1/28 Michelangelo AMPS 314, +6/118 PMPS 372 - Dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

Good Monday Morning (or Afternoon) Everyone!

I was right; Michelangelo has gone and grown himself another pound. His weight right now is ~9.8 to ~10.6 pounds (vs. the 9.4 pounds he's been weighing in at for the last few weeks). His growing has definitely slowed down, making it easier on me for dosing, however he's not apparently finished growing up just quite yet!

Even though he was showing some pretty decent numbers yesterday, he's been running consistently high these last few days, making me think yesterday's numbers are from his specific daily weight being lighter than his weekly average (which I'm conservatively estimating as 10.2 pounds at the moment). Every time I've jumped the gun and bumped him up a full .25u, he earns a dose decrease again (probably from those weight fluctuations). The last time this almost happened, I decided to start sliding him up to the next dose and it seemed to work fairly well; no borderline hypos and no running at high numbers for too long. So today, I've started to increase his dose again and shot 1.88u (a "skinnier" skinny 2u) for his AMPS and will probably hold onto this dose a couple of more cycles till his weight stabilizes higher a bit. I hope it pays off again this time around.
 
Re: 1/28 Michelangelo AMPS 314, +4/231, +6/118

Woohoo! Numbers are looking good still! I don't think the new dose has taken effect yet since the depot needs to be topped off, but he's not dropping too low. Should I be worried about having increased him too fast? Should I drop him back down to 1.75u tonight and hold off the increase a bit longer?
 
Re: 1/28 Michelangelo AMPS 314, +4/231, +6/118 - Dose increa

I probably wouldn't have increased him since he had a nadir of 81 yesterday. I would have given him a couple more cycles to see if he could settle in a bit more.

You monitor him pretty closely, Kay. Now that you've increased a tad, I'd probably just leave him here and reduce him when he goes below 50. But just be vigilant.
 
Re: 1/28 Michelangelo AMPS 314, +4/231, +6/118 - Dose increa

Okay, thanks. That's what I was thinking and it makes me feel better to hear someone say it. :-D He's eaten more today than he did yesterday so if he keeps at this rate, I have a feeling tonight is going to be mostly yellows. Then again, Mikey likes to be contrary so just by me saying that, he's going to drop. :lol: If he does drop too low tonight, then I'll definitely bring him back to 1.75u tomorrow (or maybe 1.63u to clear the depot up a bit?).
 
Re: 1/28 Michelangelo AMPS 314, +4/231, +6/118 - Dose increa

Marje's point is well taken.

You do know that the bigger breed cats like Maine Coons don't stop growing for 5 years, don't you? Gizmo is a Norwegian Forest Cat -- just slightly smaller than a Maine Coon. They are considered kittens for 5 years.
 
Re: 1/28 Michelangelo AMPS 314, +4/231, +6/118 - Dose increa

Sienne and Gabby said:
Marje's point is well taken.

You do know that the bigger breed cats like Maine Coons don't stop growing for 5 years, don't you? Gizmo is a Norwegian Forest Cat -- just slightly smaller than a Maine Coon. They are considered kittens for 5 years.

Yes, and I even believe it was you who originally crushed my mistaken fantasy of it being only 3 years of having to deal with dose increases due to growth. :lol: But please tell me that at least by about a year, their growing slows down enough that I should start seeing some number stabilization/borderline regulation? Because if he keeps at this rate for five years, he'll be a 40 pound cat by the time he's done! :o

Also, if he does drop too low tonight, should I put him back to 1.75u or decrease to 1.63u for a couple of cycles to clear out the failed dose increase?
 
Re: 1/28 Michelangelo AMPS 314, +6/118, +8/262 - Dose increa

first time on someone else's condo :smile:
branching out
just wanted to say hi over here, im so new to this i offer nothing but warmth and looking forward to growing with everyone
 
Re: 1/28 Michelangelo AMPS 314, +6/118, +8/262 - Dose increa

Thanks for visiting our condo. :-D I'm honored that we were your first. Your warmth is very appreciated and very welcome here anytime!
 
Re: 1/28 Michelangelo AMPS 314, +6/118 PMPS 372 - Dose incre

Can't complain about two blues today! I shot him the 1.88u again and I'll be watching him like a hawk tonight till he starts coming back up after nadir (hopefully sooner rather than later so I can eventually get some sleep).
 
Re: 1/28 Michelangelo AMPS 314, +6/118 PMPS 372 - Dose incre

Gizmo's growth rate has slowed down. He'll be 4yo shortly and I don't see the big growth spurts any more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top