10/8 Muffin pmbg 79 Starting Trial!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

10/7 Recap:
Amps 91 shot tiny drop
+5.25 65
Pmps 92 shot tiny drop
+2 60 Fed LC
+3 71
Amps 84 shot tiny drop 1/2 hr early

Good Morning LL! I got up a little early this morning, and shot 1/2 hour early, because normally I have to take the DGD's to school/daycare at 8am. So amps was while the house was still nice and quiet, and a lovely one it is! Then I realized there's no school this week for Alette, so they are just going to daycare...an hour later. ohmygod_smile Oh well, it will make tonight easier, and I'll fix it tomorrow morning. Muffin is trying to be her usual lovey self, but the girls keep interrupting, and now they'll be here an hour longer, so I'm sure she won't get much breffis for a little while. After dropping the girls off, I have to go pick up DBiL's drooler and take her back to the vet (he'll be at work) While her leg is healing nicely, he's had to put her cone back on because she's chewing at her back and the base of her tail. So I'm taking her in to have her anal glands checked, so she can finally be rid of that silly cone, poor baby.

We decided yesterday to continue insulin for Muffin until we see at least 7 days of normal numbers, or she drops below 50. Hope you all have a great Monday!
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84

Looking Great Muffin :mrgreen: The amps And that darling face... :razz: Have a great day you guys!!
:YMHUG: 's from Reuben&Alexa
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49 Now what?

Muffin obviously read her condo this morning while I was gone taking the girls. :lol: Under 50 already. And I have to leave in 25 mins. I'm leaving food out, I guess I'll add a drop of karo just to make sure she stays safe, as I'll probably be gone close to 2 hours. Maybe only an hour and a half tho. So, can I start the trial? :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49 Now what?

I think you should start the trial, but let's see if there are other opinions.
For right now, I would want to get the numbers up, before you leave for 2 hours.
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49 Now what?

I agree, Dyana. I understand Sienne's caution about the recent yellows/pinks and there not having been quite 7 days of normal, mostly green numbers. But those yellows/pinks seem to have been caused by a contraband fishstick snack and some suspected pain or feeling of illness. And it was only on 2 cycles... And you can go back to a drop, IF the trial shouldn't go perfectly.

I'd try it. (But then I'm not know for my patience :lol:)

Let's see what the others think.
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49 Now what?

Thanks Dyana and Jane. I got one more test +2.75 51 She's eaten all the food with karo - I'll leave more out with another drop karo. I'm pretty certain she'll either surf here or rise a little while I'm gone. Actually, I'll call the vet and see if I can move Chloe's appt back a little.

Ok they were able to move me back an hour, so I can stay with her a bit longer.
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49 Now what?

I am also thinking that Muffin is almost ready!! The karo works but see where she is...How about some mc?
What a great job you are doing!! Muffin misses the Falls I see...WE were taught that after 7 days of green time for a trial--Paws & fingers crossed for Moonie's pal Muffin-Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49 Now what?

I'm glad you are able to move the appointment back.
I bet there's a party coming soon :)
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49..+3 49 Now what?

+3 49 She's surfing, as I expected. I gave her honey cured turkey for her testing treat and put out another 2 tsps LC with a drop of karo. It does seem if the karo's going to affect her, it takes at least an hour, maybe 2. But all this extra food should keep her surfing until that kicks in.

Alexa - Thanks for visiting, and Muffin says thanks for commenting on her cuteness! :-D

Dyana - I would have liked to move the appt back further, but they don't have anything available until 2pm, and I have to pick the girls up at 3, so that won't be enough time. They're working me in at 11:15. I think she's had enough food and karo to keep her safe while I'm gone.

Jane - I, too, understand about the yellows/pinks, and the protocol of 7 days green, but I also think the highs were due to some pain or something, she came right back down, and I'm thinking she's really only back here due to the pancreatitis flare and the exact protocol isn't really working perfectly for her. I'm half expecting that even if she has a successful trial, she may need a shot here and there in the future, and that's ok. I'm willing to do whatever Muffin needs me to do.

Roni - Muffin doesn't do MC.. :lol: She's a one-kind-of-food gal, so karo is my only option. I'm actually a bit surprised that she eats the food with karo in it, as usually, if there's even a hint of something different in her bowl, she refuses it. :lol:
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49..+3 49 Now what?

Ummmmm.........

If you're counting three drops below 50 as warranting a dose reduction/trial, then OK. Otherwise, a long term FD needs to drop below 40 or have a week in normal numbers.
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49..+3 49 +6 64

OMG the vet took waaayyy longer than I expected. I brought the drooler home with me to check on Muffin. +6 64. Gave Denamarin at +7, when I got back from taking the drooler home.

Sienne - Interesting points you bring up. I never thought of Muffin as a long-term diabetic, since she was only on insulin for 4 months and then OTJ for nearly two years. And I think of her as being back onTJ due to pancreatitis, and not because her pancreas isn't working. But she obviously IS a long-term diabetic, so thank you for pointing that out to me. But I could still use a little MORE clarity, if you don't mind. For 7 days good numbers, the 10/6 amps of 133 messes that up, right? So I would start from the 10/6 pm cycle?

I'm sorry I'm being such a pain about this. I really want to do what's best for Muffin. I just feel that she's ready for a trial, but I have a lot going on lately, and my stress level is definitely getting out of control, so it's possible that I just want her to be ready, for me, not for her. DD's suddenly been working full time (she was hired for a part-time position) so I have the girls a lot, Muffin being sick has been stressful, now Kibby's having issues (he hobbled down the stairs today, very sore and stiff in the hind quarters), Shnookie needs to get back to the vet to re-evaluate his hyperthyroidism and his heart murmur, Rumpy and Kibby both need dentals soon...then there's Chloe (DBiL's drooler) who's problem today was not anal glands, but flea dermatitis - Her entire back end is covered in a horrible rash, and I have to trust that my instructions (from the vet) will be carried out properly. I also help out the neighbor's cat Milo (Cleetus and Oscar's suspected father) who is having chronic mouth pain (may have to get all his teeth pulled out)...and to top it all off, Oscar just stepped on the keyboard while I was filling in Muffin's SS and erased all my notes for today. Where's the pulling-the-hair out emote??!! So, anyway, I'm just not really trusting my decision-making ability right now. Thanks for letting me vent. Now, off to pick up the DGD's!
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49..+3 49 +6 64

Anne --

I want to see if I can get Jill and/or Libby to take a look. Usually, they're pretty conservative with a kitty that's back from the Falls. Let's see what they have to say.
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49..+3 49 +6 64

I heard back from Jill. Her analysis is closer to your perspective than mine.

What she said is that given that Muffin's BG went up due to the pancreatitis flare, Muffin doesn't go OTJ in the usual sense of the word. Rather, Muffin may need to have one shot, a week or a month's worth, or who knows how many shots of insulin to help her through a bout of pancreatitis. As long as Muffin's beta cells regenerate faster than any damage occurs, her pancreas will be functioning. (My spin on this is to view insulin as an antibiotic or a pain med. You need it until the problem is resolved and you're back to normal.)

Jill made a very good point. You will probably need to monitor Muffin's BG forever. It may be the best early warning system you have that something is "off." Likewise, you will become an expert on the subtle signs and signals that Muffin may be starting a bout of pancreatitis. The sooner that you can intervene, the better.

It's going to be up to you to monitor Muffin's condition and decide if she needs insulin or not. If you think it's time to withhold insulin, then it's time.
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49..+3 49 +6 64

I was going to throw my two cents worth in but since Jill did, I don't need to.

One thing I will say is that muffin is a long term diabetic because she has been diabetic more than a year. She has been a diet controlled diabetic but she is still a diabetic. :-D

Good luck...we will all be rooting for you both.
 
Re: 10/8 Muffin amps 84 +2.25 49..+3 49 +6 64

Thank you Sienne, for getting Jill's opinion, too. I do plan on doing a lot more monitoring than I've done with the previous OTJ. Had I been more vigilant then, she might not be here now. I usually catch her flares right away - her fur doesn't lay right, and I can tell she just doesn't feel 100%. But this one got by me - she didn't show any of her normal symptoms. So yes, I will test much more often from here on out.

Thank you too, Marje, for taking time out of your visit to weigh in. I really appreciate it. And yes, I now realize Muffin IS a long-term diabetic, it just hadn't really occurred to me until Sienne pointed it out.

So I'll see what she tests at pm and if it's a nice number, I'm going to start a trial.

Thank you all so very much for your help! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top