2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54 +1 58 +2 56 +3 61 +5 49 +6 49 +8 43 +9 56

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous condo

Tiggy has a ton of energy, he was meowing with his toy last night and again this morning. He is still green right now but I suspect its a slow bounce into blue in the next few hours.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99

Way to go, Tiggy!!!! What a beautiful amps!!!! Hope you all enjoy your Sunday and continue to surf the greens (and maybe a few blues...if you must.) :razz:
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40!!

Great surf! :mrgreen:

Guess you have to be ready in case he wants another reduction. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40!!

Do you think? Should I hold the dose or reduce? he was dead on 40 and he was hungry so I fed him and he went to 68... He may have been lower at +6...
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40!!

Wendy&Tiggy said:
at 40 I am thinking he gets a reduction anyway.
It's close. @-)

But also close to the last reduction, could still be some depot effect.

And it looks like the reduction after his last even 40 on 1/7 didn't really hold?

39 would technically be a mandatory reduction, so hard to say for sure.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40!!

ok I will hold it. I want to keep momentum. If he likes this dose I am sure he will do it again
thanks Dale.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40!!

I think only one reduction every 7 days is a good rule for staying on track.

All these lovely greens are great for him. :mrgreen:

If that was 20's that would be an instant reduction.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40!!

Wow, nice run on the numbers! Hope you've had a great day and have a nice evening Wendy.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40 +8 68 +9 54

WEIRDNESS!!!! his +9 is lower than his +8. Thats an hour after food. I know people will say "Thats meter variance" but i have never seen that.. when he goes up by even 5, he is starting an upward trend. and when he goes down by 5 its the start of a downward trend.

Maybe his pancreas is working today?! I hope so.. I am in a really sad mood today, one of my two pet rabbits is really sick and I suspect we are reaching end days.. I hope not but its not looking good. So Tiggy being in good numbers cheers me up a bit.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40 +8 68 +9 54

Re: lower +9 than +8: Gobby's the same way today..... Oh, Is it odd for him to yowl and lay with Bailey on the sofa? So sorry to hear about bunny :sad:
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40 +8 68 +9 54

Lying on the sofa close to Bailey is odd. We have had Bailey a year and Bailey totally wants to be close pals but Tiggy has been uncomfortable with that. But today they were close on the sofa.

The yowling with a toy usually happens at 5am - not during the day. Its nice to see.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40 +8 68 +9 54

Nice numbers today for Tiggy. What food did you feed at that +7? With Neko I notice any HC wears off after 2 hours and she can do down again, even if it's late in the cycle.

Another thing to keep in mind when you are looking at whether or not to take a reduction is the size of the dose. A higher dose has a larger shed which will hang around longer. On the other hand, if he really wants a reduction, you'll have to stay vigilant longer. When Neko was at 7 units, we were doing 1/2 unit reductions, which the protocol allows. But this was after SRT so different reasons for needing less insulin. As usual, ECID.

Sorry to hear about your rabbits. It looks like they've had quite a long life for pet rabbits.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40 +8 68 +9 54

Wendy&Tiggy said:
WEIRDNESS!!!! his +9 is lower than his +8. Thats an hour after food. I know people will say "Thats meter variance" but i have never seen that.. when he goes up by even 5, he is starting an upward trend. and when he goes down by 5 its the start of a downward trend.

Maybe his pancreas is working today?!
Could be, when carbs make them go down that can be a sign of sputtering pancreas.

Could also be the food bump wearing off in the face of good insulin action. I see that all the time with Chip.

When I see a cat on Lantus go all green like that (for an extended period) it usually only means one thing. :mrgreen:

On the other hand when a cat on Levemir does that, it just means a good Levemir curve and (apparently) seldom anything else.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40 +8 68 +9 54

Dale 'n' Chip said:
when carbs make them go down that can be a sign of sputtering pancreas.
Just curious as to what this means?Gobbles numbers have been sloping all day
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40 +8 68 +9 54

TheBowHuntress said:
Dale 'n' Chip said:
when carbs make them go down that can be a sign of sputtering pancreas.
Just curious as to what this means?Gobbles numbers have been sloping all day
That's not the first thing I suspect when I see that, frequently it seems to be the result of good Lantus action pushing back on the food spike.

Looks like Gobbles is getting good nadirs. I'd stick with Sienne and Dyana's timetable for increasing.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMBG 49- stalling

Since he ate nothing for two hours, that is likely great Lantus action keeping up the tight surf.

I bet he wants the decrease.

If it goes as well as the last one earned the same way, you can hardly do better? :mrgreen:

ETA: If I shot the full 7, I'd want to monitor all night.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMBG 49- stalling

He got LC at +7.. Fancy feast pâtés.

Bonnie just turned 12(ish we adopted her as an adult and guessed her age, she is at least 11) so she is a good age bunny.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMBG 49- stalling

Normally you don't do both.

If he is over 50 and headed up, and you shoot 7, I would monitor his nadir this cycle.

Actually I would monitor no matter what. :smile:
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy AMPS 99 +2 95 +7 40 +8 68 +9 54

Wendy&Neko said:
Another thing to keep in mind when you are looking at whether or not to take a reduction is the size of the dose. A higher dose has a larger shed which will hang around longer. On the other hand, if he really wants a reduction, you'll have to stay vigilant longer.
Wendy has an important point. 7 unit depots take longer to drain than smaller ones. With as low as Tiggy surfed today, and still being low at PMPS, you might want to consider skipping a shot to be sure the depot has drained, then resuming in the morning. I had to do that a few times with Jazzy to prevent her from earning reductions she didn't really need.

The other thing that is on my mind is that we don't really know how low Tiggy went last night. The closest thing I see in a PM cycle on his SS is 1/7, when he kept dropping until fairly late in the cycle. This morning's cycle is similar too, and he hit 40s fairly late. He might have been low last night. And IF he was low last night, he hasn't bounced. That seems like a good thing, but it might mean his pancreas is kicking in OR the extended duration might mean that he is suddenly over dose (which can happen easily if he is acro or IAA). If you shoot tonight, you'll want to plan to monitor until at least +6 or until he bounces.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54

Crap, I just shot. Ok I will break out the coffee. Got lots of strips, syrup and HC so I should be fine. Emergency vet is open 24/7 and is 15minute drive. Tiggy loves the HC so he will be very happy about this.

Wendy
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54

What a great dilemma to have... I'm jealous. ;-)

You know what you are doing. Get your +1 and +2.

And of course if he doesn't bounce big, the HC does wear off so you still need to monitor past nadir, if you steer him up only a bit.

Hey at least he shouldn't lose momentum. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54

He hasn't had HC yet so I am ok. I am expecting a huge big pink bounce any minute. Maybe he will surprise me.

Not 100% I understand what Libby and the other Wendy are saying, I think it's that I don't reduce the dose because he has such a big depot so his low now could be from his previous dose. But when do I reduce it then? Only one reduction a week like dale said?
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54

I suspect that is what they mean about the larger depot, you don't want back to back reductions too close together.

You could ask for clarification in the title to be sure?
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54

let's see what he does tonight. If he continues to surf low for hours, or if he drops low again in this cycle, then I would assume he is over dose and reduce. Otherwise he might be ok to stay on this dose.

With bigger doses, I do tend to err on the side of caution because that depot makes it take longer for changes to take effect.
I wouldn't say once a week. If they start getting multiple reductions then sometimes we'll want to try to slow them down by either skipping shots or taking larger reductions. When Jazzy was on a higher dose, I found that I could sometimes get away with skipping a shot AND reducing the dose. ECID.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54

Sorry about your rabbit Wendy.
Whatever you decide on the dose adjustment for Tiggy, good luck! That suring along the 50's range is nice.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54 +1 58 +2 56 +3 61

Tiggy is keeping you pretty busy tonight, but is still looking great! When I was first racing down the dosing scale I didn't have any rule of thumb about how long things would take, but generally noted that the effect of the previous shed could last up to 6 cycles. What was important for me was how easy it was to keep Neko in safe numbers. If I was having to use a lot of HC to keep her up, then I considered that a request for a deduction. Sometimes I did two deductions in a week.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54 +1 58 +2 56 +3 61 +5 49 +6 49 +8 43 +

Did he ever.. He surfed the green all night. I never needed the HC though. He is a free feeder so he munched LC where he needed but I gave him some encouragement at +8 which probably explains the +9..

Guessing he earned his dose decrease from what Libby said.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54 +1 58 +2 56 +3 61 +5 49 +6 49 +8 43 +

Yeah Tig! flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54 +1 58 +2 56 +3 61 +5 49 +6 49 +8 43 +

I guess so. Gorgeous surf. :mrgreen:

I'd do exactly what Libby did to get Lucy from her *higher* dose to OTJ.

Even if Lucy did routinely go below 40 and regularly get plenty of HC.

I suspect Tiggy earned this reduction.
 
Re: 2/17 Tiggy PMPS 54 +1 58 +2 56 +3 61 +5 49 +6 49 +8 43 +

good luck with the reduction!

FYI, I was comparing Tiggy more to Jazzy than to Lucy. Jazzy didn't quite go OTJ, but she went from a pretty high dose to a low one. I couldn't use the protocol with her on the way down from a high dose (reducing 0.25u at a time for under 40/50) because it wasn't safe. Once she got down to a lower dose I did start doing things more by the protocol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top