10/4 PurrFace PMPS-199.+2/338&355 +4/385

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
First BG# for PurrFace in the BLUE!!! It seems that he gets more and more comfortable with each test. Great to hear him purr loud again. Fingers (and paws) crossed that the numbers stay in the blue or at least the looow yellow.

PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: ?10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185 +5.5/113&101

Thank you Rhiannon& Shadow.
I just tested him at +5.5 and got a BG of 113 so I retested and got a BG of 101. If he is still in the BLUE range when it's time for his shot should I give it to him...reduce it?
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185

let's put a dosing ?
on your subject line.
Edit your first post this morning....

Sienne works but she does check in occasionally. I'll pm her to watch you.
You haven't shot a low number yet and don't have that much data.
Plus who knows what the number will be by your shot time....
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185

John,

Hi. You would not want to reduce the dose based on Blue numbers. For a cat diagnosed less than 1 year ago, you reduce the dose if you see a number below 50. You may, however, not want to give a shot if the PMPS number is too low.

As far as whether you give the shot, you have been doing a great job of gathering the data! I suggest that you test the cat at +11 (or +10 if that's easier for you), post that number and put in your headline "Need help at PMPS." In the body of your post state that in two hours, or one hour, or 45 minutes -- whatever it is -- you will need help deciding whether to shoot. Then, post at PMPS your BG reading. If you get a number below 150, do not feed the cat; just post your number and wait until you get an answer from someone. If no one is around to help you, skip the shot. Hopefully, someone who is good at interpreting spreadsheets will give you some advice.

If you see a number above 150, you should (in most cases) be able to give the 1.25u. If you are afraid to do it, feel free to delay feeding and post for advice. If you have plenty of strips and you can stay up with the cat, it is most likely safe to give the cat the shot with a PMPS of 150.

This will be your sixth shot at the 1.25u dose. Can you test the cat at +2 tonight as well as +4? It can take up to 6 cycles for a particular dose to "settle," and you may get some great information about this dose by taking a +2 reading tonight. It would be good to see how far this dose drops the BG from the PMPS number at the time that the onset of the insulin would usually begin for a "typical cat."

Good luck.
 
Re: Dosing? 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185

Rhiannon&Shadow thank you for the input and for the pm to the other member. I edited my subject line on my first post from this morning. I hope I got it right.

Dale. Thank you also for your information. I will definitely test at +11 today and if a PM shot is given at +2 & +4. I really appreciate the help from all of you. I wasn't aware that I should hold the food for a few hours prior to testing. A few of my test each day have been within a 1/2 - 1 hour after he has eaten.
 
Re: Dosing? 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185

You'd probably have to read a lot of other condos to catch that unless someone tells you. Not everyone has that much time. @-) :-D

At least 2 hour without food before shots because it takes that long for the food influence to wear off.
My cat takes 2 hrs 20 minutes usually.
After you've been doing it for a while, you try to increase that time before pm shot.
I, for example, tend to feed at least every 6 hrs but give more in the first half of the cycle to reduce the food influence on bg.
So it also depends on your feeding style, small frequent meals help keep bg levels more consistent. ( imho) just like human diabetics are supposed to have frequent small meals.

testing snacks excluded.
the freeze dried treats I give at testing seem to have no influence on our bg.
If I get woken up an hour or two before shottime, I often give a few lumps of freeze dried just to tide her over.
My cat has a hard time making it 6 hrs so during the day i usually give her a last portion at +7 so she can make it until pm shot time.
 
Re: Dosing? 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185

Rhiannon. When I got the +5.5 "BLUE" readings today he had not eaten anything since his AM shot. Up until today he has been meowing for food about every 2-3 hours. That was one change we noticed. After the +5.5 reading he ate about 1/2-2/3 of a 3oz can of FF classic, washed and went to sleep. He's still sleeping peacefully. We should be able to make it until PMPS reading before he eats again. If he pesters for food prior to then I give him a few of his PUREBITES Freeze Dried Chicken Breast Treats to hold him over. Thank you again for advising us.
 
Re: Dosing? 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185

As the insulin starts making them feel better, their bodies are able to use nutrients better again.
They literally are starving to death when untreated and it's hard to know exactly when they got sick to begin with and how long it's been
going on. By the time the weight loss starts, it's really taking it's toll on them.

If your cat can make it all those hours, wow. My girl just can't make it that long so I let her eat more in the first half. I just gave her
something at her +6.5 so she'll "survive " until dinner shot time. :lol:
 
Re: Dosing? 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185

It's just been the last day or two that he has cut back on eating so much. Until then we thought he had a hollow leg...maybe even two. It's remarkable how much different he is since we switched him from Humulin N to Lantus. He has made more progress in the last 9.5 days on Lantus than he did the entire month on Humulin N. If he wakes up before +11 I'll test him again.
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185 +5.5/113&101 +8/139 +11/183

About how much longer until your PMPS?

My guess is that PurrFace is going to be close to yellow by shot time. At this point, you're good to shoot unless his numbers do a big turn around. If your numbers are at or above where your +11 is, you're fine to go ahead and shoot.
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185 +5.5/113&101 +8/139 +11/183

Can you delete the other thread you opened? We open one condo, per cat, per day. If you need help, edit the subject line of the first post of the thread. That's the only subject line that's visible on the board. (Thanks!)
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185 +5.5/113&101 +8/139 +11/183

Sienne His shot is due in exactly 30 minutes. So if his PMPS is at or above his +11BG it should be okay to shoot, is that correct. Earlier Dale suggested that I be sure to get a +2 & +4 after his PM shot. I'll do that; if they are in the mid to low BLUE range should I stay up with him tonight and keep taking readings? Today has been unbelieveable, he's back to his old self as if everything that has happened the past few months was a dream.
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185 +5.5/113&101 +8/139 +11/183

I just deleted the other thread I opened. Sorry about that and thank you for letting me know.
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185 +5.5/113&101 +8/139 +11/183

It's really exciting when you see the effect of having your cat back in better numbers, isn't it? It's also the big payoff for all of the work you're putting in to managing PurrFace's diabetes.

As long as his numbers are in the 150 - 200 range, you're good to give a shot. If they are lower than 150, post and we'll walk you through what to do. In the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky, there's written instructions on dealing with a low pre-shot number (just in case there's no one around if you need a hand).

I tend to be a big fan of getting a +2 test. If the +2 is considerably lower than your pre-shot number, there's a good chance it will be an active cycle. Let's see what the numbers tell us before you plan on not getting much sleep!
 
Re: NEED HELP AT PMPS

Sienne, Gabby, & Gizmo (& George, GA)Thank you so much. By active cycle I assume you mean the insulin will be working at full blast and then to keep a close eye on him. Thank you again.
 
Re: NEED HELP AT PMPS

Hi John and welcome to Lantus Land! You are doing a super job with Purrface. Isn't it great to see him feeling good and back to his regular self? We saw the same thing with Zener after we switched from humulin n to Lantus.
Liz, Zener's other mom (I sign my posts and Anne doesn't)
 
Re: NEED HELP AT PMPS

Thanks Sienne. I just gave him his PM shot since his PMPS BG was 199. I'll test at +2 & +4 tonight and keep a real close eye on him throughout the evening.
Liz, it is exciting to see all blue but also a bit scary the first time as well. It's kinda like your first day of second grade after summer break. PurrFace is the first FD that our vet is treating with Lantus. Prior to this he never heard of it, that's why he started him on 3U of Humulin N twice a day. After discovering FDMB we had a very good discussion with the vet on our next visit. He again said he wasn't aware of it but promised to research it..that was a Friday. Monday morning at 8 AM he called me all excited about trying Lantus. He did his homework and also checked with some folks at the University and the labs he uses. He told us to start at 2U twice a day but we started at 1U and this is the third day at 1.25U. I'm so glad I followed the advise of all the wonderful folks at FDMB and started where we did. Thank you all again and I'll update the post at the +2 & +4 time frame.
 
Re: NEED HELP AT PMPS

Hi John, Welcome! Great job testing and shooting Purrface. Its good to hear your vet is excited to help you get Purrface regulated and OTJ. We also had a dramatic improvement when we switched Jasper from Humulin to Lantus. The hardest part for us was shifting our thinking to dosing based on nadir and not PS numbers. If you find yourself facing the nadir vs. PS dilemna, whether to shoot a low number, just post for help here and LL folks will advise and hand holding as needed so you can follow the protocol with confidence. Have a great evening!
Leslie
 
Re: Dosing? 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185

rhiannon and shadow said:
...
At least 2 hour without food before shots because it takes that long for the food influence to wear off.
My cat takes 2 hrs 20 minutes usually.

Wow, talk about knowing your cat. Can you be a LITTLE more precise? :lol:

Welcome John!
 
Re: NEED HELP AT PMPS

John:

When you have a chance, can you change your subject line to:

10/4 PurrFace PMPS-199

You can then add your +2 and +4 info as you collect those tests. It's helpful to keep the current numbers in your subject line. Those of us who scan the board can keep an eye out for any issues that may arise if we can see the numbers.
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace PMPS-199.+2/338&335

PM+2 numbers jumped to 338 and retest of 335. He did eat 1/2 of 3oz can FF between his PM shot and +2. I didn't think that much food two hours prior to a BG test could make that much of a difference. He hasn't had anything to eat since that food at PM shot time so it will be interesting to see what his +4 number will be.
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace PMPS-199.+2/338&335

This is likely a bounce. PurrFace isn't used to spending time in blue numbers so his liver panicked. When that happens, the liver pumps out a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. It can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. If the numbers are continuing in the pink, I'd suggest getting a good night's sleep!
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace PMPS-199.+2/338&335

John,

I'm so happy that you are seeing the "old" PurrFace again! Isn't that wonderful? :-D
 
Re: 10/4 PurrFace PMPS-199.+2/338&335 +4/385

Well his +2 & +4 numbers are in the Pink so he should be good tonight. He wanted to eat after his +4 PM shot. Thank you all for your posts. When he got into the blue and then dropped to 101 I got concerned but once again everyone here came to the rescue. We would be so lost without FDMB!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top