3/5 Buster- dental- pm dose?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Bustercat, Mar 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bustercat

    Bustercat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    nailbite_smile Buster got dropped off at 7:30 this morning. It's been 3 hours, so I am hoping that no news is good news. I know there will be at least the one extraction. They are going to give me Bupe to bring him home with. AMPS was 322, I shot 1/2 dose (3.5f). I gave the vet his ps number and she said she'd check his bg with the pre-anestesia blood work. They said usual p/up time is around 4pm... could be earlier or later depending on how he comes out of the anestesia. nailbite_smile
     
  2. Bustercat

    Bustercat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    Masses in his mouth! One looks ulcerated. Both sides of the mouth.

    Wants to do a removal and histopath!
     
  3. Carolyn and Spot

    Carolyn and Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    Oh wow, I will crosspost this on Health for you.. sending lots of healing vines!
     
  4. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    I would do the removal and biopsy (histopathology).
     
  5. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    Sending good dental vines for Buster, & hope that Buster will be just fine..
     
  6. Deb & Spot

    Deb & Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    sending healing vines for your buster boy
     
  7. Bustercat

    Bustercat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    The vet can't extract the broken molar, worried it would break he jaw. She will refer us to the oral specialist.
     
  8. Sara & Magnolia

    Sara & Magnolia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    Sending lots of feel better vines.
     
  9. Athena and Cyrano

    Athena and Cyrano New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    I'm sorry. I hope the oral specialist can make sure Buster's mouth is A-OK. Sorry you are going to have to go through this again though.
     
  10. Venita

    Venita Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    Oh, poor Buster. I am so sorry. I was involved with a cat with ulcerated masses in the mouth and it turned out to be eosinophilic granuloma complex (EGC). Don't worry about the masses yet. I know where your mind immediately went, but wait for the results of the pathology.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Bustercat

    Bustercat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    I told her not to remove the masses, and that we would take care of it when we take care of the broken molar.

    She noticed crust on Buster's nose, so she listened to his lungs before putting him under, he sounded clear so she put him out. Under anestesia his breathing became labored.

    Now, they have finished with the cleaning, which is all they can do for today. They put in the referral for us. They told me that the oral doctor will not see Buster until he has had a T4 and chest x-rays. We really can't do all of this- it was a stretch just to get this much done. DH wants to call the vet and have them put Buster to sleep while he is still out. Of course, I can't do that, but I don't want him to be suffering either. :cry:
     
  12. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    oh no! Try to breathe, I think seeing the specialist, if you are able, will give you a much better idea of what is going on. It might not be as bad as you think. Hang in there!
     
  13. Kelly & Oscar

    Kelly & Oscar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    oh don't put him to sleep :sad: See a specialist to see what they say first. Maybe your current vet can work out a payment plan for you. How old is your kitty?
     
  14. Helene & Tizon

    Helene & Tizon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    ((((Serena))))

    Sending good and hopeful vines your way......
    Keep us updated.
     
  15. Bustercat

    Bustercat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    Okay. Deep breath. What a roller coaster!

    There is no way we could afford the specialist right now, which is why I was so stressed. But, I just spoke with the vet to ask about his quality of life and if the masses are causing him much pain. She said that he does not seem to be in much pain, and that he is a happy cat. She said that it is possible that between the cleaning and the antibiotics that the masses could clear up... depending of course, on what the cause is. He is only 12 years old.

    As for the broken molar, she said that cats that can not go under anestesia for one reason or another would just be treated with antibiotics to keep it under control.

    She is going to send Buster home with Bupe and with extra antibiotics, as well as an additional topical antibiotic for me to use on his molar.

    So, I guess this will be our course of action for now. Hopefully we will be able to get some $$ together in the not too distant future for him to see the specialist.

    I need a nap.

    I'll call the vet around 3:00 to see if Buster is awake enough to come home.
     
  16. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    oh my gosh Serena,
    what a day you've had!
    hope he can come home soon (((Buster)))feel better soon!
     
  17. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    oh my gosh. I'm so sorry you are going through this!
     
  18. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    (((serena)))
    hope you were able to get some rest. is buster home yet?
     
  19. Bustercat

    Bustercat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    Just got Buster home. He was pretty groggy, so I did not pick him up until after 5pm. Let him out of the carrier and he ran straight for his food dish :D So, I guess he's doing pretty good. Vet checked his bg after the dental and it was over 400. I am going to check him right now, and his preshot will be in another hour. He just ate 1/4 can of Friskies Special diet. Vet said that if he keeps it down, then I can shoot. If he doesn't keep it down, then wait until tomorrow morning. What's the protocol on here?

    Ohhh they did the uranalysis while he was out... USG was 1.032
     
  20. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    hey Serena,

    glad he's home!

    can u add Dose Q to your subject line for tonite's shot, let's see what others say
     
  21. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    feed small amounts every hour for the next few hours. you don't want him to vomit.
    glad you're testing him now and again at shot time. it'll give you an idea if he's rising or falling. you may want to shoot a reduced dose tonight because the after effects of anesthesia can lower blood glucose. look at moonie's ss for an example: http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key= ... hSHc&hl=en.
    moonie's dental was on 11/18. roni shot a reduced PM dose and moonie still managed to drop into the 40s that night.
     
  22. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    any update? :D
     
  23. Bustercat

    Bustercat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/5 Buster- dental day

    I'm running late on the pm shot.

    I tested him an hour and a half ago 377. Just now 368.

    He is falling, but very slowly. He's eaten 3/4 of a can in the last 1.5hrs.

    Should I go ahead and shoot full dose?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page