1/17 Gobbles PMPS 460

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/17 Gobbles AMBG 312 DOSAGE???

It looks like Gobbles is bouncing from the green yesterday morning. I would hold the same dose.
The cycle counting starts over again with a skipped shot. So, lets see if we can get 6 cycles more on your current dose.
 
Re: 1/17 Gobbles AMBG 312 DOSAGE???

Dyana said:
It looks like Gobbles is bouncing from the green yesterday morning. I would hold the same dose.
The cycle counting starts over again with a skipped shot. So, lets see if we can get 6 cycles more on your current dose.
O okay...I didn't know it restarts--thanks! I just gave him his shot.
 
Re: 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312

Is there a way I can (copy & paste question) delete my post? I didn't give a thought that it was pushing posts, but that makes sense. I would like to delete all the posts (except Gobbles' BG post) I've made today...

I'm answering here because after someone replies, you cannot delete a post unless the answering post is deleted first. Yes you can just copy your questions and post them in Gobbles daily condo. If you want it in a quote box click the "quote" button when composing your post and paste between the brackets. BTW you don't need to quote every post you respond to. ;-)

Go to the first post in that unwanted condo edit it and put "Duplicate post - ignore" in the subject line, people will stop responding and it will drop down the list.
 
Re: 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4 114

Gobbles is lookin' good with that +4 - definitely no need to increase! Remember that dose adjustments are based on the nadir, not the pre-shot numbers. I'd definitley try and get another couple tests in, since Gobby did drop quite a bit from AMPS.

Have a great day, Kat!
 
Re: 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4 114

To add on to Sienne's response in the other condo you had about regulation......think of a specific dose of lantus as a cruise ship. You can turn the wheel but it takes time to change course. One of the hardest lessons for me in this "dance" has been learning patience.....and I still haven't yet mastered it but am doing better :-D

I coined a phrase here a while back.... "Patience pants". Time to put them on :-D we have members whose cats went from 21 months of bouncing to "snapping" overnight and going into remission in three weeks. It can happen.

In the interim, the best you can do is follow the protocol, not get wrapped up in the numbers or your health will be compromised, and love love love your kitty. Because he is getting insulin and that is making a huge difference to his body. As you get closer to his fitting dose, you will see the old him re-emerge. And that's a great thing!
 
Re: 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4 114

Loving that +4!!! That's within the healing range (healing range is 50-120). The longer Gobbles is in this range, the better the chance for his pancreas to heal.

Marje is definitely right in saying that as you get closer to his ideal dose, Gobbles will start becoming more like himself. He'll start to feel better, and will act as normal as he can be. I, too, am still learning the Patience Pants thing, and I've been at this for almost 3 years now. :lol: Hang in there... It does work. :smile:
 
Re: 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4 114

Marje buys patience pants in bulk at Costco. Let her know when you need a pair. ;-) Looking good, Gobbles!
Liz
 
Re: 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4 114

wELL Look at that!! Your cat is doing GREAT!!! Only 1 condo a day though...Ask your questions there--OK? ;-)
Dont worry we were all just like you are & worried just the same..Patience pants are available for all!! Hugs from us!!
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

don't panic 48 isn't dangerous, just a little lower than we want to see. Test again in 20 to 30 minutes to see if he is coming up. Usually we give just a little food to bring them up, it doesn't take much. Feeding too much at once can fill him up and he may not want to eat later if he stays low.
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

15 minutes later, I tested again (he did eat, as he was practically climbing my leg) with 20 meters and got 48/49. He ate a little more of the 20% (would of ate more but I put it up) and about 1/2 T. karo and 3 temptations treats and 1/4 c. chicken juice. I hope I didn't overdo it.
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

Give it a little more time between tests, the food needs to get digested and into the blood stream.
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

NIce catch! Try not to worry too much.....just light feeding and frequent testing to make sure he doesn't get down into the 30s.

If it gives a little perspective, my 2 non-diabetics have readings in the mid to high 40s most of the time (Relion micro meter)

Usually a drop below 50 for a newbie merits a reduction in insulin dose......I'm sure Sienne and others will be on soon to counsel you on what to do for your PM

dose. Hang in there :mrgreen:
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

Ann & Tess said:
Give it a little more time between tests, the food needs to get digested and into the blood stream.
About how long should I wait to test again?

Recap: 1:20 PM (+5 hours, 20 minutes) = 48
Ate 1/2 C. FF 20%/Drank chicken juice
1:40 PM (+5 hours, 40 minutes)
1/2 t. Karo/3 treats
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

20 to 30 minutes between tests is usually good.

And yes you can take the 911 off! :-D You have eyes on the condo now.
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

15 minutes later, I tested again (he did eat, as he was practically climbing my leg) with 20 meters and got 48/49. He ate a little more of the 20% (would of ate more but I put it up) and about 1/2 T. karo and 3 temptations treats and 1/4 c. chicken juice. I hope I didn't overdo it.

No way to know for sure if you "overdid it". But make sure to note what you did, see how this worked, and next time, you'll have an idea what to do. If it's too much, next time, maybe a little less. Every cat is going to respond to the high carbs things differently. Some kitties only need a tsp of LC food with a couple drops of honey or syrup. Some cats get a couple tsps of high carb and a tsp of syrup, and don't zoom up. This is one of the "know YOUR kitty" things that you'll learn from Gobbles.

I usually suggest 30 minutes between tests/feedings for a couple of reasons. One, it gives the carbs time to get from his tummy to your meter. And two, it makes it easier to "keep track of time". In some cases, especially when this happens overnight and the caregiver is sleep deprived, it's easy to lose track of the time. Plus it's easier for me at least to track things on a 30 or 60 minute basis when you're recapping what's going on.

Oh, and here.... I let Jenny (and Emmy) use these yesterday, but today it's your turn, and I'm sure Jenny won't mind sharing :lol:



Carl
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    18.2 KB · Views: 889
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

Good catch! He will probably get a decrease now! Both my boys have been down to 35 with no symptoms but ECID. Bailey was semi comatose at 16 one night. 1 drop of syrup and some low carb food brings them up for me, any more than that and they go way high. Again ECID.

I test every 20 minutes after a low like that until I see the numbers go up, and then every half hour for a xouple of hours just in case the syrup wears off and they start to drop again...
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

Recap:

1:20 PM (+5 hours, 20 minutes) = 48

Ate 1/2 C. FF 20%/Drank chicken juice

1:40 PM (+5 hours, 40 minutes)

1/2 t. Karo/3 treats

2:50 PM (+6, 50 minutes) = 187
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

There's the food kicking in! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Plus when you take the 911 off you can put up Gobbles first green smiley. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Keep testing once an hour until you have 2 or 3 rising numbers. Food can wear off in a few hours and BGs can drop again.

And Yes! Your first under 50 number earns you a reduction tonight! See, Patience Pants work! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

Wendy&Tiggy said:
1 drop of syrup and some low carb food brings them up for me, any more than that and they go way high. Again ECID. I test every 20 minutes after a low like that until I see the numbers go up, and then every half hour for a xouple of hours just in case the syrup wears off and they start to drop again...
ECID? OMG--when you read HOW MUCH food/high carbs I gave him, you are gonna flip--newbie low BG, I guess...My guess is he'll spike sky high due to ALL the food I gave him? His number came up. I have to run to the bakery & candy store, but am holding off for a little while yet, and will test before I leave--will only be gone no more than 45 minutes. ECID means ?
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

Carl & Bob said:
No way to know for sure if you "overdid it". If it's too much, next time, maybe a little less. This is one of the "know YOUR kitty" things that you'll learn from Gobbles.

Oh, and here.... I let Jenny (and Emmy) use these yesterday, but today it's your turn, and I'm sure Jenny won't mind sharing :lol:
I guess I'll know soon if I over did it with the carbs...newbie mistake (well I was so freaked out I jammed as many carbs into him as possible)..I printed out the Hypo sticky and was trying to follow it (just a suggestion: maybe on that sticky, when it refers to "mild, moderate, several" maybe some numbers; if they're on there, I totally didn't see them). I'm sure Gobbles "schooled me" today! THANK YOU for those pants...lol...I'm going to have to buy a pair like them at the mall and keep them handy!
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48 +7~187 +9~276

I disagree.. Hindsight is 20:20 and ECID and you didn't know how he was going to behave. Better safe than sorry

I think someone on your condo yesterday said Something about better being high for a while than hypo for a minute or something ... They were more eloquent. Anyway next time you can adjust and see.
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48 +7~187 +9~276

That was BJM's eloquent quote: "Remember: Better high for a day, than too low for a moment." I should probably write that on an index card and stick it on my refrigerator.
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48 +7~187 +9~276

Someone else on the board said something like that originally, so I should have put it in quotes!

Breathe! Its a process, not an event :smile:

The band is just starting on your sugar dance ... and its not a jive!
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48 +7~187 +9~276

ECID = "Every cat is different"....I always wondered what that meant too, until I saw it translated it someone else's thread just today! :-D
Glad Gobbles didn't go too low for you....when things settle down and you have time (maybe on a weekend when you don't have to work etc)....try testing Gobbles during the day (after 2 hrs after feeding, so that food spike is gone) and see what his BG does after feeding him a teaspoon of various types of food (one at a time....say, low carb first, tuna, and then a mid carb) to see how his BG responds 30, 1hr, 2hrs afterward......it'll give you an idea of what to do if lower numbers happen again...

For Molly, when she hit lower numbers (40s....never got lower than that)....I actually never gave her more than an 8-10% food (which I call mid carb because we're usually around 5% for meals)....but I did end up having to feed her every hour or so until the nadir (lowest BG point....around +7 for Molly on average) had been reached and things stabilized......BUT as they say ECID! So it's good to know how Gobbles responds before you hit an emergency :smile: It's also good to know where Gobbles' nadir tends to be just so you know when you can relax!
Have a great night!
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48 +7~187 +9~276

I am reducing his PM dose. He was on 1.75 U., so he'll be getting 1.50 U.
 
Re: HYPO 1/17 Gobbles AMPS 312 +4~114 +5.5~48

TheBowHuntress said:
..I printed out the Hypo sticky and was trying to follow it (just a suggestion: maybe on that sticky, when it refers to "mild, moderate, several" maybe some numbers; if they're on there, I totally didn't see them).
Nice green today for Gobbles!

For next time, since you are following the Tight Regulation Protocol, instead of using the hypo sticky you can use the information in our Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky (scroll down to Don't Panic! How to Handle Low Numbers). Of course, if Gobbles were to start showing hypo symptoms, like staggering, seizing, disorientation, etc. then you would want to go straight to the hypo treatments sticky.

No worries, though. I'm sure every single one of us did what you did the first time we saw a number in the 40s. It's part of the learning curve.
 
Nice work with Gobby today!!! Looks like we may have a new Bouncing King on our hands!!!

Congrats on the reducie...keep working it, Gobbles!
 
Gobby is giving you a trial by fire! Libby is right...the first time we got a 120, we tested every 15 minutes! It is a shock at first but you will get used to it and you will learn how he reacts to foods.

ECID is so true....some cats are very cared sensitive and respond quickly to low carbs. Others require higher carbs. You'll figure out what works best for him. But probably not bakery items :lol: :lol:
 
You really did a great job today!! You had your hypo kit, including HC food, Karo, lots of strips, and you had the board right here to help...You did everything right, maybe not exactly, but you did well..
And Look Your baby Gobbles got reducie!!!!
I also get a little shaken seeing a 40's number, and I'm an Oldie!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
:lol: So another saying= Know Thy Cat!! and believe me you will, it helps a LOT!!
Now have a nice night & get some sleep...Hey your kitty took a trip to the Green Lagoon!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Hugs from us!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top