KPassa
Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.
Last night, when I got home from work around 6 pm, I saw that Mikey hadn't yet discovered his afternoon batch of food had opened so I reset the timer on it for 7:30 pm, when his next shot was due. I had my brother do his PMPS in preparation for my business trip next week and Mikey was at 181 on the ReliOn Prime, which runs ~10-20 points lower than the Micro and Accuchek Nano. I figured this would be a perfect trial run for him on what to do if Mikey was under 200 at shot time. That is, if he wanted to do it properly instead of just skipping the shot entirely, which is another option I've given him.
We continued testing Mikey and at around +12.5, Mikey found his leftover food from the afternoon had opened up that I had forgotten about.
Even still, I wasn't too worried about the effect of food on his BG numbers because his PMPS was already borderline 200 on the Prime and the spot-check tests we got in before he ate the food showed he was still on his way up.
When my brother finally gave Mikey his shot at +13, he said he felt wetness and smelled insulin so it might have been a fur shot. I checked, and also smelled/felt that the insulin didn't go in. Another perfect chance to train my brother on this scenario as well: DON'T give another shot. So, I think that's why his numbers ran high last night (and this morning).
I also weighed him yesterday and this morning and I think it's safe to bump up his "official" weight from the ~7.8 pounds he's been carrying since the beginning of the month to a solid 8 pounds! :thumbup
Question: I've only ever free-fed dry kibble in the past (I didn't know any better!
) so I've never paid attention to any of my previous kittens' calorie consumption besides making sure their food bowl was full. Now, dealing with a diabetically ravenous kitten, what is the general recommendation for feeding kittens? Do you wait till a year or till a certain weight or size before switching them to regular adult food/regular calorie consumption? Or do you wait till they stop growing? Mikey's a Maine Coon...so five years? :lol:
Last night, when I got home from work around 6 pm, I saw that Mikey hadn't yet discovered his afternoon batch of food had opened so I reset the timer on it for 7:30 pm, when his next shot was due. I had my brother do his PMPS in preparation for my business trip next week and Mikey was at 181 on the ReliOn Prime, which runs ~10-20 points lower than the Micro and Accuchek Nano. I figured this would be a perfect trial run for him on what to do if Mikey was under 200 at shot time. That is, if he wanted to do it properly instead of just skipping the shot entirely, which is another option I've given him.
We continued testing Mikey and at around +12.5, Mikey found his leftover food from the afternoon had opened up that I had forgotten about.
When my brother finally gave Mikey his shot at +13, he said he felt wetness and smelled insulin so it might have been a fur shot. I checked, and also smelled/felt that the insulin didn't go in. Another perfect chance to train my brother on this scenario as well: DON'T give another shot. So, I think that's why his numbers ran high last night (and this morning).
I also weighed him yesterday and this morning and I think it's safe to bump up his "official" weight from the ~7.8 pounds he's been carrying since the beginning of the month to a solid 8 pounds! :thumbup
Question: I've only ever free-fed dry kibble in the past (I didn't know any better!