1/23 Michelangelo AMPS 375

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

I chickened out and didn't increase his dose last night to 1.75u, but instead to 1.65u. I just don't feel comfortable leaving him alone all day for two days in a row after a dose increase and now that my brother has started school, he won't be around to help in case of an emergency while I'm at work.

From a Condo a couple of weeks ago that got bumped:
rhiannon and shadow said:
here's another description on what happens with hyperethesia syndrome. You would notice your cat's back twitching.... much like
when they are watching a bird out the window.... but it happens much more frequently for no reason....

http://www.catchannel.com/experts/arnold_plotnick/plotnick-cat-hyperethesia.aspx

I go back to your second comment on this thread of what you said.
He also has issues with how anti-social Michelangelo seems to be when I'm not around. He says it's like a different cat. Not sure how to fix that situation, though.

Yes, Mikey has the twitching, rippling back. I'd say it goes off about once every hour or so and lasts a good five to ten minutes. I've been trying to get video of the twitching as well as the rolling around on the ground and the bursts of hyperactivity where his pupils are dilated and he gets the "scaredy-cat" arched back and sideways gait....but my camera has been dead (I initially thought irrevocably) and I just got it to work again yesterday.

And Henry has done WONDERS for Michelangelo's anti-social tendencies. My roommate is a 6'6" behemoth that has always terrified Mikey due to size alone, but the other night, when he came downstairs, Mikey stayed sitting where he was at. My roommate began to pet the ever-friendly Henry and then beckoned Mikey over...and Mikey came!! That was the first time ever he hadn't ran hiding when he heard my roommate stomping down the stairs and the first time ever he's willingly gone over to him!

It's amazing how much this little guy has grown and I'm definitely seeing it in comparison with Mr. T's diminutive size. Here's a pic of Mikey at 10 weeks old and from yesterday (at 9 months and 1 week old):

grow.jpg
 
hey there, i came across that other condo where FHS is mentioned (feline hyperesthesia) and just wanted to toss out there that my Mousie has it.

here's one thread from the past about it.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 816ac11b12

we used calms forte ourselves back when but taking care of her "itchies" when her skin gets to twitching works just fine for her it seems and hers hasn't really progressed as she has aged. it actually seems like she's less bothered by it than she used to be. she too was diagnosed diabetic at a young age. not as young as Michelangelo but younger than most back in the days when she was diagnosed. she was 4 1/2 yrs old when she was diagnosed.

i do want to say it often occurs soon after her insulin shots, when it does occur. butttttt, it did it when she was on pzi too, not just after switching to lantus so like someone mentioned in the other condo, i think it's a reaction to feeling the insulin moving in rather than to the insulin itself. if that makes sense. like she's more sensitive to feeling, thus feels the insulin moving.

my other diabetic does not respond at all to his shot of lantus.

fwiw, she often snaps at me too. more so when i try touching her without a treat in my hand. i always attributed it to her being a street rescue but it very well could be that the touch is uncomfortable to her.

i'll see if i can find something about the dose of calms forte 'cause i can't remember it but it might have been on the old board and searching that thing is useless most of the time :-)

found a couple more threads here regarding calms forte
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... te#p433013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... te#p459328
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... te#p547285
 
Ooo! Thank you for these links! He doesn't have the tail-chasing/tail-biting issue, but he definitely has something going on. It's worth hearing that Mousie still had this problem even when on PZI because I had been thinking that the Lantus was instigating it or making it worse in some way, especially since it started happening about two weeks after he was diagnosed/went on Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top