1/14 Muffin pmps 284...+3 54 +3.5 48 +4 52 +5 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

1/13 Recap:
amps 271 shot f.25
+2 217
+3 169
+4 165
+7 160
+10 155
pmps 125 shot f.25
+2 114
+3 138


Good Morning LL! Muffin had a really nice day yesterday surfing the blues, which was nice to see, but she hasn't seen green yet on this dose. I'll give her today and tonight at least to work on that, and then I'll think about going back up to .5. Kibby goes to the vet this morning for xrays, and I'll be busy trying to make plans and get things ready for this trip.

Question: Those of you who travel with your diabetics, how do you transport the insulin so it stays at a safe temp? We have a 6 hour drive, on a good day. Good news is it's supposed to stay dry all week, so hopefully the pass won't be a problem.
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 Travel Question

Paws crossed for Kibby that no more surgery is needed. And just what do you think you are doing way up there, little miss???

Go to ADW and look for the FRIO Insulin Cooler Wallet. Soak it for 15 minutes and it will keep insulin cool for 45 hours. You should be able to find something similar locally if time is a crunch.
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 Travel Question

I hope Kibby doesn't have to have another surgery. Hopefully Muffin will slide down for you today.
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 Travel Question

Well Ann, whatever you do, make sure you don't put something right next to the insulin that would cause it to freeze....try to keep it cool only....hope all will be well with your trip! Hugs!
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 Travel Question

Morning guys sorry for the bounce this morning but hope you get back to the blues. Good luck with the xrays, paws crossed all goes well. I was going to suggest a cooler but Anne's suggestion seems great. Have a great Monday!
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 Travel Question

Hi guys .. nice blues yesterday miss muffin! I hope you show off some lovely greens before to long .. No advice on traveling with insulin, but fingers crossed no surgery is needed for kibby .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 Travel Question

Hi Anne,
I have a FRIO wallet, and it does keep insulin cool, but not as cold as in a refrigerator (it keeps it at a steady 60 degrees F., regardless of the outside temperature). I keep it for power emergencies, since it only requires cold water. When we travel to NY City with Rusty (6+ hours) we take our small cooler (not one of those tiny "personal" coolers). I keep the insulin in a little cardboard box, which I wrap in several sheets of newspaper or a paper bag. I put the box in the bottom of the cooler and then put in whatever food we are taking (for ourselves). I put a layer of newspaper or paper bags on top of the contents of the cooler and then put in 3 cold blocks. The cold air sinks, so don't put the cold blocks on the bottom. I keep one of those little camping thermometers in the insulin box and this system keeps the insulin at 40 degrees F. Whatever you do, it is important not to let the insulin come in direct contact with a cold block!

Have a good trip. We don't open our cooler during the trip. We have a small, "personal" cooler in which we carry some open food for Rusty.

Fingers and paws crossed for Kibby,

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 +3.5 444

+3.5 444. Uhh, wrong way, Muffin. She meowed when I shot her this morning, so I'm pretty sure I didn't do a fur shot. I searched for any contraband she could have gotten into, and unless she ate it all, I just don't see anything. :roll:

Thank you all for the suggestions on transporting insulin. I looked up the Frio wallets, and so far haven't been able to find anything locally, and I just don't have time to order online. I do plan to go to a few drug stores and ask them if they have anything like that. I also asked the vet, and he gave me a styrofoam box and some ice packs - what they use when they send insulin somewhere. So I do have that now. Kibby's xrays are done, and he was very cooperative this time. No sedation needed! cat_pet_icon His abdominal wall is compromised in one spot. It looks like the 2 sides overlap, but there is a small gap between them. I don't know if that makes sense - hard to put it into words. However, nothing is herniated in there, all his organs look good and are in the proper place, so at this point we are going to wait and monitor and hope it heals up. He thinks it's probably looking more swollen because Kibby has been eating more, and has put on some weight (5oz) and it's probably just putting more pressure on it and making it stick out more. He says unless it really starts to protrude a lot, he should be fine. Kibby also got a depo-medrol injection for the rodent ulcer, but no AB's recommended. So that's good for my friends who will be pet-sitting.
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 +3.5 444

hey if you are going to fiind contraband.... you'd likely eat it all. :lol:

Sounds like a wait and see for Kibby... better than bad news...
Healing vines and prayers sent your way..
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 +3.5 444

Anne

Oh gosh you have your hands so full! Muffin you must come down! I hope Kibby will completely heal.

If there was any way I could work it, I'd fly over and take care of Muffin for you so you didn't have to take her. I know it is just one added stress.

I hope she comes down tonight. I'd be inclined to raise the dose, too.
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 +3.5 444

It's unanimous: Muffin, come down from there! Safe travels. I'm glad Kibby's gut is looking ok and hope it stays that way.
Liz
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin amps 352 +3.5 444

Sounds like good news for Kibby from the vetty. Now about those numbers Muffin! Hope she came down for you today.

For traveling with Muffin, Lisa/Leo put together a document on traveling with diabetic kitties. It sounds like you are well equipped now for the insulin. When I went to and from Fort Collins ( 3 days of 8-9 hours each way ) I put my insulin in it's original package and put that package in a Tupperware container so it fit snugly. That container then went in the cooler. The styrofoam packs sound perfect. Just make sure it's somewhere it won't get jostled.
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin pmps 284

I found the contraband! It was a jalapeno popper! ohmygod_smile I was afraid to test anymore this afternoon, but I'm glad to see she's coming down now. It's also good to know there was contraband involved.

Rhiannon - Definitely better than bad news. Thank you for the vines.

Marje - Come down she did, and I sure hope she has plans to continue. That's so sweet of you to want to help out.

Liz - She's listening! Thanks on Kibby - Dr thinks he will be fine, it just may take a couple months.

Wendy - Thanks so much for that link, and thanks to Lisa for making it. There were a few things on her list that I hadn't thought of - they're on my list now! I like the idea of the tupperware, too.
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin pmps 284 +2 109

+2 109. Wow...offered food, but so far she's not interested. I don't think she wants to leave her heater! :lol:
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin pmps 284 +2 109 +3 54

+3 54. She still isn't interested in fuds. She ate well at pmps and +1, but doesn't want anything since then. I guess I won't be increasing!

Hi Shelly!
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin pmps 284 +2 109 +3 54 +3.5 48

+3.5 48. She ate her +2 fuds sometime in the last 1/2 hour. I'm glad she's green, but this is so not what I needed tonight. :YMSIGH:

Thanks for the appy vines - I think they're working. I hope she surfs.
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin pmps 284 +2 109 +3 54 +3.5 48

Come up and surf a little higher Muffin. No wonder she didn't feel like eating after that jalapeno popper! :lol: That girl has strange tastes.
 
Re: 1/14 Muffin pmps 284 +2 109 +3 54 +3.5 48 +4 52

+4 52 Looks like she's on a surf. Didn't feed this one, but she does have a tiny amt left in her bowl. Every time I go down to test her, Kibby's trying to get me to let him outside, and Shnookie wants to be fed. ohmygod_smile Uhh...no on both counts, sorry fellas.

Wendy - she does have strange tastes indeed - the lengths she will go to for her carbs! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top