2/6 Michelangelo AMPS 219 +6/147 - Dose increase hold?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

Last night: PMPS +6 was 43!

I'm still using the Micro, which tests lower on low numbers than I think might be reality. Even still, I held off this morning on increasing him to the 2u because I'm not going to be able to make it home today to test him till his PMPS. :sad:

Should I have decreased him or was I right on keeping him at 1.88u? Should I have gone for the increase anyway? nailbite_smile He keeps throwing me for these loops. Damnit Mikey, stop being so contrary!
 
I don't know how, but I somehow managed to get home and test him and run the errands I needed to at lunch. He's not too low, but that might be in part because I plied him with a full can of FF for breakfast, left out another half can of FF, and also had the timer on their food set for his +5 with another full can of FF. (Paranoid? YES!) When I got home, he had finished off what I had left out plus half of what was in the timed compartments, so I'm figuring he's already had close to 2 cans of FF today before I tested him (more than he now normally eats by that time).
 
That 43 earned him a dose reduction. If you don't want to take the full 0.25 reduction, you can try to shave his dose back to the 1.75.
 
I know that the 43 generally means a reduction, but he's still stabilizing from his last growth spurt and I've learned my lesson about three times now that he does not do well with dose decreases, especially when he's still putting on weight (see the fiasco that happened around the middle of December). The last few days, he's been weighing on the heavy side of ~10.5 pounds and running higher numbers (hence the reason the suggested increase to 2u yesterday). Last night, he was around 10.2 pounds (normal daily weight fluctuation for him), which I have a feeling is why he went so low.

If I decrease him and he starts running higher (depending on how much higher) instead of bringing him back to this dose (1.88), could I bring him straight up to the 2u? The only reason I'm hesitant to decrease is that it takes a long, long, long while (like 2 weeks) to get him back on track.

Or maybe he's just going to start needing less insulin now that he's eating less?
 
Dont have an answer to your dose question. Whatever your decision, kitty is looking great! That appy is really nice to have!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top