1/3 Pumbaa - AMPS/165 PMPS/347 *sigh*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Pumbaa's last thread was on 12/31.

Well, I aborted the dose reduction from 2.75U to a fat 2.50U after 5 cycles because I couldn't bear to see Pumbaa in those high numbers any longer, even if he was still clearing bounces. Such a small, earned dose decrease, but it failed, as far as I can tell.

Yesterday (1/2/13) he started his "drop all day" pattern, and went down from an AMPS of 266 to a recorded low of 82 at PM +6. The only reason he stayed in the 80's last night was because I was feeding him 13% carbed food every time I tested him, as I was trying to prevent a bounce today, and trying to prevent him from going so low that he would earn a dose reduction. While I excelled at picking the right percentage of carbs to feed him to manage keeping him in the 80's last night, I failed to prevent a bounce, which reared its ugly head late this morning. *sigh*

If you don't read/haven't read the entire 12/31 Pumbaa thread, here is a brief recap:

1) Chippendale's thought that Pumbaa had "stellar" numbers at his 3.25U dose. I strongly disagreed with that as Pumbaa earned a dose reduction (hitting 44 while being given higher carbed food), on his second cycle at 3.25U on 12/15. Then, on 12/17, when the shed from the 3.25U dose was most likely kicking in, if you just look at the recorded numbers, they look wonderful. But, if you mouse-over each cell of that morning's cycle, you will see the extreme effort it took for me to keep Pumbaa up in those numbers, via higher carbed food, including 19% carbs, given every hour. My point was that any cat, who has to be fed 19% carbs food every hour to keep their numbers above 50, is on too high of an insulin dose. Not a stellar or ideal dose.

2) While my goal is to get Pumbaa regulated (between 250 and 40 -- that is MY definition of regulated) on a daily basis, and keep praying that he stops bouncing/diving, Pumbaa and his diabetes is no longer the primary concern in my life, as it has been for the last 9 months. I've let too many things slide in the last 9 months, including my business, my health/sleep, my house/yard, and doing the things I need to be doing for my mom. I no longer play Pumbaa's games when he tries to avoid testing/shooting. I make an attempt to catch him, but as soon as he starts the "let's play keep-away with mom" games that used to eat up so much of my time, I ignore him, and wait until he comes out and I am easily able to grab him. I've admitted that I'm not Super Woman, and have retired my Super Woman bra!

010313_0202-SM.png



3) The financial stress caused by not being able to concentrate on work due to being bleary-eyed from staying up all night testing Pumbaa has to stop. If we are homeless, because I can't pay the bills, where is Pumbaa going to get his care from? Just like on an airplane, when they explain taking your own oxygen mask first so that you don't pass out before helping others, I need to take care of me, and concentrate on paying for the roof over our heads and our necessary expenses, as the primary goals. Rather than chasing that elusive "perfect dose" where Pumbaa will stop bouncing and diving, while causing me to be up for 24 hours straight testing him.

Part of my decision for 2013 was based on my own health and concerns of continued financial stress, as well as input from Mel and Sheila and Marje. But the kick in the head was what Jill posted on one of my threads:

my life has changed.most, but not all, of the early and late shots you see on alex's ss for the last couple of years reflect real life rather than tricks of the trade. i'm so not a morning person and have a very active social life. i've also come to realize i have a cat with diabetes, but feline diabetes does not represent the total sum of my life. :mrgreen:

i also believe in the KISS method. :-D
i think there's been a tendency over the last few years to make treating feline diabetes too hard...

Feline diabetes is no longer representing the total sum of my life. I can't allow it to if I am going to survive and be able to care for Pumbaa in the first place.

I hope you all understand my position as of 1/1/13.

Suze
 
In case I wasn't clear, or if anyone wonders, I love my Pumbaa dearly! That has not changed! It would devastate me if he died of a hypo that I missed due to being too tired to wake up and test him. But Pumbaa is just one part of my life that I need to be paying attention to. And, my mom's health and well being needs to come above the health and well being of Pumbaa. And my health needs to come above both my mom's and Pumbaa's needs, or I can't take care of either them. I really hope that this makes sense to people in the same boat I am in.

Suze
 
Suze

Happy New Year to you and Pumbaa and I hope your mom will find the road to improved health.

I think anytime a caregiver decides to change their approach to FD, we all respect that decision. You absolutely have a lot on your plate. But if you truly want to commit yourself to not letting FD be what your life is about, then you also have to let go of the stress associated with the bounces.

If you want to keep it simple, then follow Libby's advice: dose for the nadir you want whether it be 60 or 90 or whatever and then hold the dose until he earns a reduction and ignore the bounces. Maybe you want to start trying the three times between 40 and 50 before giving a reduction to give him more time at a dose.
 
I think we all totally get where you are coming from. Sometimes I think we should be doing the whole household report not just whole cat since we are a major factor in our cats, and our and our families well being is just as important to maintain.

Sounds like you have a good resolution going on, but with Murphy's cats law, Pumbaa is probably going to do his best to mess that one up!!

Nice bra. Time for a trip to Victoria's Secret I think. Lol.
 
Congrats on learning to take care of yourself! It took me until my second diabetic cat to learn that lesson.

If you'll look at Jazzy's spreadsheet, I was having a lot of health problems during a lot of the time I was treating her. Luckily she was an easy to regulate cat, she was never a bouncer and I realize that made things a lot easier. But I skipped or BCS'd some shots just because I didn't feel up to it, I missed shots because I just plain forgot, I reduced doses *before* she went low sometimes because I didn't want to put her at risk. Life happens, it has to.

It does look like 2.75 is good for Pumbaa, at least right now. He got through that bounce pretty quickly.
 
Suze, I totally get it and am glad you are going to start taking care of yourself!

((hugs))
 
Thank you, one and all. (((HUGS))) There's got to be a sane way to deal with FD, right?

Today starts day 5 of not playing Pumbaa's chasing games at testing time. I moved more furniture in the living room, because Pumbaa's latest "game" was darting from behind the oversized recliner to under the end table between the recliner and the love seat, and back and forth, knowing dang well that I couldn't get between the recliner and the end table to grab him. But now, I can. Game point to the human! haha_smiley (Do you realize how pathetic it is that I'm proud of the fact I outsmarted a cat??? :roll: )

Marje, I don't stress the bounces, per se, other than not liking Pumbaa in numbers above 250. What worries me is the drops after the bounces...and never knowing how low he's going to dive after a bounce or when he's going to dive. I actually take advantage of the bounces and test less, get more done, and get more sleep during bounce times.

If you want to keep it simple, then follow Libby's advice: dose for the nadir you want whether it be 60 or 90 or whatever and then hold the dose until he earns a reduction and ignore the bounces. Maybe you want to start trying the three times between 40 and 50 before giving a reduction to give him more time at a dose.
I totally agree with this. Chippendale's also brought up waiting for three readings below 50 (although he said below 40) before giving a reduction. Now, if only I could get Pumbaa to go low during the day, instead of in the wee hours of the morning, I would be less apt to break out the higher carbed food to keep his numbers up at an acceptable level so I could get some sleep. I've studied his SS and it doesn't seem to make any difference if I increase his dose in the AM or PM cycles. So I guess this is one more thing that I just can't control. (Unless I switch to working nights again, in which case he'll start having his low numbers during the daytime/sleeptime cycle, again. Hahahahaha!)

Suze
 
Morning guys just wanted to say good for you on your decision. I know the stress it causes and I have had to give up a few things in my life when Scrabble came back from the falls. You have to do what is best for you and make adjustments in your life. You have gotten some great input on here. Hope you have a great Caturday and figure things out to balance your life! Take care!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top