12/1 Michelangelo AMPS 322, +6/172 PMPS 305, +2/164, +5/57

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

At last night's PMS, I increased his dose to a fat 1u. I'm already loving all the blues I'm seeing, even after his meals. :mrgreen:

I used to feed him EVO until I noticed his numbers always ran high on those days. Reading up on it, it looks like EVO has a higher fat percentage than a lot of the other LC, wet foods. So, I've also decided that since Michelangelo's food choices are completely at my whim, I'm going to do a daily mono-diet to get to the bottom of how each variety of food affects his BG and whether it's the amount of carbs or the fat/protein ratio or something else. This will probably take me a while as I'm sure I'll have to do a 3-day trial for each food, but for now, I'm just going to take it a day at a time. Heck, if he's really Type 1, I have at least the next 20 years to experiment on him. :lol:

I also just realized that all my food comments on my spreadsheet are only visible to me and not to anyone viewing the "published" version so now I'm contemplating creating a supplemental spreadsheet related solely to how the food is affecting his BG numbers. Today, I'm feeding him exclusively Nature's Variety Chicken. Btw, does anyone else pick out the visible carrots and peas from their canned food or is it just me? I long ago figured that if I do it to my own food with ingredients I can't eat (like raw tomatoes on a salad), then I can do it with his food. :smile: Not sure if it makes any difference whatsoever, but I don't know why they insist on putting those ingredients in it in the first place. (Cost cutting? because NV is expensive enough to begin with!)

Sienne and Gabby said:
I suspect you are thinking that nadirs should always fall mid-cycle. They don't. Some cats have early nadirs, some late, and some play by the rule book and have a mid-cycle nadir. And just to make things even more interesting, the nadir can shift around. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see her nadir is typically at around +3 or +4 and then some cycles it's later. The bottom line is that the nadir isn't a fixed point. It does move and it has little to do with Mikey being a kitten. Where his age may effect numbers is that kittens are very active and as a result, burn off their food more quickly. That may end up having an effect on BG. .

Whew! I was worried that this was just going to be one more thing for me to be aware of in the differences between him and a full-grown cat. I feel much better now. :-D

I also just found out late yesterday afternoon that I have to leave on a business trip the week of the 17th. So far, the only person cross-trained in Mikey's care is my brother, but he's going to be gone on a snowboarding trip that week!! I should be freaking out right now, but surprisingly, I'm not too worried that I'll be able to cross-train someone else before my trip (hopefully our other roommate). I think this lack of fear is partially because my day job often deals with high-level documentation and training for IT Admins, so teaching a layperson how to test Mikey and give insulin should be a cakewalk in comparison. :lol: This also helps explain all of my meticulous record-keeping and documentation I've been doing with Mikey. What better opportunity to give my OCD free reign than with this? It's times like these when it's not a disorder but an attribute. haha_smiley

Worst case scenario, I'll have to hire someone, but (un)luckily I have enough friends currently out of work that would jump at the chance for some spare cash, especially right before Christmas.
 
Re: 12/1 Michelangelo AMPS 322, +6/172 PMPS 305, +2/164, +5/

The fat 1u is definitely making an impact. Similar to what I saw when I increased his dose from a skinny 1u to a full 1u. I'd say I hope he sustains pleasantly on this level, but I have a feeling his insulin increases are corresponding with his growth levels and, depending on if I have to do another increase at his next growth spurt, that'll confirm it for me.

I fed him at his +5 and I hope after his +6, he starts heading back up naturally without food because I'm tired and want to go to sleep. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 12/1 Michelangelo AMPS 322, +6/172 PMPS 305, +2/164, +5/

I second that on wanting to go to sleep!!
Honey's a little higher than Michelangelo at +5 - just gave her some LC. Hoping for 1 more test and then sleep @-)

Hope Michelangelo stays in nice surfing number for you for the rest of the night.
 
Re: 12/1 Michelangelo AMPS 322, +6/172 PMPS 305, +2/164, +5/

Woo-Hoo! One-Oh-Two!

His +3 to +4 was only a 7-point increase from food and I fed him the same amount at +5 as I did at +3. So, I'm fairly certain this 45-point increase is a signal that he's headed back up, not to mention he just finished off his second can of NV for the day at his +6. Even still, I might as well wait it out now till his +7 to be sure since I'm already up. :lol:
 
Re: 12/1 Michelangelo AMPS 322, +6/172 PMPS 305, +2/164, +5/

It's a bit addictive getting that one more test isn't it :lol: It does also pay to be sure!
 
Re: 12/1 Michelangelo AMPS 322, +6/172 PMPS 305, +2/164, +5/

That one more test...and then another one. And here I am, still looking at the clock, thinking only another half hour till his +9 and I've never gotten a PM +9 before. haha_smiley
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top