10/12 Reuben PMPS 88 2.5*54 3.5*65 11*99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

4th cycle of 0.5u

Zack has fallen in love with the Hawaiian House... what was I thinking? Of course I bought it for him!!!

Ongoing Medications:
Clavamox 50mg bid
Pepcid 2.5mg bid
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82

wow! look at that AMPS and on such a small dose! way to go Reuben!!! I'm very jealous!!!!!
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 1*60

+1/60 ... And I wondered (as usual) if it was a fur shot :lol: But no, it`s a power dose! Will post +1.5 in a few minutes.

Pip - It will happen for you and Rupert too!!

Rhiannon - I never figured out that greenie icon, hahaha. It`s for green PS's?
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 1*60 1.5*45

Beautiful numbers, Alexa :mrgreen:

(Oh, and the green grinning smiley is for anything that makes you grin happily, whatever colour of BG, whatever else! Use it any time you like!)

Hugs!
Jane
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 1*60 1.5*45

Thanks so much Anne and Jane! :mrgreen:

I really don`t know what I`m supposed to be expecting from numbers now, so it`s good to know this is good!

I just gave 2 drops of honey to that 45 though, sop :lol:
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 1*60 1.5*45 2.5*45

I wondered if this was still depot overflow Jane, thank you for explaining! :mrgreen: The fact that he`s not eating all that much adds to the downward pull too I imagine.
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 1*60 1.5*45

Hi Alexa,

Look at Reuben go!! Did you ever think 2 months ago when you first started this trip that you would be here already in just 2 short months? I knew it was a possibility but must say, Reuben has surprised even me! :lol: With all the health problems he's had, you've done a wonderful job getting him here!!

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 1*60 1.5*45 2.5*45

Thanks Melanie! I just wish I wasn`t worried about the amount of water he is drinking. And waiting to see if the new AB works and he gets his appy back. But other than that, very exciting!
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 1*60 2*45 2.5*45 3.5*41 4*58

Another green surf for Reuben. Lets keep it in the 'safe' zone though so as to not give momma any more stress!!!

Karen
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 1*60 2*45 2.5*45 3.5*41 4*58 5

Hi Alexa, Another fine green surfing day for Reuben :mrgreen: Hope his appy picks up and food helps satisfy his thirst. I recently came across a recipe somewhere on FDMB here for homemade food for cats who wont eat, made with liver and other stuff. I thought of you but didnt mark it because Reuben was already eating again. If interested let me know and I will retrace my steps to find it again.
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 2*45 4*58 6*58 8*83

Leslie - Oh that would be great, I`d very much like to try that recipe. :-) Thank you! Are you doing a Jasper condo this week? Just want to make sure I don`t miss it :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 2*45 4*58 6*58 8*83

I think this is what Leslie was referring to:
dian and weezer said:
THE '~LIVER SHAKE~' FOR SICK CATS

This liquid food is appropriate for cats suffering from conditions where they are eating very little or not at all such as anemias, leukemias, deficiency states with symptoms of lethargy, listlessness, and weakness.

1 cup RAW LIVER (BEEF, or CHICKEN)
1 cup FRESH CARROT JUICE or V-8, or Tomatoe Juice
1/4 cup *FRESH FILTERED WATER
1 RAW EGG YOLK
1 tsp.KELP POWDER OR SPIRULINA


COMBINE AND MIX IN A BLENDER UNTIL LIQUIFIED. (Note: it will be frothy)

Dosage:

Administer lOcc daily 3-6 times a day. (6Occ per day max)

Some cats will need to be force-fed with a syringe, while others will drink it out of a bowl.

This food has a sweet and salty taste, and the energetic properties of tonifying (energy boosting), warming and stimulating and supports the kidneys, spleen, liver and stomach.

This drink is a complete dinner for a sick cat until they feel good enough to eat by themselves again.

*Substitute rice water if the cat has diarrhea. Rice water
is made by boiling white rice (2 Tblsp) with water (1cup) for 30 minutes.
This liquid aids digestion and assimilation and inhibits the symptoms of diarrhea.

Deborah C. Mallu,DVM
Holistic Veterinary Care
215 Disney lane
Sedona, AZ 86336
Tel 520-282-5651
Fax 520-282-3586
Email canyonct@sedona.net
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 2*45 4*58 6*58 8*83

Remember how I said sometimes there are exceptions about reducing quickly? I want to lay out some thoughts. I don't think there's a bad option here however, you're home with Reuben and know him best so you are the person in the best position to consider the alternatives.

Basically, it's a matter of whether to reduce or not. On the reduce side, it's been 4 cycles and Reuben is a newly diagnosed cat. (Newly diagnosed cats are in a better position for quicker reductions.) It looked like you were having to work hard today to keep Reuben's numbers out of the 40s. While I know you enjoy spending time with Reuben, you need to have a life, too! In addition, his appetite was off and there's no way to know if that will persist.

On the hold the dose side, Reuben was still bouncy on the 0.75u dose. It is certainly possible that you're still seeing some residual action off of the 0.75u dose coupled with Reuben's not eating all that well. Reducing the dose might result in Reuben losing momentum -- he's been in these lovely numbers for a limited period of time.

So, that's that back and forth that's been going on in my head.
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 2*45 4*58 6*58 8*83

Actually Alexa, I would be more concerned if he was not drinking water. He needs to drink especially if not eating well so he doesn't become dehydrated.
Does he look like he might be a little dehydrated? When you pinch his skin does it snap back in place right away or stay up a little bit for a while? Do his gums look lighter than they should or sticky? Is his skin nice and pink or is it whiter than normal?

Is it unusual for him to drink a lot of water? Racci loves water and always drinks a lot. If so, Can you take his temperature? I take Racci's with a mini digital thermometer & vaseline rectally. It's over practically before she knows whats happening. Normal range is about 100.5 to 102.5. With his bg so low, I think an infection would be the only problem related to excessive thirst. What were you thinking? Of course, I'm not a doctor, just my experience.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 2*45 4*58 6*58 8*83

Sienne -- Thank you for the recipe, and thoughts about our present situation dose-wise:-)

Given the possibility that taking the reduction has the chance of causing us to loose momentum, it doesn`t sound like a good option to me. I feel like we have come this far and need to stay the course.

If I understand correctly, by continuing with this dose we'll know for sure eventually whether this is depot overflow and/or lack of food support, or an actual need for a reduction. And that if we take the reduction now for the sake of convenience, we will be second guessing with the possibility of being wrong.

I have the luxury of being able to spend as much time monitoring as is necessary in order to do this the best way it can be done - so I see no reason not to.

These are my thoughts. Have I grasped the situation correctly?

Tomorrow as soon as he's stable I will go out and buy the ingredients to make the magic food. Thank you - and Leslie!, so much for that :-)
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 2*45 4*58 6*58 8*83 11*81

Melanie - You have put my mind at rest greatly with your post, thank you so very much :YMHUG: I did not know that the infection would cause thirst, and it is his chronic intestinal infection that is our problem right now. I feel as though I may begin to breathe again, knowing this dancing_cat

Tomorrow morning when there is good light I will look at his gums and skin, and when I test and shoot in a few minutes I will check the elasticity of his skin.

We finally started the Clavamox this afternoon. It is the antibiotic that got him in stable condition before, after months and months of suffering. I was a ohmygod_smile ... and got too comfortable... and messed with the thing that was working by changing to a different AB.

Fingers crossed, candles lit, incantations to the ends of the universe that it works again.

Thank you again, Melanie. :-D
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben AMPS 82 2*45 4*58 6*58 8*83 11*81

Glad Sienne found the liver shake recipe, hope Reuben likes it. And I hope the clavamox kicks in quickly and he feels better soon.
 
Re: 10/12 Reuben PMPS 88

Goodness! I've been missing all the *fun* with Mr. Reuben! Good job today! Reuben, I'm loving your pretty green numbers...but remember that there are scary green numbers that we DON'T like and you should avoid them. Ok?! Thanks! Hope you guys have a nice, drama-free night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top