reading of 39 but no symptoms?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by static, Mar 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. static

static Member

I am new to home testing and so far have gotten very inconsistent results. I have a Bayer Countour device and am now out of test strips. I've wasted a lot of strips due to the blood samples being too small. Dale is on one unit of Lantus twice a day and I was feeding him Iam's. After reading around on how people got their cats OTJ I wanted to home monitor and experiment with another food. When I first tested Dale I mostly got readings in the 200's but even as high as 340. I switched him to Merrick and this +2.5 after shot got a reading of 163 which is the lowest I've ever gotten. After his evening meal and shot I wanted to test again and see if there was less of a food spike, and got a reading of 39. I don't know if this is significant, but I was testing on his ear but this time tried the paw since I was having a hard time. Since it was the last test strip, I can't retest at the moment. I'm wondering if it could be a fluke or if this device may not be accurate. I gave him a snack and he ate up, but he seems fine- energetic and purring. I can go get new test strips in the morning but do I need to worry now? Should I still give him his morning dose?

2. sanrun

sanrun Member

There is no way to know for sure unless you get some strips tonight to test him again. If that isn't possible, then watch him very closely and give him some extra snacks. Get the new strips before you shoot the AM shot. It's never a good idea to shoot blind, I hypoed my kitty Stubby doing that.

Sandy

3. Sarah and Velcro

Sarah and Velcro Member

Assuming the new food you feed is low carb... There may be good things in the future for this kitty. :)

In the morning the BG is likely to be 300-400. However, it will be important to test before shooting.

Many people use Bayer meters, so it should be fine. :)