB, and she snuggled with me without my having to bring her over from her rocking chair ~ she hasn't snuggled with me on her own accord in quite some time. We had a nice little nap, then she snacked, and is now sleeping on he rocking chair. When I feel/press on her body (abdomen, etc.) she doesn't show signs of discomfort.

Marje -- I feel sick. When the vet showed me a list of possible antibiotics to switch to (from the sweetened Clavamox), I scanned for "Covenia" (the name stuck with me from reading Dr. Lisa's site and other mentions of it on FDMB) and didn't see it. He crossed out ABs based on their possible negative effects on kidneys, and narrowed it down to Cefovexin. When I asked about side effects to look for, he said that it's a very safe AB, and he's had much success with it. Just now I read though it's a 14-day AB, it can actually stay in the system for 65 days. I hope I didn't make a huge mistake by okaying the shot. Ripley started showing more pinks after the shot (definitely 5 days later, but maybe before then ~ not much daytime testing was done while I was away). I would rather have stayed w/Clavamox and at least know why her numbers have been elevated.

I'll hopefully know more later today.
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348

Josie

Gracie is on clavamox tabs right now and it's hard to tell if that is what is causing her BG to be up or not. The tabs do not have any sugar, syrup, etc. so it could be something else. If you ever use the clavamox again, just be sure you get the tabs.

When Gracie had her specfPL, my vet called Texas A&M Univ since she does not use IDEXX. TAMU said absolutely needed a six hour fast for a diabetic cat. I called IDEXX and the vet there told me 12 hour fast. But I read somewhere that "fasting is preferred".. I can only tell you that I did once have Gracie tested with that test without fasting and the results were absurdly high. The U/S indicated no issues. We ran the test again, fasting, and it was normal.
 
2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348

Thank you, Marje. Based on that, I'll just have the normal BW done today, then see about doing the spec on a different day.
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348

Most vets say it doesn't matter whether you fast it or not. And in some cats, it might not. But I'd hate for you to spend the money and not get as accurate a test as possible.
 
2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348, +6 350

I wholeheartedly agree, Marje. There's no point in doing a test if the validity of the results will be questioned.

I'm wondering if it is her anemia (she isn't really showing many symptoms of pancreatitis, unless there are varying levels of severity). From what I've been reading, anemia is one of the poss. results of a negative Convenia reaction; and she's already been diagnosed with anemia, so perhaps it's more severe now.

I think my patience pants must be at the dry cleaners or something ~ not feeling very patient right now.
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348, +6 350

Hi Josie - I just wanted to wish you a good vetty visit, and better times for Ripley. I hope she feels better soon.

Been there with the convenia... yes on the 14 days, have heard that too on the 65. Mannie was given that once long ago before I knew better, and had no adverse reactions too it. no tummy upset, no raised BG's, anemia, etc. I still don't recommend the drug, but just wnated you to now that all may be well with Ripley in that regard. Clav for me can go either way, as far as the tummy upset, etc. Mannie had that several times, seemed to tolerate the liquid OK, we tried the pills last time and he did not do well on those at all: upset tummy, liquid poo, etc. anywyas... not too sure how helpful all that is. ;-) Good luck with everything. I wish you guys well.
 
2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348, +6 350, vet, enema

Hi, Michelle -- Thank you for the info. It's quite reassuring.

We just got back from the vet -- drew blood, will get results tomorrow. He was reluctant to do B/W because he felt that the last test (1/24) was good enough. I talked him into it, though.
But, he did check for constipation, and sure enough she is. :sad:
Though she went poo last night, she's backed up. So she just had a home enema, and I'm sitting in the bathroom with her and my phone, waiting. So far, only drooling. (The last home enema, which was also the first one, produced poo almost immediately. I'll have to look into whether another administration is necessary/ok...)

I wonder if constipation is the reason for her lack of appy, energy, and higher numbers.

The vet suggested I increase her Lantus to 1.5 tonight, but I'm hesitant. If she gets 'cleared out' I don't want her numbers to plummet (esp. since it's back to work tomorrow).

Also, I asked him about the risks of Convenia -- he acknowledged the risks, as with any drug; but he said the controversy is primarily promoted online. Hmmmmm.
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348, +6 350, vet, enema

I hope the BW results come back fine and you get the results you are seeking in the bathroom.

I would not increase her dose again, until you have had a chance to see how 1.25 is doing. It can take 3 days or more to see how a dose is doing. I would give this dose a chance.
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348, +6 350, vet, enema

Thank you, Dyana ~~ I agree. I'm going to keep following the protocol.

...and I'm going to keep thinking positive poo thoughts ;-)
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348, +6 350, vet, enema

Has she been constipated before? I'm just asking because J.D. had some constipation while on buprenex and some baby food squash made him all regular again (thank you Marje).
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348, +6 350, vet, enema

She was constipated last month; we did our first home enema on 1/28. Since then, she's been getting 1/8t. Miralax twice a day. Vet wants that upped to 1/4t. I'm also going to start adding baby food (beechnut squash) to her food (another 'thank you' to Marje!).

Looks like I should place another order for Petema, just in case.
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348, +6 350, vet, enema

Ripley may be feeling a bit punk due to the constipation. I can easily see how her appetite being off, higher numbers, etc. could be a result of being backed up. The squash is also a good idea.
 
Re: 2/18 Ripley AMPS 242, +3 348, +6 350, vet, enema

Just stopping in to send some poo vines your way! I hope Miss Ripley is feeling better ASAP...
 
Hi, Sienne -- I added squash to her meal tonight. She really liked it, but not eating much else.

Hi, Amy -- Thanks for the poo vines. We really need them tonight.

So, we gave Ripley an enema, and nothing came out. Per the instructions on the Pet-ema, it can be re-administered after an hour. We waited an hour and a half, then did enema #2. (Only a little more than half of the pre-filled 6ml syringe actually got in, due to her squirminess.)

Still nothing.
I guess she might be impacted. Does that mean vet intervention?

I hope she's able to go poo sometime tonight.

Poor girl -- between not feeling well, a vet visit, blood-draw, 2 enemas, and fluids later on tonight -- I'd say she deserves a vacation. Or many freeze dried shrimp.
 
Sending smooth poo poo vine to Ripley! Poor thing, let him relax a bit for the night, maybe he'll give pressie early next morning.
 
For what it's worth, Kazi has had Covenia before with no adverse side effects. I okayed it for her because she stops eating on every other oral antibiotic we've tried. Hopefully Ripley is just feeling blah from being constipated and will feel better once everything clears out!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top