2/3 ruben +2 187 +3 147 +3.5 145 + 4.5 188 +6 205

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubenTheCat

Member Since 2013
amps 294
gonna shoot .25u and check at +3.? < not sure if you suggest +2 let me know but feeling good today. also should i give zofran today if he seems a bit better?
oh thank you marje for last night. your my gift. christmas came early this year for me and ruben
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

Go ahead and shoot that 294, and either a +2 or a +3 to start your testing today, is fine.
I would go ahead and give the Zofran this morning. I just know with my cat, he seems to eat a lot better when he has it.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

he seems to graze a few solid bites every two hours or so. but this morning he had a few healthy bites and ate a treat (freeze dried liver)
if PeTA could see me now...lol jk jk
thinking today will be an upswing from yesterday
thanks for responding, i still need someone to hold me hand, just so nervous about evrything...lol when it comes to ruben
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

Good morning, Sam!
Thanks for the visit this morning!

thinking today will be an upswing from yesterday


Yesssss!!!!! Isn't that a great feeling?
You are doing so well w/Ruben. I'm glad he's taking some bites of food.
You are a Rock Star Kitty Mama.

Best,
Josie
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

Looking good Sam:-)

Eat, Ruben, eat!

Carl
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

look at his little shaved arm...awe!! all i can do is kiss it, he's so little under all that fur. oh god he's sweet
that how he got the name ruben < he was so delishously cute i wanted to eat him up so had to name him after food
now i tend to name any animal that crosses my path after food. he started a trend
hence how maple got her name, so gd sweet had to name that lol
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

I would still give zofran and +3 should be fine. if you think he needs it a teeny tiny dose of bupe?? just to keep the edge off til we are sure he is over all his discomforts
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

got it thanks dian
so nice to know people care enough about lil ruben and me to help
thank you guys
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

Great pic, what a sweetheart Ruben is :-D

Thought I'd drop in and say Hi in a "quiet time" - you've had a really tough time of it, and you're doing so great :smile:

Thanks for stopping in to say hello to Simon, he has a shaved arm ATM too from his dental. Nice to see you "out and about" ;-)

Hope the day goes great for you & Ruben!
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

Morning Extra Sweet Ruben and Sam!

I didn't know you had Maple too! I want to see a picture of her also!

Nice numbers today, NICE to see you HANDLING THIS SO WELL SAM!!! I think you're quickly figuring out the steps to you and Ruben's sugar dance!

BIG HUG! Don't forget the HAPPY DANCES today!!!

EDIT TO ADD:
Thought I'd share pics of a couple of our fuzzy feetz (these are image LINKS to my photobucket, NOT attachments...):

Miss Sox (aka Boots)


Our Wild Baby, ZiggyBear:

Beautiful Tuxedos!
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

I would give the Zofran as prescribed for several days. I look at it this way. If nausea is interfering with Ruben's appetite, then you want a steady state of the anti-nausea drug until whatever is going on runs its course. Otherwise, if you give the Zofran based on how you think Ruben is feeling, he could be experiencing waves of nausea when the Zofran wears off.

You named your cat after a corned beef sandwich?
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

On Rye! Must have been before you became a vegan:-)
I can't talk, as my civvie, Mullet, was named after a fish (rather than a really bad hairstyle) : :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294

you guys are great
he's huvering areound the LB, he's not going in and out so confident its not a uti but seems like he wants to go in but not going
riding it out before i go into panic mode......yet again...lol
right now he's trying to open the bag of temptation treats...lol thats a good sign.
i was not a veg when i got ruben, he is the reason i became veg, my relationship with his was like no other i have experianced with an animal. i started volunterring on a farm sanctuary and relized that things i thought were "food" can have a deep connection with too. again not trying to convert, just saying how ruben and came to be us
here's a pic of maple (yes she's he cutest, but ruben is he best...lol)
also me and a rescued bb chicken, might give you insight...don't ask why i have the eye patch on my head, long story..lol
awe, love chickens there sweet little creatures
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223

+3 223
so here's my thoughts, tell me if im wrong
so good slower drop, not the best that he's in yellow but that may e cause he's eaing more which is good <right?
test again at +5 or even better +6?
leave food out still?
still no LB visit, on my lap again
better every day, but def not back to normal
patients is a virtue < marje- im with your husband :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223

That's a nice steady drop and I like your plan and I think +6 is good. I would leave food out as long as he is ill so he can eat and just be sure he is eating enough.

I think you are starting to really get the hang of this. We are here for support but it's good for you to think of what you need to do instead of us tell you. So I'm happy you are doing that. We can always chime in if we need to.

Great photos...I love tortis and tuxedos!

Have a great day and I hope Ruben makes great strides towards wellness today.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223

thnaks marje-still need validation and hand holding but trying to be more pro active and come up with the right things to do. i need to find the confidence to believe in my "gut" feeling, i guess if i think about it, my gut has been to follow the protocol here and its been right so far
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223

It helps tremendously when you have a lot of data on your cat and can better predict things... which is not to say you ever make assumptions. They love to surprise us. This 0.25U dose looks like a pretty safe place for Ruben to be for now until you feel more comfortable allowing his BGs to go lower. When he's fully recovered he will be able to give you a better picture of how much insulin he needs.

MJ
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223

what anice veiw do lou has. love his profile- so high tech...lol he fits his name- that stinkin kitten pic of his kills me
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223

I think it is great that you are able to make decide on what to do. you an always say I am thinking of doing this, this and that and if we see something wrong with that thinking we can correct and tell you why

are you able to see how far you have come in the last few days?? knowledge kind of sneaks up on ya, doesn't it.

if you think he is becoming constipated, you can always add mirilax to his food. it is tasteless and can add form 1/8-1/4 tsp BID and mix it into food and add a little water. I use the walmart brand.. equate clear LAx. right next to name brand.

can also add some regular pumpkin
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223

cant tell if he's constipated, cause he hasnt gone in, so havent seen him strain or anything, either way going to market and will pick up pumpkin jsut to be safe. he ate well just a minute ago, then back on my lap, oh he is the best, love his little body,
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223

I get the Beechnut Homestyle baby food squash. The ones I get say "Green Giant" in the front of the label in small print. Gus loves it but he would not touch the pumpkin.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223

thank you, they both work the same, right? and how much in food? and is it okay if lil maple has some?
gonna go tomorrow- no driving today for me. :-| just resting for ruben and I
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223

They work the same, yes. I put one tbsp a day in Gus's food...perfect poos especially for an old guy. I just mix it in really well with his food but see if they will eat it first without mixing it...some cats love squash. And yes, Miss Maple can have it, too.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175

+6 175
does a +9 sound ok?
still haven't seen him in the LB, unkess he went, when i got a coffee around 12:30
im not as worried about the poo yet as much as i want to get a ketone test?
continue to ride it out for a while longer, unless he's going somewhere i dont see him.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175

Nice number!
Yes, a +9 sounds okay. :smile:

I think, but I am not sure, that both bupe and zofran can cause constipation. I've never used either of them on my cats. Hopefully someone else has and can offer input as to what they've experienced. You could also ask your vet about side effects of the meds Ruben is taking?

Carl
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175

so ruben just did a nice poo and peed (which i missed ugh, cause i was peeing myself)...lol and he ate more, road to recovery hear we come.....
couldnt of done without all your prayers and vines
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175

I'm pretty sure we celebrate poo more than any place in the world :lol:
 

Attachments

  • dancing-poop.gif
    dancing-poop.gif
    1.2 KB · Views: 1,050
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175

Hi, Sam! I love the pics you posted!

And Carl's right:
I'm pretty sure we celebrate poo more than any place in the world

So true!!! (I teach 3- to 5-year-olds and there's more poo-talk here than in my classroom :lol: !)

Yay for the nice prezzie from your Rubester!
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175

J.D. was on bupe and it was making him constipated, and I added 1 tbs of baby food squash to his food and now his poops are perfect ;-) :cool:
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175

crap snoozed for a second missed +9 gonna go for +10 when he's done eating
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175 +10.5 182

+10.5 182
never shot blue b4, heck, i'm nervous shooting yellow, i hope its a stress free night like today....breath sam, its all good < inner talk...lol
also, sorry about the attachments, i new here and im kinda tech impaired. :oops: sorry. didnt mean it
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175 +10.5 182

You're fine and guess what? Looks like he's been surfing!! What an awesome day.

If he comes back down, don't panic. Lantus is known for giving second dips. That's where they go down to a nadir, come up, then go back down but not usually lower than the nadir. There really isn't any difference between 175 and 182.

How is he eating?
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175 +10.5 182

eating pretty good. ruben is a picker, eats here and there. hoping no one has to stay up w me, and i do know these #'s are good but still nervous to shoot blue especially cayse he derop fast last night, but with fdmb i can do it. breath breath...lol nailbite_smile :-D
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175 +10.5 182

crap....ah literaly, he just poo'd again good shape, lil soft, but had blood in it...ugh this is the issue i was taking him in for, for the colonoscopy. it wasn't nearly as bad as i've seen it in the past, might be the treats? been giving beef liver instead, gonna give that chicken my mom made for dinner tonight in hopes he eats something around shot time.
oh it is getting easier, but i'm easily getting shook. focus sam. :-|
 
Re: 2/3 ruben amps 294 +3 223 +6 175 +10.5 182

A couple of times, I complained to my vet that J.D. had blood on his stool and last time I brought a sample of it to him and he said not to worry about it. Hopefully, what's bothering Ruben is not to worry about too. Knock On Wood.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256

pmps 256
gonna shoot .25u and get a +2
hoping someone will be here, im good now just praying for a nice surf of blue no big drops, including my stomach. lol
focus, focus, focus manifesing good numbers
have i said today how grateful i am for all of you here
if not thank you guys, amazed at what a day can make.
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256

Sam,
Now that you've got the hang of this, if you're using the AlphaTrak to test, please put AT in your subject line at the end so we'll all remember that when looking at sweet boy's numbers. I know you got another one so not sure which you're using.

Your plan sounds good to me but I can't stay with you so will wait for others to chime in!

HUGS!
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

Sam,
I think shooting and getting a +2 is a good plan.

I can't stay up tonite. I'm working early in the morning.
Are you good?

Carl
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

it depends on my +2 i wouldnt of known to give karo last night w/o you and marje, so nervous about the +2 reading?
should i pm marje- feel bad always leaning you 2 but im nervous, i wouldnt have known last night
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

But you know now, right? If you see a fairly big drop before nadir, you "feed it".
Carl
 
Re: 2/3 ruben pmps 256 alpha trax

I'm around! But you are going to do just fine.

Stop and think about all you know. Since he's eating, if he drops fast, I'd just try the gravy and no karo and see if that works. We used the karo because he wasn't eating well but he's doing better now.

As he continues to eat well, we can try and catch those drops before they happen by feeding him more LC early in the cycle. You can even try it tonight if he's eating. You have to know how much he should be eating and then divide it up over three or four mini meals given early in the cycle....maybe at PS, +1, +2, +3. That allows you to get food in before onset and then hopefully control the dive.

You aren't alone :-D and if you just want to put AT in the subject line, that's fine and gives you more room for numbers so we can watch them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top