12/22 Noni AMPS 331+6~59+7~61+11~65

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
Good Morning ..

today is day 2 on her medication, still having diarrhea, less of course cuz she is eating less anyway..

I'm still syringe feeding ,, she has some interest in food, but she cannot eat because of diarrhea like humans when they have diarrhea we lose interest in food because of the stomach pain !

she wants water all the time .. always finding her face inside the water fountain ..


reduced her insulin dose to 1.25


Previous Condo
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=85455
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331

Did the vet give her something for the diarrhea? I would keep giving her the 1 packet of FortiFlora a day if your vet says it's okay to do. J.D. had some diarrhea recently and he quit wanting to eat for awhile, too.

I am sending feel much better tummy vines to Noni, and I hope she is soon eating on her own and going solid poo.

We love you Noni, get better please cat_pet_icon your mommy is doing all she can to help you.




Here's your link to yesterday's condo: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=85455
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331

(((Aseel)))))
I hope your vet can give Noni something to make her tummy feel better and she will want to eat on her own.
Noni, sweetest, feel better.
. Remember to take a few minutes to take care of yourself.
Prayers and healing vines to you both
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331

Thank you guys for being there for us once Noni is well she will send you all lots of love and (((hugs)))

Dyana, sorry about J.D. , is he ok now ? eating well ?

Doctor gave Noni Kapect and Suprazole antibiotic both are to stop the diarrhea
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331+6~59

Hopefully she will feel better soon.. and hopefully all the drinking is the dehydration due to diarrhea and high BG. Did she try the tuna water again?

make sure you take some time to enjoy your brothers visit too! ((hugs))
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331+6~59

Thank you Wendy, she did try the tuna water again ... she wants to have more, but she couldn't ..

hope she gets better soon
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331+6~59+7~61

Okay, thanks. You don't want her going much lower than that, especially since her appetite is off.
I would consider lowering her dose temperarily, to maybe 1 unit, and only shoot like you are doing, when she's high enough. Maybe others will chime in with other thoughts or opinions..

Have you tried to give her just a teeny bit of the tuna from your finger? Anyway, keep up the assisted feeding.

Praying for the best possible outcome, and hoping for more improvement soon. Stay strong Noni and Aseel.
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331+6~59+7~61

Why couldnt she have more.. nauseous? Is she eating anything by herself or is it all force fed and maybe a few occasional licks of stuff?

Is she doing the sniff, lip smack, walk away from food thing? I HATE when they do that. They show interest but I guess it turns their stomachs.

When Tiggy gets like that I find he loves butter or shortbread ( i know its horrible for their BG but when he doesnt eat I will give him anything and he loves shortbread.) He also loves KFC at those times - did you try that. The butter can cause diarrhea though.

Did you try lactose free milk or kitty milk?
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331+6~59+7~61

I would get a little plate and try her with small pieces of below. they arent great for BG and arent good long term but if they get some food in her then its a good start. You can always then use them on top of regular food to get her to eat. Heres what I usually try - I use small bits:

cheesie puff chips
tuna water
chicken broth
grilled chicken and/or KFC
shortbread or buttery cookies
lactose free or kitty milk
fortiflora on food
any type of fancy feast
assorted cheeses
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331+6~59+7~61

Sending healing energy to Noni. You are doing a great job, Aseel, of taking care of your sweet kitty.
Liz
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331+6~59+7~61

Dyana said:
Okay, thanks. You don't want her going much lower than that, especially since her appetite is off.
I would consider lowering her dose temperarily, to maybe 1 unit, and only shoot like you are doing, when she's high enough. Maybe others will chime in with other thoughts or opinions..

Have you tried to give her just a teeny bit of the tuna from your finger? Anyway, keep up the assisted feeding.

Praying for the best possible outcome, and hoping for more improvement soon. Stay strong Noni and Aseel.



Dyana please advice, I'm thinking about skipping the next shot until she gets higher, its +11 and shes still 65 !
 
Re: 12/22 Noni AMPS 331+6~59+7~61

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Why couldnt she have more.. nauseous? Is she eating anything by herself or is it all force fed and maybe a few occasional licks of stuff?

Is she doing the sniff, lip smack, walk away from food thing? I HATE when they do that. They show interest but I guess it turns their stomachs.

When Tiggy gets like that I find he loves butter or shortbread ( i know its horrible for their BG but when he doesnt eat I will give him anything and he loves shortbread.) He also loves KFC at those times - did you try that. The butter can cause diarrhea though.

Did you try lactose free milk or kitty milk?


she sniff and try to lick but then turn away!

butter and KFC or any human food I'm afraid to give, it may cause more diarrhea !
 
Hi Aseel. I'm sorry Noni is still having the diarrhea problem. It's probably good that she is drinking a lot of water since the diarrhea will deplete a lot water from her body. Staying hydrated is important when a human has diarrhea so I would imagine it's the same for a kittie.

I wish Noni the best and have you both in our Prayers.
 
I think I would be careful with what you feed her in case it upsets her tummy, too. Maybe some bland baby food (all meat and broth, with no onions or garlic), or maybe she would "drink" some of her regular food mixed with lots of water. Keep up the assisted feeding.

I think I wouldn't shoot unless she's over 150 or so.
And, if she's only like 200, I would definitely give her a reduced dose.

When she's eating again, consistantly, then we can get her back to her regular dose.

I'm going to leave to go pick up a prescription for my cat and it's a long drive, so I won't be here at your PMPS time. Do you think you are okay?
 
yes Dyana , thanks for the advice, I will only shoot over 200 I believe cuz its increasing really low,

and will maybe shot 1 unit only or .75 //

have a safe trip , It will be fine, thank you . but is it still for the diarrhea for J.D. ?



Thank you too John ,, yea its better to drink at least if she's not eating
 
asoolty said:
yes Dyana , thanks for the advice, I will only shoot over 200 I believe cuz its increasing really low,

and will maybe shot 1 unit only or .75 //

have a safe trip , It will be fine, thank you . but is it still for the diarrhea for J.D. ?

I'm glad you didn't shoot. I think it was wise to skip.

No, J.D. got something called Flagyl for his diarrhea and it made him stop eating. And his poos got all better right away, so maybe or maybe not the medicine helped, but after only 3 doses I asked my vet if I could stop the Flagyl because he wasn't eating and his poos were better, and he said yes.
I went to get Ondansetron which is J.D.'s anti-nausea medicine. It's a long drive, and last weekend I drove all the way there, and they said they only had 3 pills, so luckily I still had some left, and went again this weekend. J.D. gets nausea from his cronic pancreatitis, and that makes him sniff food and walk away, but what he has is different than what Noni has.

Has she been taking her food, okay? Maybe every two or three hours you should give her some food.

Hopefully, you'll get a walk in your own garden with her this afternoon sometime.
I hope you are sleeping now, and getting some rest.
 
Sorry for that hope he eats really soon ..

She's now sleeping hugging her water fountain .. And her neck and chest is all wet that I need to dry every now and then. Still didnt shoot and I don't think I will soon

Poor baby she's becoming so skinny

She likes tuna water but still only few licks and she's stops . I want her to eat real food . My brother was trying with the dry food. We counted 15 pieces and leave it out with her dish. We found one kibble out of the dish .. Means she's al least trying but her stomach must be so upset not to eat still .. I really don't know what causes this ! Maybe sleeping on the cold floor or the bathroom. I'm having small carpets all over the place now not to let her sit with her shaved stomach on the ground
 
good thing I was just having some yogurt ,, and I give her with my finger and she took it .. the size of a tea spoon .. good that shes interested in something, although I hate to think about sodium and salt in it ..

its like half FF can less or more only , I don't want to over feed ,, I know the feeling when you have diarrhea you feel like your stomach going ups and downs .. I syringe feed 5ml every 3 hrs lets say , I mix with little water to let it pass through the syringe and feed her
 
So 5ml 8 times a day is 40ml total. I don't know enough about assist feeding to know the correct amount for her to get per day. But I'm glad she is getting the food and enjoyed some of your yogurt.

Maybe someone with more knowledge about assist feeding will be along to help with the amount to give.

I will also send an email to Karrie and Maverick. She is in the Feline Assisted Feeding group and will be able to give you the link to that sight. I would post to them to get some guidance, too.
 
Are you using special recovery food? fancy feast wont give enough nutrition or calories in such low doses but a high calorie recovery food is better.
 
Yes Dyana, I think I need some help cuz I'm not sure she's having enough for now with the upset stomach thing ..

Wendy I have WYSONG recommended by the vet ! is that a recovery food ?
 
Dyana just sent me an email to pop in. I help out on a Yahoo group dedicated to assist feeding cats. They saved Maverick's life in 2008 when he lost weight and developed Feline Hepatic Lipidosis - which is liver failure. Also called fatty liver. Cats can't lose weight like humans do - when cats process body fat to make up for a calorie defecit their livers can clog with the fat. Maverick was very close to dying and needed a feeding tube. He had this for ten weeks. The Yahoo Group - Feline Assisted Feeding - knew so much more than my vet did and saved his life. My vet almost killed Maverick recommending he lose weight without warning me of the dangers.

Here is a link to the group: http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/Feline-Assisted-Feeding/ Please join this group ASAP. There are people from around the globe so you will have support when you need it. It is a very active group with lots of experts. When you register you will be sent about five autofiles. One of them is how to safely and effectively syringe feed. On the home page, there is a youtube video of a cat being syringe fed.

You are dealing with diabetes and weight loss. With a diabetic cat you want to ensure lots of calories to avoid diabetic keto acidosis and also to keep her liver healthy. What is the highest calorie food you have access to over there? What would you normally feed her?

Assist feeding is NOT forced feeding. Cats often go off food for any number of reasons including stress. Assist feeding is a tool to keep them healthy and happy through bouts of inappetance or get them through a crisis. It can be syringe feeding, finger feeding, active feeding (such as plopping food on the floor) or via a feeding tube. An etube is the least invasive and can be placed easily but I wouldn't have a vet with no experience place one. I'd focus on syringe feeding.

Maverick was eating 300cc's of food a day when he was recovering. Most cats can handle 20-40 cc's of food per feeding, and you can feed ever 2.5 to 3 hours. You want at least to get in a 5.5oz can of food a day as a starting point. Do you have a baby scale by chance?

Do you know how to check hydration? Hovering around the water bowl could be nausea or dehydration or kidney issues. Slippy gums (not tacky) is a sign as well as when you tent the skin around the back of the neck - if it doesn't go back right away. I am so glad to hear your vet is working with you. Do you think he would be able to prescribe ondansetron or dolasetron?

Any signs of nausea? This includes showing interest in food and just licking or sniffing and walking away, lip licking, lip smacking, teeth grinding and lots of swallowing. Any vomiting? If there is how long after eating? And is it foamy, clear, undigested food, can you describe it?

The FDMB is a truly wonderful, amazing group of people. I was blessed to have found them and FAF. I could not have imagined managing Maverick's diabetes without them and have met people I consider friends from here. I'm glad you found it.

Please do join FAF and read the files and post about Noni there. They are not the diabetes experts, but they are assist feeding experts. It would be a good idea to post answers to the questions I asked you over there also along with an intro on Noni and her health.

Sending big hugs to you and Noni.

Karrie and angel Maverick.
 
+6 passing her shot time ~144

still not shooting . will wait for her next shot and reduce to 1 unit I think,

please advice
 
Karrie and Maverick said:
Dyana just sent me an email to pop in. I help out on a Yahoo group dedicated to assist feeding cats. They saved Maverick's life in 2008 when he lost weight and developed Feline Hepatic Lipidosis - which is liver failure. Also called fatty liver. Cats can't lose weight like humans do - when cats process body fat to make up for a calorie defecit their livers can clog with the fat. Maverick was very close to dying and needed a feeding tube. He had this for ten weeks. The Yahoo Group - Feline Assisted Feeding - knew so much more than my vet did and saved his life. My vet almost killed Maverick recommending he lose weight without warning me of the dangers.

Here is a link to the group: http://pets.groups.yahoo.com/group/Feline-Assisted-Feeding/ Please join this group ASAP. There are people from around the globe so you will have support when you need it. It is a very active group with lots of experts. When you register you will be sent about five autofiles. One of them is how to safely and effectively syringe feed. On the home page, there is a youtube video of a cat being syringe fed.

You are dealing with diabetes and weight loss. With a diabetic cat you want to ensure lots of calories to avoid diabetic keto acidosis and also to keep her liver healthy. What is the highest calorie food you have access to over there? What would you normally feed her?

Assist feeding is NOT forced feeding. Cats often go off food for any number of reasons including stress. Assist feeding is a tool to keep them healthy and happy through bouts of inappetance or get them through a crisis. It can be syringe feeding, finger feeding, active feeding (such as plopping food on the floor) or via a feeding tube. An etube is the least invasive and can be placed easily but I wouldn't have a vet with no experience place one. I'd focus on syringe feeding.

Maverick was eating 300cc's of food a day when he was recovering. Most cats can handle 20-40 cc's of food per feeding, and you can feed ever 2.5 to 3 hours. You want at least to get in a 5.5oz can of food a day as a starting point. Do you have a baby scale by chance?

Do you know how to check hydration? Hovering around the water bowl could be nausea or dehydration or kidney issues. Slippy gums (not tacky) is a sign as well as when you tent the skin around the back of the neck - if it doesn't go back right away. I am so glad to hear your vet is working with you. Do you think he would be able to prescribe ondansetron or dolasetron?

Any signs of nausea? This includes showing interest in food and just licking or sniffing and walking away, lip licking, lip smacking, teeth grinding and lots of swallowing. Any vomiting? If there is how long after eating? And is it foamy, clear, undigested food, can you describe it?

The FDMB is a truly wonderful, amazing group of people. I was blessed to have found them and FAF. I could not have imagined managing Maverick's diabetes without them and have met people I consider friends from here. I'm glad you found it.

Please do join FAF and read the files and post about Noni there. They are not the diabetes experts, but they are assist feeding experts. It would be a good idea to post answers to the questions I asked you over there also along with an intro on Noni and her health.

Sending big hugs to you and Noni.

Karrie and angel Maverick.






Dear Karrie,

I'm glad your here for us, I will join the forum ASAP, but let me first answer your questions:


1- You are dealing with diabetes and weight loss. With a diabetic cat you want to ensure lots of calories to avoid diabetic keto acidosis and also to keep her liver healthy. What is the highest calorie food you have access to over there? What would you normally feed her?


I use Fancy Feast usually as a High Calorie source of food.

Do you have a baby scale by chance?

I don't think we do, but I will ask my sister or call a pharmacy to ask for one I necessarily.

Do you know how to check hydration? Hovering around the water bowl could be nausea or dehydration or kidney issues. Slippy gums (not tacky) is a sign as well as when you tent the skin around the back of the neck - if it doesn't go back right away. I am so glad to hear your vet is working with you. Do you think he would be able to prescribe ondansetron or dolasetron?

I check by tenting the skin, and I can tell there is some dehydration, maybe at early stage.
we had blood test done last week before the diarrhea and everything seemed normal.

ondansetron or dolasetron I'm not sure I can call and ask, but I need to know what are these medicine are used for?

Any signs of nausea? This includes showing interest in food and just licking or sniffing and walking away, lip licking, lip smacking, teeth grinding and lots of swallowing. Any vomiting? If there is how long after eating? And is it foamy, clear, undigested food, can you describe it?


I asked the vet about nausea, she said if there is vomiting yes, but since Noni is not seriously vomiting she said its not.
she just start sniffing recently but walking away , she show some interest but you can tell shes so scared to eat.
vomiting only when I give medication right now .. so I do it slowly now to make her vomit. vomit usually comes when shes so hungry. the foamy kind of vomit. rarely some food comes out .. if hairball or eating something wrong .

I got her some kind of treat 3 weeks a go ! when she smell she want to vomit. but then take it normally and like it.



Hope I answered all your questions. please let me know if you need more information.

I'm glad to be here too .. when she first was diagnosed with diabetes in 2009 vet suggested to put her down. when she got me so upset , that I came back home hopeless searching the web for help with a cat weighted 2.6 KGs , after being 5.7 KGs. she wasn't eating for almost a month before start using insulin.


I'm really thankful for every and each member here, they are all angles and I love them all.
 
Also she is dealing with cancer or a heart problem.. i dont know if aseel or her vet are sure which. Her lungs and stomach keep filling with water. I wonder if that's causing nausea.
 
Ohh thank you Wendy, totally forgot to mention.

they said its a tumor in the lungs, but they doesn't seem to be sure.

she had fluid removed twice out of her lungs.

and she had a swollen nipple removal over a month a go
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top