12/4 Chip PMPS 58 +4 67 +5 60 +6 73 +7 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dale 'n' Chip

Member Since 2012
Bounce cleared.

I can tell the bounce is clearing (and it's time to test) because he will jump to his feet and ask for food.
 
Re: 12/4 Chip PMPS 58

Chip's numbers are lookin' good, I hope I can get Zeus to look more like that. I do have a question for you, Dale.... When do you sleep? ;-) I am very impressed with the number of tests that you get in every day.
 
Re: 12/4 Chip PMPS 58 +1 77

I can nap when he's surfing blue. I can't sleep a wink when he is pink or higher. But today while he was yellow I was out of town for about 6 hours.

That's just the thing, you can't tell what they are really doing without quite a bit of testing.

It's not always what you think it is with just a few spot checks. :smile:
 
Re: 12/4 Chip PMPS 58 +1 77

I agree with what you are saying, and would love to get a test in every hour of the day. I've often wished that there was some kind of monitor that could keep track of Zeus 24/7 and alert me if there was a problem. I just don't function well after the nights that I have to stay up and test.
 
Re: 12/4 Chip PMPS 58 +1 77

Lovely bg curve, Chip! Keep surfing green!
It's good that you can cat nap. That will be less stressful & less impact to your health. I do not fell asleep easily. Since Rosy's on TR in March, Ive lost over 5kg.
 
Re: 12/4 Chip PMPS 58 +1 77 +2 88

Sometimes when it's going well and I'm testing lots of green I can meditate 45 minutes between each test or skip a test and nap 90 minutes.

But when I've been awake 25 hours and/or something else is going on I can sure lose my sanity. :-|
 
Re: 12/4 Chip PMPS 58 +1 77

tortie58 said:
Lovely bg curve, Chip! Keep surfing green!
It's good that you can cat nap. That will be less stressful & less impact to your health. I do not fell asleep easily. Since Rosy's on TR in March, Ive lost over 5kg.
It might be effective, but that's not a good "diet plan". ;-)
Take care of you too, ok?
Carl
 
How lovely to see you on this side of the Board!!

It's not always what you think it is with just a few spot checks.
Why do I think someone is getting addicted to green? (Repeat after me: "My name is _______ and I'm a testaholic.")

Just out of curiosity, it looks like you've stalled a few shots. Any particular reason? Also, you do know that with a week in normal numbers, you can reduce the dose?
 
We're back and frankly, lucky to be back in one piece after making every mistake in the book. :smile:

Sienne and Gabby said:
Just out of curiosity, it looks like you've stalled a few shots. Any particular reason?
I started out stalling from the first time he was too low to shoot, since I was determined not so skip any shots. The first time he was 60 at PS, I stalled an hour and took a reduction. I felt that reduction didn't hold, so after that I stuck with just the stall. Right now the +12 for the numerous stalls are not on the SS but I plan to add another column for those. A few of those were under 50, and not wanting to shoot (then) goes back to the "shooting low on Lantus" mentality which is very different from Levemir. The many stalls have taken the shot times around the clock several times now.

I'm going to try keeping the shot time (by shooting lower) and see how that goes.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Also, you do know that with a week in normal numbers, you can reduce the dose?
Yes, I was counting on that one as an easy reduction. But he hasn't really come that close with more blue on this dose.

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose.
He needs to stay primarily green (and not bouncing) for that one?

At this point I'm still nervous about any *unnecessary* reduction not holding, but I may try again here soon. The next reduction will be a sk2.75U.
 
...not wanting to shoot (then) goes back to the "shooting low on Lantus" mentality which is very different from Levemir.
Hmmmmm...... The protocol for Lantus and Lev is identical. I'm not aware of a different approach with Lev. Is there a link to what you're referring to?

The week at normal numbers isn't that every, single test needs to be in the under 100 range. "Overall," the tests to be within that range. However, "overall" is a subjective term. You know your cat and have a better feel for whether a few more days at a dose is called for.
 
Nope just the "experience" or mentality. With Levemir, apparently virtually nothing happens from a given shot during the current cycle. Unlike Lantus where whatever Lantus that doesn't precipitate may apparently go directly into the blood and give that extra punch within hours.

With Levemir I haven't seen that happen. So skipped shots/chicken shots and even "shooting the bounce" seem to work somewhat differently. The depot seems to retain nearly full control of every Levemir cycle. It's like shooting more for the next cycle than the current one since it apparently seems to take longer to become *available* in the blood.

Of course ECID. :smile:

And I may be way off on that... everyone needs plenty of data to see how their own cat reacts in any given situation.
 
We see the same "downstream" effects with Lantus. Rarely does what you expect to happen, happen during the current cycle. But, as you duly note, ECID.
 
Re: 12/4 Chip PMPS 58 +1 77

Dale 'n' Chip said:
I can't sleep a wink when he is pink or higher.
How come? I actually take advantage when Pumbaa is pink or higher and get some sleep.
 
Re: 12/4 Chip PMPS 58 +1 77

knolet said:
I've often wished that there was some kind of monitor that could keep track of Zeus 24/7 and alert me if there was a problem. I just don't function well after the nights that I have to stay up and test.
In total agreement...some monitor that would sound huge alarms and release slightly higher carbed food if the cat drops below 50. *LOL*
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Why do I think someone is getting addicted to green? (Repeat after me: "My name is _______ and I'm a testaholic.")
*LOL* Mel and Sheila are my TAA (Test-Aholics Anonymous) support group.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top