11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 PMPS 250 +1 344

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday
AMPS 496
+1 455
+3 449
PMPS 413
+3 378
+6 218

I know, wait and test. I've NEVER shot this low and am very uncomfortable.

The last 4 shots I've used calibers and tried to get a magic 1u dose. I've likely given min in inadvertent dose increase trying to get 1u correct.

Note - this is not a (freak out) 911 - just trying to get attention from an experienced board member.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 guidance on low PS

Hi Lisa

Got your PM asking for eyes on your condo, thanks. I can't stay with you unfortunately, I'm already late and should have been out the door twenty minutes ago - have you PM'ed a couple of others? (Sienne may be coming on soon, she is often on around this time.)

As you've said: Stall, withhold food, test every 20 minutes or so to try and catch the rise as soon as it happens.

Things to consider:
- Can you monitor, if you do shoot?
- Got enough supplies?
- Can you deal with a schedule change if you were to have to stall for a considerable amount of time?

Even though most cats *can* be shot at (+12) even on a low PS, if you can't monitor, aren't (yet) comfortable with it, and can't make a schedule change work, you may have to consider skipping, as much as that would be unfortunate.

Sorry, I really have to run! Hope this helps a bit and that someone comes on to chip in.
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 guidance on low PS

Hi Jane

I will stay here today, situation will permit it. I'll check on Sienne, didn't PM anyone else. You know, I REALLY DO have to make a list of people who might be on at this time when I'm at AMPS! D'oh!

Thanks for stopping in - don't stick around on my account. I've got this, actually, just never shot this low.

Have a good day!
Lisa
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 guidance on low PS

HI Lisa - I won't be here long either, but agree with Jane. I have shot this before, but fed Mannie a much high carb food at shot time, and then monitored every 30 minutes until numberss were up. If you can't do that, there is no harm in skipping. or shooting a reduced dose.

there is a sticky on the board that addresses shooting low numbers. can't find it though in my haste here.....

wish you luck!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 guidance on low PS

Hi Michelle - yes, my other browser window is on that page, no worries. Thanks - I'll try my steering again, but will have to go higher carb, obviously.

Thanks!
Lisa
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 guidance on low PS

Morning Lisa, wow with Leo's AMPS! :shock: :mrgreen: What did you decide? Oh looks like stalling.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 guidance on low PS

HI Ann,

Yes, stalling. Little stinker. I guess he was out late partying at the Halloween Progressive and didn't get enough to eat or something. Sheesh. He had that nice string of blues .. is he bouncing from that? Or, I'm mucking with these calipers, trying to get 1u. I could have aimed for trying to duplicate what I was shooting before, but I've got a box of needles from two different boxes and they are each different in terms of markings, with one closer to 1u and one less than 1u, so it was confusing to decide what to measure on the calipers. SHEESH!!!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 guidance on low PS

Well, Leo certainly wanted your full attention!

FWIW, you've shot a larger dose at an 80. You can continue to stall or you can shoot. If you have supplies and are going to be home, you're good to go. I don't know if there ever is a "perfect" time to shoot low. At this stage of the game, it's more a matter of what you're comfortable with. You're the only one who can gauge your comfort level and no one here will twist your arm and force you to shoot. You have the skills to steer the curve with food -- you've handled numbers in the 30s.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 STALL OR FEED?

Hi Sienne

+1 44. I'm looking at the sticky and wondering if I should do the 1tsp of LC and retest or shoot not knowing if he's coming up at the end of the cycle or not. I'm not crazy about shooting a 44. I'm currently waiting for the next 20 minute test.

LITTLE STINKER this was a surprise.

Thanks
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 STALL OR FEED?

I've every confidence he will drop like a rock at +1.5 or +2.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 STALL OR FEED?

Lisa, good luck in what you decide. It's what you're comfortable with and if you're around to monitor. I know with those darn lines. I don't have the calipers, so I count drops which gets crazy on the higher doses.

Leo, looks like we both didn't eat enough Hallloween candy, Mags
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 STALL OR FEED?

Ann - so little Leo and his sister Mags were" good" last night and only had tuna toddies and fresh moose meat and not Reece's Meece's? Sheesh. We'll have to talk about counting drops off-line. I'm not sure if we do it the same way.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 STALL OR FE

You don't shoot the 40s. You feed the 40s. I'd give a teaspoon or two of LC and re-test.

(This is the headache of a stall!)
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 STALL OR FE

Lisa, yes, they must be sticking to their Mediterrean diet or something, not even cheesecake for Maggie.
Yes, any time on the counting drops. It's not too hard with 1 unit except when the line goes under or over at times. I use the Monojects. I had a good box with most of the lines okay. It sometimes takes me 15 minutes get the dose right
Leo, time for you to come up already and quit scaring your Bean, k, Mags
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 STALL OR FE

AMPS 53
+0.3 57
+0.6 53
+1 44
+1.3 44 <--- 2 tsp LC (FF Ocean Whitefish & Tuna)

Sienne - seriously, what a stall. This is probably the end of a bounce and not near a nadir. Sheesh.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 STALL OR FE

Hi. Posting from my phone so will be brief. If you have a good syringe that you can trust, measure 1 unit from it's lines (0 line to 1 unit line), using the digital calipers. Write down the mm number. Lock the calipers at that number.
Now, for all future measurements of your 1-unit dose, use the calipers. But do not measure from the lines marked on the syringe. Measure from the edge of the plastic ( which should correspond to the 0 line, but often does not. See the photos in Marge's post on dosing with calipers. Remember to always use the same brand of syringe if you are using calipers to measure.
Good luck!
Ella
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 STALL OR FE

Hi Lisa - had a minute so thought I'd check on Leo. I am with Sienne. I'd never shoot a 40. feed and retest, but do know that number is food influenced, should you decide to shoot. wow, Leo, up dude, ok?
Will be thinking of you this morning....
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 STALL OR FE

+1.75 51

AMPS 53
+0.3 57
+0.6 53
+1 44
+1.3 44 <--- 2 tsp LC (FF Ocean Whitefish & Tuna)
+1.75 51
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 STALL OR FE

Are you OK with being off schedule? Leo may decide to let you shoot by +2. You'll be able to make up a big chunk of the stall with the end of daylight savings time but you will be off schedule for a couple of days. Will that work?
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 STALL OR FE

Michelle - thank you. He certainly changed my plans this morning!

Ella - That's what I THOUGHT I had been doing, but yes, I have to get an exact 1u. But I just went back and checked 4 previous syringes I used (although I can't correspond the syringe to the actual shot) and find that they are "off" by 1-3 drops, where my drops are *sortof* 0.1u but often a little shy of that. I don't actually think I've been off by 0.25u though. I haven't done drops in a while so my eyeballing is a little off, but I suspect that many lines were off by a couple drops.

HOWEVER I just realized something. I really squeeze the plunger when I insert the syringe, and I really squeeze it when I inject. But when I'm measuring the dose (either by drops or now by calipers), I've been measuring "without the squeeze" as it goes in him If I really squeeze the plunger, it gets closer to the printed line. Does that make sense? If this is the case, I may actually have been getting close to 1u even tho the markings are off. Maybe this logic is wrong and I'm still giving a drop or two more the last couple days.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 +1.75 51

Hi guys .. no advice here but WOW what a morning! You're handling it like a pro and you've got several eyes on this condo now .. leo, you be a good kitty today!!! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 +1.75 51

Sienne - I can be off a couple hours. That's not a problem this time around. And day light savings will help! I didn't think of that!!!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 +1.75 51

AMPS 53
+0.3 57
+0.6 53
+1 44
+1.3 44 <--- 2 tsp LC 4% (FF Ocean Whitefish & Tuna)
+1.75 51 (delayed food accidentally)
+2.0 <------ 1 tsp LC 4% FF OWF&T
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 +1.75 51

When measuring the dose just let the plunger go naturally to its spot near the 0 line; don 't squeeze it. You are establishing the dose. Of course you should squeeze when you insert the needle into the vial: this helps to minimize bubbles. As long as you establish your dose and always set the top caliper at the plastic line, your dose will be consistent. When it comes time to change your dose, simply increase or decrease by mm on the calipers. I figure that a drop is 0.11 mm; Marge figures 0.15 mm.

Ella

Edited to correct my math!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 +1.75 51

+2.3 61 (1 tsp LC food-influenced)

AMPS 53
+0.3 57
+0.6 53
+1 44
+1.3 44 <--- 2 tsp LC 4% (FF Ocean Whitefish & Tuna)
+1.75 51 (delayed food accidentally)
+2.0 <------ 1 tsp LC 4% FF OWF&T
+2.3 61

Advice? Shoot? Wait?
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 +1.75 51

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
When measuring the dose just let the plunger go naturally to its spot near the 0 line; don 't squeeze it. You are establishing the dose.
Ella

I don't know what you mean by "establishing the dose." When I shoot, I always draw more than the dose to get bubbles out and then push out insulin until I reach the dose I want.

Are you saying "establishing the dose" to mean when I first try to figure out how many mm = 1u? Figuring out the conversion factor? (I think this is what you mean but want to be sure.)

Thanks!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 +1.75 51

So here's where we're at. I'm at +2.5. Leo is at 60 with a 3 tsp LC boost. Do I shoot, and if so, what?

Sienne (and I think a Sticky) says a dose can be delayed up to 2 hours. We are beyond that. But I can adjust over the next several days.

I have not given any additional food. Wait and test again, or shoot?

Ack, I've shot low, but not in a situation like this, so am trying to learn. I'd like to shoot but don't want to do something stupid.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 +1.75 51

AMPS 53
+0.3 57
+0.6 53
+1 44
+1.3 44 <--- 2 tsp LC 4% (FF Ocean Whitefish & Tuna)
+1.75 51 (delayed food accidentally)
+2.0 <------ 1 tsp LC 4% FF OWF&T
+2.3 61
+2.6 60 <-----1/2c 4% OWF&T (SHOT)

I just shot. He had a 60 after 40 minutes of no food, and two values over 50. Well be testing early and often. Thank you all!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53 +.3 57 +.6 53 +1 44 +1.3 44 +1.75 51

Establishing the dose = figuring out how many mm are in your dose as measured on the brand of syringe you are using. When drawing the insulin into the syringe, draw out more than you need. Get the bubbles out. Squeeze out some insulin until you are near what you think is the correct dose. Then get out the calipers ( which you have locked to the mm you previously established for your 1-unit dose) . Hold them as in the pics in marje's instructions, and adjust the amount of insulin according to the calipers. Shoot!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AMPS 53/57/53/44/44/51/60 AMPS 60 shot delayed

Hi Lisa, I've been staying out of the way, while you're dealing with helpers, but while you're waiting for an answer, thought I'd say, you are being amazing with a hungry Leo.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/57/53/44/44/51/60 AMPS 60 shot delayed 2.

Sorry. I'm getting ready to leave for tbp. I would have told you to shoot. Nice handling of this morning's excitement.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/57/53/44/44/51/60 AMPS 60 shot delayed 2.

Oh my goodness Leo. You really brought on the drama this morning! Wow. :mrgreen:

Lisa. How are you holding up? You know I can't offer much advice but today's my late start and figured I'd check in on you. Who knew Leo was going to be so active. Too much partying. But, at least you know he stayed out of the candy. :lol: :lol:

Sending you a :YMHUG:

Hang in there Leo. Praying for a safe surf and maybe a good break in the cycle for you. No bouncing from this one. Hopefully he'll keep eating for you.

Karen
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/57/53/44/44/51/60 AMPS 60 shot delayed 2.

Hi Karen - yes tell Leo not to bounce. Ha! He will be Boinging by the end of the day I suspect :lol: :lol: :lol: But he's proven me wrong before.

Hi Sienne - well of COURSE you would tell me to SHHHOOOOOOTTT! :lol: :lol: :lol: Sadly, I didn't get Marje's BOS graphic :-)

Hi Devon - yes, tell him again and again. Be a good boy! I hope to get into the office this afternoon but may not be able to with how late the shot time was. STINKER!

Hi Ella - okay, I understand you correctly. Thanks for the paragraph - that was a perfect explanation - bookmarking it. That's what I'm trying to do. TRYING :-) Will be getting a light table or something similar to I can be consistent - Marje is right - it is so hard to eyeball the calipers even after you get the golden dose set :o

HI Barb - thanks for hanging out and for your kind words as I deal with this Little Stinker. It's nice to know there are lurkers :-) since I do it myself to learn!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/57/53/44/44/51/60 AMPS 60 shot delayed 2.

Let's hope this is the day he chooses to 'prove you wrong' again. :lol: :lol: We don't want no bouncies Leo!!! Your body needs to get used to these new numbers and there is no day like the present. :smile:

Karen
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/57/53/44/44/51/60 AMPS 60 shot delayed 2.

Lisa, little Leo and you are doing great. You will get the BOS Award later from Marje! :mrgreen:
That was some good info on the calipers from Ella.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/57/53/44/44/51/60 AMPS +.75 71 +1.5 75

Leo, are you being a drama king again? Hope you had fun at your Halloween party with all the green punch. Now, Mamabean is nursing your hang-over and/or hangaround.
animal-smiley-077.gif


Lisa, you are doing great. Nice BOS. Paws crossed he will not have a gigantic bounce later.
misc-smiley-016.gif
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/57/53/44/44/51/60 AMPS +.75 71 +1.5 75

+2 65. Falling a little, so jacking up the carbs a bit, and now steering with 1tsp at a time instead of normal food amounts. I gave his first 2 meals at 4% and 7%, not thinking I probably needed to go a little higher, but hell, this is all experimentation, right? I'll keep testing to keep him safe, but the lower carb % he can surf, the better.

Shannan - LOL his hangover! He's going to give ME a hangover!!! Love the graphics.

Ann - yeah, I'm sure Marje will stop by later, or Jane has a good one too :-)

Karen - I'll have to decide what to shoot tonight. And maybe take a "reduction" down to what I THOUGHT was 1u before I started mucking with the calipers. Sigh.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/57/53/44/44/51/60 AMPS +.75 71 +1.5 75 +2

Here is the light box I have.
You can create the same thing if you have a glass table and put a light under it.
It really really helps with calipers especially when you get to micro doses. And of course, a magnifying glass ...


light box
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/57/53/44/44/51/60 AMPS +.75 71 +1.5 75 +2

Today's Summary

AMPS 53 (stalling)
+0.3 57
+0.6 53
+1 44
+1.3 44 <--- 2 tsp LC 4% (FF Ocean Whitefish & Tuna)
+1.75 51 (delayed food accidentally)
+2.0 <------ 1 tsp LC 4% FF OWF&T
+2.3 60
+2.6 60
(end stall)

---- reset AMPS to 60 with a shot delay of 2.6 hours
AMPS 60 <-----1/2c 4% OWF&T (SHOT)
+0.75 71
+1.2 <----- 1/4c 7% Turkey Feast Chunky
+1.5 75<----- 1/4c 7% Turkey Feast Chunky
+2.3 65 <----- 1/8c 11% Turkey Feast Roasted <----- do experiment to see how long 1/8c 11% lasts. Looks like less than 1 hour (+3.5 60)
+3 72 (no food given)
+3.5 60 <-------- 1/8c 11% Turkey Feast Roasted <------ 1/8c 11% lasts a little less than an hour
+4.25 56 <-------- 1/8c 11% Turkey Feast Roasted <---- after 45 min on 11%, still fallen some, so only wait 30 minutes next time before next mini-meal of 11%
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 +2 65 +3 72 +4.25 56

Lisa, looking good there for Leo! :mrgreen: They sure are close together with their numbers up to a point. There's something spooky about them both being Nanners last night and then today with their surprises! :lol: Next outing they need supervision.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 +2 65 +3 72 +4.25 56

WOW! What a morning you have had! And Yay! another reduction w/ that 44!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 +2 65 +3 72 +4.25 56

Ann - yup! So who do you trust as a chaperone? Certainly not Mannie! And apparently Ann's Tess is a fast driver, hmmmm, make them hang with Tarragon watching Animal Planet?

Ann - yeah I was saying WOW too. Actually, I'm debating the reduction. About 3 days ago, I started mucking with the calipers, and in my attempt to measure 1 unit perfectly, I didn't stop to think that my previous "1 unit" was actually LESS than "1 unit" measured with the calipers. So, I actually think I gave him a small dose increase the last several cycles. I figure it was by a couple drops. So I'm thinking he just earned a reduction from the "caliper 1 unit" back down to whatever my previous non-caliper 1 unit was. I just have to figure that out. If I get the calipers set to the "old 1 unit" amount. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 +2 65 +3 72 +4.25 56

Sorry I was not around when you posted in my condo for help. I was already at tbp.

Wow, you had an exciting day, today.

I find it interesting the difference in the mm that some use, but have not seen an answer yet. We use the ReliOn syringes and I am measuring 1.90mm as s0.75 units and it actually looks like barely over 0.50 on most of our syringes.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 +2 65 +3 72 +4.25 56

Wow Lisa. What a day you and Leo had. You did a great job. I hope Leo hasn't bounced too high on you.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 +2 65 +3 72 +4.25 56

That just makes my head hurt! I wouldn't worry about what you were calling it before, if you are using the calipers now just take the reduction that is called for and don't worry if the dose previous to this one was what you will be shooting now. Just be consistent w/ the calipers.
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 +2 65 +3 72 +4.25 56

Hi Dyana - that's okay - you've been here many times for me! It would be interesting for everyone using calipers to compare syringe types and numbers. That might help us see how we are each doing it, and how much difference there is. I am using Terumos. I'm curious what values other people using these syringes use. Do you have electricity? All my friends are driving to PA for gas.

Hi Ann - I wrote that there partially for ME to figure out what I was going to shoot tonight! I'm going to just write that down, so I know what I did, and go with mm from now on. I still have to get calibrated though.

Hi Carla - at +11 he's at 179 so not too bad, but we'll see what PMPS holds! He's been known to jump terrifically!
 
Re: 11/1 Leo AM 53/44/60 AMPS 60 +2 65 +3 72 +4.25 56

Hi Lisa, Wow what a day you and Leo had :mrgreen: BOS and patience pants at the same time, sheesh. You are getting so much steering experience you could teach ice driving :-D . Hope Leo mellows out and gives you easy sleepable numbers tonight.
Its amazing how much syringe markings and needle positions vary, I wonder if the push button dose selector on the Lantus pens is any more consistent? Hmmm, there is some leftover in Jasper's last pen, I may try some experiments to see what it puts out for 1 U.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top