11/6 - Tip - AMPS-317 +2-428 +3-370 +6-235 PMPS-243 +2-363

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
11/5 condo

AMPS - 317
+2 - 428
+3 - 370
+6 - 235
PMPS - 243(Also tested at 262)
+2 - 363

Come on Tip, I don't want to have to increase again....we're losing progress.

Back from the vet with Christmas. Asked about the T4 and they said that they did "a T4" bu didn't specify. So I'm going to want to have the other one done, but couldn't remember it. They also want to do an ultrasound because something felt off near her stomach, and want to see if that's the problem. They're also thinking it may be lymphoma or IBS like previously thought if she keeps it up. They put her on some medicine, don't know the name off-hand, so I'll write it down for you guys in a bit.
 
Re: 11/6 - Tip - AMPS-317 +2-428 +3-370 +6-235

Hmmm now I am no expert but I am wondering (And see what Sienne says!) that a higher dose looked better on her. I saw a lot more greens and blues at 7IU. Now I know the protocol says drop the dose (like you did) if a newly diagnosed cat goes under 50 but it doesnt seem to really be holding well. Plus you dropped the dose by 1/2 from 7 to 6.5 instead of 1/4 like the protocol says I think. So you might well creep back up to that dose again .. or maybe even higher if you have lost some ground.

Dont like the sound of "something feels off".. when is the ultrasound?
 
Re: 11/6 - Tip - AMPS-317 +2-428 +3-370 +6-235

Yeah, the half-unit was suggested once to let the shed drain a bit, but seems it's drained a bit too much. Hopefully won't need many more dose increases though. Knock on wood.

Neither do I....it'll be expensive, but I just don't want it to go on any longer than need be, better to catch it early rather than when it's a bigger problem than can be handled. It'd hopefully be next wednesday, wish it could be sooner, but the person that does the ultrasounds travels around central Ohio, sothey can only do them when she's in town. I'll know when they call me to set up the appointment.
 
Re: 11/6 - Tip - AMPS-317 +2-428 +3-370 +6-235

Tip, get down from there! I hear a dosecrease threat. I think dropping by the 1/2 unit as suggested was the right thing to do. As I discovered when Neko was up there, that large shed can last a long time and it's very easy for it to get ahead of you.

You might want to check out Dr. Pierson's article on hyperthyroidism. I just took Neko in for a blood draw this morning and read the article this morning before hand. We are getting the total T4 done. My vet says the free T4 is a lot more expensive, but that may vary by location. Paws crossed for something easily treatable for Christmas.
 
Re: 11/6 - Tip - AMPS-317 +2-428 +3-370 +6-235 PMPS-243

And Tip responds to the dosecrease threat! :lol: Maybe I should do that more often! Get her in to better numbers! I agree, and it was getting difficult for me to keep which numbers represent which dose.

I've read it once before. So what's the difference between free T4 and total T4? Which one should I be looking to get scheduled for her? Definitely....and I never thought I'd be concerned about this, but it's scary how much all this is going to cost. nailbite_smile Still got to get Tips insulin, and the ultrasound is going to be $171. Thankfully it only cost $60 today. I'm glad my grandpa is willing to help, but this has definitely been a lesson to me that a part-time minimum wage job($7.40 I think in Ohio? I can't exactly remember off-hand) doesn't work so well for trying to live off of it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top