01/24 J.D. PMPS 565

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
HI PMPS
358 +3.75

I called the hosptical and talked to someone in triage? about J.D.'s watery poo. She started to suggest that I add rice to his food. I said he was diabetic. So, she suggested I leave a message for Dr. Anthony. I am hoping he calls me back soon, as I have held off on his antibiotic this morning.

Below is a response I sent via PM to Denise regarding her post in yesterday's condo:

Subject: 01/23 J.D. PMPS HI - Water Poo!

Denise & Honey said:
hi Dyana

I used the probiotic Sienne suggested when Minkie had diarrhea for over 2 weeks.
Maybe a coincidence but it did clear up around the same time.

Denise
Denise, what do you mean? When you started the probiotic, the diarrhea cleared up? The same day? How long was Minkie on ABs before you started the probiotics?

I hate to switch ABs because so many of them make him loose his appetite and this one so far (((knock on wood))) has not. He still has another 12 days of antibiotics to go...............

Where did you buy the ReNew Ultimate?
 
Re: 01/24 J.D. AMPS 352

Good morning Dyana, I hope you hear from Dr. Anthony soon and there's a quick fix for J.D.s poo. I'm glad his appy is good! It's soooo nice you have this time off. Your boss is a doll. Give him a hug from me! Good poo and recovery vines and p prayers to you both. Mary and oliver
 
Re: 01/24 J.D. AMPS 352

Morning Dyana ~O)

Fortiflora seems to have kept Simon "solid" so far...
What dose of Clinacin is JD on? I can't tell because JD's on liquid, Simon's getting 1/2 of a 75mg pill BID..
He was put on 14 day course too, I guess this is the standard...

One other thing is the Bupe... do you think JD still needs it? Now I know JD had WAY more work done than Simon, but all Simon got
was the one 72-hour injection (SR formulation) after surgery. I was to call if I noticed pain symptoms after 72hrs, I didn't.
I ask because bupe like any other drug brings along side effects of its own... just wondering :?

Hugs for JD :smile:
 
Re: 01/24 J.D. AMPS 352

Come on down nice and slow JD! I hope you hear from Dr Anthony soon. Liqui poo is no fun. We dealt with that for a long time with Tarragon and tried flortiflora, pumpkin, etc. Flagyl was the only thing that cleared it up, but he has IBD. That probably doesn't help you though. ((((Dyana))))
 
Re: 01/24 J.D. AMPS 352

morning, dyana!
i've found the quickest fix for liqui-poo from abs is adding raw to kitty's diet. it works faster than Fortiflora or probiotics.
if J.D. will eat raw, you could try some Nature's Variety medallions.
 
Re: 01/24 J.D. AMPS 352

Thanks.

I am still waiting for the Dr. to call, and I have left another message this morning. And, I did not give him the Clindamycin yet today, because I'm not sure if I'm supposed to. No poos, since last night.

I have been giving him more than 1 packet of FortiFlora a day. It doesn't seem to be doing anything.

The Dr. said the hole in J.D.'s mouth was 11mm. I just checked it on my calipers and it is huge.
He said that he would be in pain for 3 to 4 days. I was to give him 0.37mls of buprenex 3 times a day, and they gave me 15 pre-filled syringes. I have since halved the dose of bupe, yesterday afternoon.

I have raw food in the freezer, but I don't know if he'll eat it. I've tried before. Sometimes, he'll eat a bite of two, and that's it. That's the most I've ever gotten him to eat of raw.

J.D. was prescribed Flagyl (Metronidazole) for diarrhea on 12/08/2012. He had 3 doses (1 and 1/2 days) and his diarrhea cleared up, and the vet said to STOP the flagyl, as I think he wasn't eating well on it, if I remember right. Most ABs make him inappetant :-x .

For his last dental in April of 2009, he had Clavamox pre-dental which made him throw up, and Clindamycin post-dental but only for 5 days.
He's supposed have Clindamycin this time for 12 days. His dose is 2ML BID.
I would prefer he stay on Clindamycin, as except for the diarrhea, he seems to be doing well on it. Oh, how I'm hoping for just soft but formed poos to come. The doctor said soft but formed are fine. Fingers Crossed.

Besides the ABs, he's also had the bupe (now on a reduced dose, starting yesterday afternoon)added to his meds, and 2 different drops (Maxi-Guard Oral Gel and CET Oral Hygiene Rinse) BID added, and 1 capsule of Elite 1-TDC Dual Act Soft Gel SID added.

It's hard to keep track of it all :? I was late on the bupe again this morning, and gave it 10 hours after his last dose (it's supposed to be TID).
 
Re: 01/24 J.D. AMPS 352

Wow....so much to keep track of! I hope you hear back from the vetty soon...sending solid Poo Vines your way! BTW, one day last week, Marje suggested (if I remember correctly) baby food squash - she uses it with Gus. Double-check with her on the specifics...it may be an option for you...

Feel better, J.D.!!
 
Re: 01/24 J.D. AMPS 352

I'm sorry that J.D. is not feeling well ! but good to know that his diarrhea cleared up earlier.
hope you hear from the vet soon, sometimes they don't answer unless you keep calling them every hour :shock: hope everything well get back to normal very soon so you can take a break and rest a little.
 
Re: 01/24 J.D. AMPS 352

Hoping J.D. feels better soon and the poo situation firms up...
Hope you heard from the doctor... (((Dyana))) Hugs for you guys... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 01/24 J.D. AMPS 352

Hi Dyana
I know you are getting a lot of suggestions. Sometimes when using probiotics, one must go slow. They can
worsen an issue if given too much. I would back down a little of the probiotic dose and give him
some slippery elm. This is great stuff. It calms the digestive track down. Only thing that helped my dog.

Ask your vet first or opinions from this site, as it can interfere with other med. Completely non-toxic
http://www.littlebigcat.com/health/slippery-elm/

(NOTE: Slippery Elm may interfere with absorption of medications; and long-term use may have some effect on nutrient absorption. It may be best to give Slippery Elm at a different time, separate from medications. Please discuss use of all supplements and herbs with your veterinarian.)

Here is the cat dose/directions:
Into a small saucepan place 1/2 cup cold water and 1 teaspoon powdered slippery elm bark. Whip with a fork. Bring to simmer over low flame, stirring constantly. Simmer 1 or 2 minutes or until slightly thickened. Cool and refrigerate. Keeps 7 or 8 days. Give a teaspoon of syrup (5 cc) for an average-size cat (again, about 10 pounds) 5 minutes before a meal to minimize diarrhea, or to soothe and heal mouth ulcers.

PS. just saw the mouth ulcer note. :-)
 
I think he's constipated again, now, because of the bupe.
This is the history.
On Saturday and Sunday, he had a little bit soft but formed stool.
On Monday, he did not go (according to the vet?), but I really think he had a normal poo on Monday night (it could have been Ginger's.. J.D. was getting out of the litter box, and there was a fresh perfect poo sitting there, and Ginger had already pooed during the day, so I really think it was J.D.'s perfect poo, on Monday)
On Tuesday, he did not poo.
On Wednesday, he had one water poo with a bit of formed at the bottom.
Man, I hate talking poo.......
Today, he has not pooed at all, but does go into the box and acts like he is half heartedly trying.

The bupe (which he has been on a fairly high dose, because of the huge hole in his mouth that is supposed to hurt) causes constipateion.
The Clindamycin (which he needs for 12 days because of the huge hole in his mouth, that they didn't want to fill with bone because of possible infection) causes diarrhea.

I did not give him his Clindamycin this morning. Maybe, that is contributing to the no poo, yet, today.

The vet tech said the vet said to hold off on the Clindamycin this morning and tonight. I told her that I think the diarrhea is a combination of things, the strong antibiotics (which I think he really needs), the mixture of new meds Meds Schedule he is getting, plus the stress from the dental and afterwards, and the strong doses of bupe he was getting. I have since halved his bupe dose.
I told her that I would be getting a really strong probiotic ReNew Ultimate and that I wanted to resume the ABs tonight and that I would call them tomorrow if there was a problem. I told her that I had halved the bupe dose, but was still giving TID, and would she please tell Dr. Anthony, and Dr. Scott (the resident dentist there), what I was doing, and she said she would.

Now, the question is, how to divide these super probiotic capsules into thirds, and what to store the other two thirds in (in the refrigerator).

Wish us luck. I really need it.

Other than that, J.D. is acting normal for him :smile: .

Time for drops..
 
Sheesh Dyana, you need a live-in medical staff! :shock:

I'm so glad to hear that J.D. is acting "normal", with what he's gone/going through :!:

Hugs to J.D. - Have a great evening!
 
I found the capsules easy to split.
I put 1/3rd in the food but the rest stayed in the capsule and then I just put the other end on and put it in a baggie in the fridge.

Hope they work for JD.
 
Good luck with figuring out all of J.D. medicine. I hope you can get a good balance to his poo is normal and he'll still eat for you.
 
Hi Dyana,
Sorry you're having to deal with all this. It's hard I know. I don't mean to go on about the slippery elm, but the cool thing about it, is
it brings a balance. In other words, it works for both constipation and diarrhea. Since having both issues, it might be worth a try.
Anyway,,,praying he'll poop and those BS's will come down.

"Slippery Elm is an excellent treatment for ulcers, gastritis, colitis, and other inflammatory bowel problems. It is high in fiber, and so helps normalize intestinal action; it can be used to relieve both diarrhea and constipation."
 
Oh, JD, you need to get those numbers down!

Dyana....I bought some slippery elm bark for Spot. Gave him one dose and then someone said that SEB is not good for Kitties with kidney issues. I need to find the information that was sent to me....it is good stuff because it worked...well, not sure if it was the extra Miralax, the pumpkin, or the SEB, but he did poo.

Probiotics is what I use when Spot or any of the kitties have runny poo. I guess it's the same thing as fortiflora.

It is the bupe that is causing the constipation....spot is having a little bout of it himself. I just upped his miralax a tad and added some pumpkin to his meals...plus I stopped giving him the bupe, he doesn't seem to need it since he is acting about as normal as he can be. So,, maybe, just maybe he'll go.

You make me dizzy with all them meds poor JD is on. I can only imagine how you feel, lol!
 
Dyana

I also use the Renew Ultimate the same way as Denise. I use it when anyone is on A/Bs.

And I use slippery elm bark powder for liquipoo and constipation. It works for both as it soothes the digestive tract. I make it according to the formula Shelly gave you. The only issue is as she said...you have to separate it from meds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top