12/20 OliverTwist pmps 268, 2.5 218, 4 182

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecurie

Member Since 2012
yesterday's condo
yesterday amps 297, +2 239, +3 158, +4.5 92, +5 88. 6.5 81, +8 122 pmps 213,+4 216, + 6 290
today
amps 284
2.5 225
4 289
6 287
11 260
pmps 268
2.5 218
4 182


Good morning LL :-D
So I guess we have a bounce from touching green yesterday. It was nice to see that Ollie can make a green :cool:
My question is should i increase to 2.75 tonite?
I have tried to make this concise since +9 and i just can't so here's my rambling why i still have to ask and can't make this decision
His nadir has been under 200 on most of his 2.75 cycles and he did get below 100 yesterday (although by precious little).
Protocol says to wait 6-10 cycles before increasing and i wonder if he would do well with another cycle or two and see if he responds with more and lower numbers. I also wonder if he'd do better at 3 units. He seems to be close to doing well on 2.75, would 3 bring him closer to doing well?
My usual response to problem solving is to move at a glacial pace and edge into solutions. I don't want to move too quickly, but i don't want to move too slowly. All i seem to be able to do is wonder, not decide. My first thoughts were to raise him to 3 tonight. Please help
thanks very much, again

Everything else is great. All Ps, All Happy kitties. Oliver mostly cuddles up and purrs during testing now. NEVER thought that would happen!!
Hugs and prayers to everyone and every kitty
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist amps 284, increase tonight?

Hi Mary,

No dosing advice from me, but i wanted to sympathize with the indecision. isn't it funny how much we second guess ourselves now with this sugar/insulin dance? I think it is because you just never know what your kitty is going to decide to do... I can't that is for sure. Every time I think Zeus is going to go up he goes down or vice versa. I can never judge what his number is going to look like at test time... Although I did have a feeling that I should get a +2 last night, and glad I did. Maybe I am finally catching on, just in time for Zeus to change his plans :lol:

Have a great day, and good luck with whatever you decide to do with dosing. Hugs,
Kathie
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist amps 284 +2.5 225,+4 289, dose?

Good morning Mary. I wish I could give you some credible advise on whether or not to increase Oliver's dose, but I can't. I fully understand your indecision on what to do. I have the same problem with PF. I think it's a fear of not only doing the wrong thing but that we might negate the progress he has made. Thank God we have some extremely knowledgeable people that give so willing of their time to mentor us through these situations.

Oliver being all happy and purry is a good thing. It really feels good when they purr during testing....it doesn't hurt us as much then. :lol:

Have a great day.
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist amps 284 +2.5 225,+4 289, dose?

Hi guys .. unfortunately no dosing advice from me either .. but it IS nice to see some greens from olivertwist .. maybe there's more to come! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist amps 284 +2.5 225,+4 289, dose?

now i'm really confused.
amps 284
2.5 225
4 289
6 287
Could this still be a bounce from yesterday morning? Could this be another flat cycle, with an active one to follow? is this just not enough insulin?
I just don't have enough smarts to know what i'm looking at.
during his shot this morning, i held the plunger in for a couple seconds before removing the syringe from ollie. after seeing this odd +4 I got out the syringe from his shot this morning. When i pushed the plunger again, really hard, a drop of insulin came out. could this goofy day be a result of me not getting all the insulin in the cat?
i couldn't believe he was going up at +4.. tested again with a different blood drop and instead of 289 it was 290.


(edit) added at +6 if i'm picking from hold or increase, i'm picking for hold and see what the next cycle is. only because, if this is a flat waiting for a break, i don't know what adding an increased dose might do. I also don't know what you advise about increasing a dose while waiting for a break.

thanks for looking and helping.
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist amps 284 +2.5 225,+4 289,+6 287 dose

I think I'd be inclined to hold the dose and see what Oliver does tonight. That flat yellow could mean you'll be busy tonight.
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist amps 284 +2.5 225,+4 289,+6 287 dose

Thanks Sienne,
I've got all my "stuff" ready for being busy. Never thought i'd be anxious/ready to be busy.
Right, such big talk when we're not even to pmps yet.
thanks again
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist amps 284 +2.5 225,+4 289,+6 287, +11 2

I can sooo relate to your indecision, Mary! I went through the same thing today and I don't even have quite so much to be worried about. I agree with Frosty in that we just really want to do the right thing and not screw it all up. We'll have to wait and see what happens next cycle - good luck! Lil Oliver, don't you scare your Mamabean, but do come on down to greenie land, ok?
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist pmps 268

That's great that Oliver is cuddly and purry during testing. Furball is like that for me too. She wasn't at first, but now I think she sees it as a time for her to be the only one getting attention. Good luck with deciding when to increase the dose.
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist pmps 268, 2.5 218, 4 182,

today
amps 284
2.5 225
4 289
6 287
11 260
pmps 268
2.5 218
4 182
I will get a +6 but i'm not expecting much. If nothing spectacular happens before amps, i'm ready to increase to 3. tomorrow, unless you think there's something flawed in that decision.
I actually thought/hoped we might see some real progress after almost 24 hours in flat yellow. It doesn't look like that's going to happen Now i'm thinking he's got a nice range of numbers for his curve, but we need to bring the whole thing down. so, more juice?
thanks

Hey Kathie, you are sooo right. I have no idea what Ollie's plan is. Every time i think i have an idea what's up, ....wrong. truly we are along just to post the numbers and hand out treats. :roll:
Hi Devon, thanks for the good wishes. I really hope there's more greens in ollie's future.
Oh Sienne, the cat is in charge. i guess it's better to be safe than sorry.
Hi Tara, well, what happened? looks like not very much. he could throw me a curve at 6, but i don't want to sit on a hot stove until he does.
Carla, It is nice when they like us even when we test them.
Have a good night.
hugs and scritches.
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist pmps 268, 2.5 218, 4 182increase tomor

Hello Mary. It sounds like Oliver has you pulling your hair out again about what to do. I think they actually enjoy see us get that frustrated and confused. I'm sure you'll get it all right and if an increase comes at the AM I hope he adjust to it and gives you some better numbers.

It doesn't look like you're going to pull an all nighter anyway. Have a good one.
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist pmps 268, 2.5 218, 4 182increase tomor

Mary

Let me read through your condo and look at his SS and I'll brb on dosing for tomorrow.
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist pmps 268, 2.5 218, 4 182increase tomor

If you look at some past doses,it took him a few more than ten cycles to start showing green (look at 2.75u dose you started 11/4 and 2.5u you started 11/16). Usually when they get some green on a dose, and considering his flat yellow, you might want to hold just a few more cycles. I tend to be an aggressive doser but I usually give Gracie ten cycles on an increase if she's getting into normal numbers.

But, having said all that, if you want to increase tomorrow, you probably have a little room but you will need to stay on top of the testing. I would be surprised if he stays at a higher dose for very long.
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist pmps 268, 2.5 218, 4 182increase tomor

Dont be hard on yourself Mary, they do come up & down on their bg without any "obvious reason". Hang in there!
Good luck with your dose increase!
 
Re: 12/20 OliverTwist pmps 268, 2.5 218, 4 182increase tomor

thank you Marje, i'll hang at 2.75.
so patterns, look for patterns? "look at the spreadsheet not as 1 cycle but waves of patterns? " You may not get the same numbers but look for a pattern? I can't put it into words, but i think my brain is having a flat yellow and something may finally make sense soon.
take care and thanks again
mary and oliver

hi Helen,
I'm hanging. Thank heavens for all of you here.
xoxo
mary and oliver
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top