11/11 Leo AMPS 480 +2 476 +5 504 +11 435 PMPS 449

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Dose Increase Condo

Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 289
+2 287
+5 241
+10 272
PMPS 325
+2 283
+6 111 <--- !!! Yay!
AMPS 480 <--- Booo

Good Morning LL! Happy Sunday ~O) ~O) ~O)

Finally, we had a nice smooth cycle of yellows yesterday, which was actually a very nice thing. Leo is such the bouncy boy! But since he's all over, and we haven't seen greens much, so time for a dose increase. Sheesh - he was on this dose for 50 cycles. Wow. I guess we've just had so much insanity and bouncing it wasn't immediately obvious we needed to move along. I was mucking with the calipers last night and gave what I thought would be a 1.25u dose (trying to warm up my rusty drop-counting method), but after I started practicing and figuring out how many mm = how many units, I may have given closer to 1.5u. But I think I have a conversion chart worked out. For my calipers, the 4" digital calipers I've seen folks mention around here from Harbor Freight, 1 unit = 1.5 mm. Seems to be pretty consistent. So 1.25u = 1.87mm. So that's what I'll use. This will certainly improve consistency - paws crossed.

Leo behaves differently at home than at the apartment. He stalks Molly at home, and is more a stinker. He doesn't come as easily to me. The house is bigger (obviously) and he gets locked in a room at night. He doesn't eat as consistently. In my apartment, he gets the run of the place, and we play more because he's allowed under a bed. Sigh.

Dreary day here today, time for some errands and writing out bills. Ugh. Maybe we'll watch a movie later or something.

Have a good day all!
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480

Morning Lisa, good luck with the new dose and also the calipers. I haven't quite gone the calipers route yet, but thinking about it. I'm probably off a drop at times. Have a nice, relaxing day and hope Leo has a nice slide.

Leo, I'll see ya a little later at mannie's pad, sis Mags
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480

Morning Lisa ~O) ~O) ~O)

Bummer on that amps. Leo dude! come down this instant! At least to the pink floor where Mannie is hanging out. maybe you too can find the lower floors together.

Good luck with the new dose, and the calipers. I so hear you on the consistency of dosing.

Interesting on the difference on behavior with the home vs apt. hmmmm... Leo you like the apt better?

enjoy your day today. still too dark here to tell how dreary it is outside.... I will hope for clear skies...
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480 +2 476

Hi Ann - I think the calipers will help a lot, especially with DH trying to do 1.25u this week. :? Hopefully we'll get a slide, but it looks like he bounced from the early AM low? Dunno yet.

HI Michelle - yes, I've spoken to Leo about the red. And he better get to pinks if he wants to go out and play with Mannie

Hi Dyana - thank you. He has his orders!
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480 +2 476

Come on down, just a little bit faster, Leo..

I don't know why I'm so off in my caliper measuring than everyone else it seems, but I am measuring 1.90mm as a s0.50, but it has to be my syringes. I just tried again and if I measure in the middle of the syringe the 1.90 is about 1.5 units and from the top of the syringe it looks more like a f0.50. I just try to be consistant :roll:
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480 +2 476 +5 504 NDW

Hi Dyana - no luck. Seems we have here some NEW DOSE WONKINESS at it's finest. Hunh. 110 in the night and 504 12 hours later. Sigh. WRT calipers ... could just be where you are measuring from at the top. But as you say, as long as *you* are consistent and know what you mean by f0.50 for example, that's really all that matters.

Hi Carla - thanks. It seems it will bring Leo down, but NOT before he decides to re-sample all the colors at the top of the rainbow. He'll wait until about 3 am and toss 50 in there or something. STINKER! :lol:
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480 +2 476 +5 504 NDW

Hi Lisa,

Talk about bouncing! Leo that's ridiculous! Come back here, we miss you down here where you belong. Racci always goes nuts too when her dose is changed. I hope it only takes him a day to get back to normal.

Talk to you later! Have a good day!

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480 +2 476 +5 504 NDW

Hi Lisa, Wow NDW Leo, he sure is excited about the new dose. Hope he comes down soon for you! Good luck with the calipers, as others said, being consistent is what matters most.
We had sunny 70 degrees this weekend, sending it your way tomorrow. We also had a mild earthquake yesterday, rattled the house but no damage - not sending that your way ;-) .
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480 +2 476 +5 504 NDW

:shock: sheshhh and wrong way Leo! About face pronto young man. Please. one has to love NDW. Another one of Mannie's specialties from way back when....
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480 +2 476 +5 504 NDW

Alright Leo, You were not listening to Mags and Mannie. You are heading the wrong direction and its making mamabean crazy! Let's hope the new dose settles things out for you soon, please!!!

Hope you are having a good afternoon. Its a cold one here...that wind chill is biting. Glad to be home now.

We have a new vet appt tomorrow night. Hopefully it will go well. We want a vet that takes diabetes seriously. FB probably needs a dental; his breath is atrocious! :lol: :lol: I'll open up a new condo with what we find out.

Karen
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480 +2 476 +5 504 NDW

FWIW, the 480 and 504 are pretty much the same when you factor in meter variance.

I really want to encourage yo to stick with the protocol and evaluate Leo's dose every 3 days/6 cycles. Let's get him in better numbers!
 
Re: 11/11 Leo AMPS 480 +2 476 +5 504 NDW

Hi Lisa & Leo,

Those are some numbers, Leo! Don't you like your new dose?

Lisa, what syringes are you using? I use Terumos and am measuring my skinny 1.75 unit dose as 2.44mm. If I were still using Monojects, the mm number would be lower because the Monoject syringes have a fatter barrel. I figure that a drop on the Terumos is 0.11 mm. I totally disregard the lines as marked on the syringe and use the plastic "line" as my "zero", as demonstrated in Marje's photos.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79851&hilit=calipers.

Have you seen the discussion from last summer about the calipers and the syringes?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75126

Hope you are having a good evening and that Leo will come down tonight

Ella & Rusty
 
(Copying this to my new condo since I am so late replying here .....)


HI Ella - thanks for reposting the links. I am measuring like Marje does in her pictures. I use Terumo's with 1 unit markings. My numbers agree with Marje's numbers in the second post ... she checked a box of Terumos and got 1.52mm = 1u. I only played with 2 syringes and got 1.50mm - 1u. I also measured from 1 unit to 10 units and found it consistent too (e.g., 2 units was 3.0mm). I will play more but it's nice to see a confirmation from her very thorough work. I am using the same calipers. You're skinny 1.75u of 2.44 makes sense too ... with my translation, 1.75 is 2.63 and you're shooting a bit less than that. Thanks for posting your numbers - it makes me feel more confident that I'm on the right track. I'm still looking at the lines just to see how far off a particular syringe is, and then eyeball to make sure I'm not doing something really stupid with the dose (like off by half a unit or something in a zoned state). But for measuring, I am not using them anymore (as of yesterday!)

Sienne - I will. I didn't realize how long we went on that dose. With the new travel, the new baby, the hurricane, etc., he was just all over the place. I think you are telling me I should have raised his dose before now, right?

HI Karen - yup - give Leo hell! :lol: I had a great afternoon - watching movies and reading OUTSIDE!!! Good luck on the new vet - bad breath - whew.

HI Michelle - Leo's coming down a bit (I'm writing this at +10 so today should be better). We had nearly 70 yesterday afternoon too!!!

HI Melanie - it looks like today will be better. I don't have great history on raising his dose after a long period on a lower dose, so this is not a surprise from what I read. He better take warning! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top