12/3 Michelangelo AMPS 332, +7/326

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

He seems to do really well whenever I first increase his dose, then he just flatlines till I increase it again. Am I looking at another dose increase? 1.25u next.

I also found out that I only have to be gone a couple of days for work. It's 4 shots that I won't be able to give to Mikey (PMS, a full day, and then an AMS). Should I just let him skip those four cycles or will it cause more actual harm than the potential harm of him going into hypo while no one is home?
 
Hello!

I think Sienne would probably agree a dose increase is in order and you have time to see how it plays out before you go away. However she might want you to wait a little longer to make sure he doesnt drop too low at night.. that 57 is low.... and you dont have a lot of room to drop lower.

Personally I wouldn't skip if I felt that the caregiver could do manage the shot and testing. There has been a few times I skipped with Tiggy (due to illness as much as anything) and it really set him back.. I ended up having to increase the dose way above where he was beforehand.

Also make sure you show the caregiver clearly on the syringe how much to give and maybe even leave a marked syringe with coloured liquid in it for him to use as reference!
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
I think Sienne would probably agree a dose increase is in order and you have time to see how it plays out before you go away.

The dose increase will have to wait till the weekend since I'm often not home during the week for Mikey's testing to make sure it's not too much, but now I'm starting to worry I have an Acro/IAA cat.

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Personally I wouldn't skip if I felt that the caregiver could do manage the shot and testing. There has been a few times I skipped with Tiggy (due to illness as much as anything) and it really set him back.. I ended up having to increase the dose way above where he was beforehand.

Also make sure you show the caregiver clearly on the syringe how much to give and maybe even leave a marked syringe with coloured liquid in it for him to use as reference!

All right; good call. :smile: I'm specifically worried about the first PMS because my roommate has to work (he has the next two days off, so I'm not too worried about him being able to give those shots). I was planning on marking draw-to lines on the syringes for him to use to reduce the chances of an accidental overdose.
 
You worry too much ;) What makes you think he is an Acro/IAA cat? He seems to be responding to the insulin on a fairly low dose. i think Acro cats (but I could be wrong) need much higher doses- you are nowhere near that yet. If anything the issue is that he is a kitten and is growing.. you might hit the right dose for him, then he grows and the dose is wrong again. Over time you might need to keep tweaking his insulin level to keep him in a reasonable BG range.

Waiting on the dose change till you hear from an expert, he is still bouncing around on this dose so might need the full 5-7 days on it (or longer) unless he drops below 50 to get a decrease.

I did see you asking when the bouncing stops... have you looked at Tiggys SS (signature below)? He hasnt stopped bouncing yet and has been at it for months. Some cats stop bouncing quickly in days or weeks, others do it forever.. but bouncing is a good thing since a high flat number is bad - bouncing means at least you are pulling him down into normal numbers!.
 
You worry too much ;) What makes you think he is an Acro/IAA cat? He seems to be responding to the insulin on a fairly low dose. i think Acro cats (but I could be wrong) need much higher doses- you are nowhere near that yet. If anything the issue is that he is a kitten and is growing.. you might hit the right dose for him, then he grows and the dose is wrong again. Over time you might need to keep tweaking his insulin level to keep him in a reasonable BG range.

Waiting on the dose change till you hear from an expert, he is still bouncing around on this dose so might need the full 5-7 days on it (or longer) unless he drops below 50 to get a decrease.

I did see you asking when the bouncing stops... have you looked at Tiggys SS (signature below)? He hasnt stopped bouncing yet and has been at it for months. Some cats stop bouncing quickly in days or weeks, others do it forever.. but bouncing is a good thing since a high flat number is bad - bouncing means at least you are pulling him down into normal numbers!.
 
So far, all I see is a bouncy cat! We don't start thinking acro/IAA until your dose is over 6.0u. You have a ways to go.

I would hold the dose until the bounce clears.

Do you have someone who can care for Mikey while you're gone? There may be a vet tech from your vet's office who can come by and give shots. I use a vet tech for Gabby and I reduce her dose so there's minimal risk for a problem with hypo.
 
Hi Kay

The protocol states that for nadirs between 100-200, hold the dose for 6-10 consecutive cycles before increasing. I think when a kitty is hitting blue numbers, it's a good idea to hold for ten cycles and let the dose settle. And, as Sienne said, you want to let the bounce clear. Raising the dose as a bounce is clearing can put Mikey at low numbers fast since bounce clearing cycles tend to have a little momentum behind them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top