10/5 Muffin pmps 82 +2.5 51 +3 49 +3.5 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80430

10/4 Recap:
Amps 104 shot 1 drop
+3.5 62 fed
+6 60 Denamarin
Pmps 84 shot ?? guessing more like .1u
+2 49 fed 2 tsps LC w/ 2 drops karo
+2.5 54
+3 51 fed 2 tsps LC
+3.5 60
+4 72
+6 43 didn't want food
+6.5 68 Left food out
Amps 109 shot 1 drop

Good Morning LL! Well, I know this morning's shot was just 1 drop. But I did still feel the plunger move a little. So maybe last night's shot wasn't as off as I feared it was. This 10-bag of syringes are different than the others from the same box. The plunger goes up higher when depressed. I'm not sure what the amps is all about, unless skipping the pm shot on the 3rd put her back into the bigger curves with higher preshots that she had just come out of. ohmygod_smile Oh well, she'll get back to the flat little green girl I know so well, I just hope she does it quickly. Moved shot time a half hour later, so it's now a half hour earlier than our regular shot time...make sense? :roll: :? :lol: Muffin is feeling fine this morning, although no P's yet.

Kibby goes to the vet this morning - with 1/2 tab Acepromazine on board one hour before. That's so Dr can recheck his heart murmur, heard last visit for the first time, to see if it was just due to stress. He's also going because he's seemed a bit off lately. I've seen him limping a couple of times, just for a couple steps, on one of his front legs (I think the right). Yesterday he didn't show up for food until 1pm, and then ate slowly, not like he was starving to death as I would expect. He's been dirty the last few days, and yesterday he was filthy. I brought him inside to keep him until his vet visit. I had tried to get him in last night, but they had an emergency come in, and by the time that was handled it was near closing and I figured Kibby'd be fine until morning. I brushed him when I brought him in, and after about 1 minute of that, he retreated under the bed. This is very unusual - Kibby loves loves loves to be brushed. But even that small amt of brushing made his fur feel much better. He ate a good dinner, but again ate slowly, so I was worried about pancreatitis again for him. After dinner tho, he slept the evening and night away on top of the bed and did get up several times to eat a little, while I was up with Muffin. He was waiting by his food dish for breffis, but only ate 1/2 can at most, but in spite of that, he seems much better today (figures :roll: ) and wants to go outside. If he didn't need his heart rechecked, I'd be tempted to cancel his appt. It's just so difficult to tell what's going on when they are outside so much of the time.

Happy Furday to all! Vines and white light to everyone who needs them. We hope Marje has a safe trip to see her DM today, that Rocket is doing ok, and that Tarragon is healing quickly.
 
Re: 10/5 Muffin amps 109

Morning Anne. ~O)
These tiny doses are difficult. I always have to double check just before I shoot that I haven't lost the insulin just by carrying the syringe
across the room. It just seems like there isn't anything there. :roll:
I don't know how to confirm it, but Marje told me that my blue number in the am was the "dawn phenomenon" which she defined as numbers
raise in a.m. - naturally occuring cortisol levels increase to help body prepare for stresses of the day.
I wrote it down in my notebook.
And if it's in the zone, it's good and not to sweat it.

I think I'd definitely take Kibby in. Just doesn't sound right and since our furbabies are so quick to decline once it starts, better to be safe
than sorry.
 
Re: 10/5 Muffin amps 109 +3.5 57

+3.5 57. Gave her 1/2 slice of oven roasted turkey lunch meat - to lure her out from behind the desk where I can't get to her, and her treat for getting a pokie. Cleetus and Rumpy both had a couple bites of it, too. I'll leave out some LC for her, as I'm off in 15 mins for lunch with my friend again. I'll be gone just shy of an hour and a half. As usual, newbies please don't follow my examples, like leaving her at 57, but I'm confident that, at worst, she'll just surf here while I'm gone.

We are back from Kibby's vet visit. His heart rate was normal this time, with the Acepromazine, but he is still hearing a slight murmur. :YMSIGH: We're running a senior panel and specfPL, we may get partial results this evening, but the specfPL won't be back until tomorrow. Lungs sound good, so the coughing he's been doing is most likely a hairball in the making. I'll see if I can get him to some butter when I get home. He was slightly dehydrated, so he got 150mls(? cc's? whatever... :lol: ) squids, on the house (I love my vet) and I'll put him on bupe until the results come in. I'll do that when I get home, tho, to give him a little break from being poked and prodded. I served him a can of food under the bed, and I think he ate most of it. Drooler got to it before I could see exactly how much he ate, but he was working on it long enough to have eaten at least most of it.
 
Re: 10/5 Muffin amps 109 +4 57 +6 84

Woops - that +3.5 was actually +4. I forgot about the different shot time. :oops: +6 is 84. Muffin got her Denamarin, as she didn't eat any of the food I left out for her. Kibby got his bupe, and I got a couple scratches trying to give it. He was rewarded with turkey, tho, so maybe next time will be easier (yeah riiight!). Muffin has been hanging out behind the desk all day, where I can't reach her, and it's taking an unusual amt of coaxing with turkey to get her to come out. I wonder if it's because she isn't feeling well, is just tired of pokies, or because Kibby is in here under the bed. If she doesn't seem better later this afternoon, I may give her some bupe too. Maybe just having him in here with us is a little stressful for her - it could explain her unusual rises in BG last night and today.




.
 
Re: 10/5 Muffin amps 109 +4 57 +6 84

Hi Anne, just loving learning about how you fine tune situations and keep everything rolling. It`s very encouraging! Thanks for your visit this morning, I appreciated it so very much :-)
 
Re: 10/5 Muffin pmps 82

Pmps 82. We had cuddles on the bed this afternoon! After her +6 test, she did not retreat behind the desk, and has been out in the open ever since. She did get a small snack just after +10, so I hope this number isn't food influenced. I know she's not supposed to eat after +10, but I'm having real trouble getting HER to understand that. :lol: Even explaining to her that she can eat at +8 or +9 instead hasn't swayed "her" feeding schedule. ;-) Kibby cuddled with me for a while, too, shortly after his bupe. And I even got Oscar cuddles, which are short-lived, but very rare indeed. Seems it's my lucky day!

Rhiannon - Thanks for the reminder about dawn phenomenon. Muffin never did that last time on insulin, but I'm learning that I need to accept that this time could be very different. I wonder, too, if it could be just the DGD's getting up in the morning adding a little stress. Never thought of that before.

Alexa - Thanks for visiting and I'm glad you're getting something out of watching our somewhat unorthodox methods! Makes me feel good to provide encouragement.
 
Re: 10/5 Muffin pmps 82

Hi Anne - what a day for you. BUSY! I hope all is well with Kibby. it; is hard to know what is what with them when they are outdoor kitties. I will hope for good test results, and that maybe it as just an off day.

Muffin loks great! and only one drop. wow. I can't imagine measuring one drop...

I LOVE all the cuddles - now cool is that! Maybe they felt your needed them. :-D

Enjoy your evening!
 
Re: 10/5 Muffin pmps 82 +2.5 51

+2.5 51 Muffin hasn't eaten all of her dinner yet. She's peacefully sleeping on her cat tree. She even let me test her there this time.

Michelle - It was a busy morning, but a relaxing afternoon. Kibby does seem to be feeling better this evening. Cuddles were great, and maybe they did know I needed them!
 
Re: 10/5 Muffin pmps 82 +2.5 51 +3 49

+3 49. She's finishing dinner now. This is the second under 50 in less than 24 hrs. So now I need to decide what to do. I have the DGD's all weekend, so at this point I'm thinking I'll try to draw the tiny drop in the morning. Being here all weekend with the girls is probably not the best time to see how she handles no insulin. So my plan is to reduce if possible, at least thru the weekend, and if she keeps going as she's going, maybe it'll be trial time soon.
 
Re: 10/5 Muffin pmps 82 +2.5 51 +3 49

Lovely green Muffin! Surf a bit on upper green sweetie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top