1/21 PurrFace PMPS 158 +2.25/200 +6.5/149 +9.5/+225

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
Nice mid blue number to start the day. I thought he might dip in to the low numbers last night after his +9/162 and I had to get some sleep so I fed PurrFace some 7% LC vs his 5%LC or less. Today's PM cycle will be the 6th cycle of his full 1.25U dose. I think I might have to increase him some, maybe a fat 1.25U dose.

Thank you to all that visited our condo yesterday. I now know that a 1.25U dose in one brand of syringe isn't a 1.25U dose in another syringe. Is there a way to measure an accurate dose to use as a reference without purchasing a micropippiter or does it matter as long as you use the same brand syringe each time since a perceived dose is in the syringe at shot time and then adjusted up or down based on the cats BG reading?

Sorry for getting so deep into this. It's hard for me to understand why PF had BG readings about a month ago that brought his dose down to .10U but couldn't hold it and now I can't seem to get him to hold a dose less than 1.25U.

I hope everyone is having a great day and had a wonderful weekend. Happy for those of you who don't have to go to tbp today.
PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace AMPS 155

Hi guys .. nice blue purrface! Well, I think even with the same brand of syringes you still need to be careful about how they are marked .. but you might want to wait for others on this issue .. We never had trouble with our syringes like some people on here have had .. and don't forget, sometimes you have to go up in order to come back down .. mocha failed at holding 1.0 a lot of times but eventually got it! have a great day!
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace AMPS 155

Thank you Peter. I really do appreciate the encouragement.

I hope you have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace AMPS 155

Hi John, nice blue for PurrFace today and hope the dose threat takes effect. On the syringes, I count drops on a small dose. I so far haven't had too much trouble on the MJ's, but I bet there are times I am off slightly. Marje and a lot of Beabs now use the calipers. I'm thinking of it. Have a great day.
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace AMPS 155 +3/128 +7.25/37

PF is sticking his feet in dangerous waters with a 39. Hopefully the tsp of 9%LC with HC gravey will bring him into the safe range. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace AMPS 155 +3/128 +7.25/37

Hi John

Oops, up a bit Purrface ;-) Good that it's later in the cycle anyway :smile:
Frustrating - you're having trouble holding a reduction and he pops for a mandatory one - typical....
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace AMPS 155 +3/128 +7.25/37 +7.75/70 +10/139

Well darn! Just when the old SS starts looking blue and green but you need to take a reduction. Normally, we recommend a 0.25u reduction for a drop in the 30s but you hold the syringe. We don't take 30s lightly. If he bounces up by PMPS, you can shoot through the bounce tonight and reduce in the morning.
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace AMPS 155 +3/128 +7.25/37 +7.75/70 +10/139

Nice green PurrFace! I guess he disagreed with the increase. I know it's discouraging when you get down so far only to have to go back up. We've done that roller coaster many times. Hopefully he is kicked in gear now and will start back down. Have a great night John!
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace AMPS 155 +3/128 +7.25/37 +7.75/70 +10/139

Congratulations PurrFace! I hope it holds really well this time. Come on sweetie... stick it!!!!! Hang in there John, hugs and scritches from us to you. mary and oliver
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace AMPS 155 +3/128 +7.25/37 +7.75/70 +10/139

I'm not sure if this condo on Monoject and Terumo syringes will help you unless you buy the Terumos. But if you do buy them, I've done the calculations and, of course, there will be some fine tuning of dose for Purrface because we all probably measure a little differently.

Some cats are not sensitive to changes in insulin doses as others are. Sienne uses the Monojects and has no problem and she might be alot better at eyeballing amounts in the syringe than I am. That's why I had to get so scientific about it and also because I'm not the only one dosing Gracie. I now know that my 1u and Mike's 1u are going to be identical because we've taken the variables out. And we often cross check each others' dose just to make sure.

And while I find the Terumos to be more accurate from syringe to syringe than the MJs were, they still vary and sometimes by as much as .2u.
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace PMPS 158

PurrFace got the .25 reduction tonight and I hope he holds it.

Thank you Bruce, Melissa, Marje & Mary for your visit to our condo and encouragement today.

Bruce you picked. The right word....OOPS :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace PMPS 158

Congrats on the reducie! You never know if the little man will agree to the new dose or not, dont be discouraged by the past. Everyday canbe a new day for us with Purrface getting better with handling his system.
Ive been using BD syringes since day one because we dont have other brands sold in drug store here. Even using the same brand for over a year, Ive noticed the markings are really off! I am using the digital caliper to measure Rosy's dose every cycle which makes me more comfortable with the accuracy.
 
Re: 1/21 PurrFace PMPS 158 +2.25/200

A near blue at +2.25. I'm sure part of that yellow is from the 9%LC with HC gravey I gave him when he threw that 37 at me. Fingers crossed he holds the reduction.

Thank you for your visit Helen. I bought a digital caliber two weeks ago, I guess I need to start using them. :lol:

Hope everyone has a great evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top