2/5 Tiggy AMPS 122 +5 81 +8 155 PMPS 288 dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous condo

Dh was managing today and unfortunately panicked when he saw the +5 and gave HC. We will see how high Tiggy is tonite I guess.

I am wondering if I should be increasing by 1/2 unit every 6 cycles instead of the 10? He is on such a high dose now and I want to keep up the momentum. 1/2 a unit every 10 cycles seems to be a such a small increase and delay especially if he isnt that low by cycle 6.... With 6.5 units it was almost like he flattened into yellow by cycle 8 and I dont want him getting glucose toxicity...

what do you think?
 
Re: 2/5 Tiggy AMPS 122 +5 81 +8 155 dose increase?

I sent Libby a note asking her to stop by.

I'd be more comfortable making a suggestion if we knew one way or the other if Tiggy was a high dose cat. I think you will have to monitor carefully if you opt to increase more aggressively.
 
Little pain in the BXXX fought me tonite and I squirted most of it all over my hand. maybe 2 units got in. Fur shot. drat.
 
hi Wendy, I'm looking at Tiggy's SS. I say sure, if you have identified a pattern with your cat and have an idea to fix it, then give it a try. I think you're right that you don't need to hold Tiggy's doses for 10 cycles. 6-8 cycles is probably good, depending on the numbers he is getting. For now, 0.5u increases are probably ok. Because he does get 50s sometimes, be alert because you don't want him to start getting too low.

One thing to keep in mind as his doses get larger is that his depot is also getting larger. That is good and bad - it can mean that little mess-ups (like a partial fur shot) don't hurt him as much as they would if he was on a smaller dose. It can also mean that if you actually want to slow things down, it's harder to do that. For example, if he starts getting low numbers and you decide to skip or reduce the dose, instead of taking 1-2 cycles to see the effects of a dose reduction, it might take a couple of days. Always err on the side of caution when it comes to low numbers in a higher dose cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top