9/29 Bailey PMPS 380 +2 261 +4 257 +5 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo

So I had a little fun with Bailey last night. Preshot was a little higher last night that I am used to seeing and it should have warned me because his hypo on Sept 5th was preceeded by an unusually high pink for him. But I wasnt thinking straight, I still have this cold, and now both pet rabbits are sick and my focus is off. So I said oh its high pink I think I will wait and get a late night measurement for a change.

And again I am glad I did.

I woke up at PMPS + 7.5 and measured him and he was 30. He was behaving normally but I wonder if he was lower at PMPS +6!!.. yikes. Anyway he was supposed to get an increase today. That is SO not going to happen. I took him down to 1 drop instead.

he is in such a good mood today - he loved the HC food and is begging and following me around whenever I go into the kitchen where its kept.
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey AMPS 133 but had a 30 overnight

I know - it just shows how important testing is. If i hadnt got up I would have assumed some sort of gradual decrease from 330 to 133.. not that he had dropped so low and come back up again. I dont understand though why he is having these spikes and drops every so often.. But I think I will be doing a +7 or +8 for a while.
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey AMPS 133 but had a 30 overnight

I think I will be doing a +7 or +8 for a while
I think that's a good idea ;-) .

I've seen J.D. have really high numbers before a low, but right now, J.D. and Bailey are pretty different in their numbers.

I'm glad you caught that 30. Good luck with the dosecrease.

And, I hope your rabbits and you are feeling better, today.
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey AMPS 133 but had a 30 overnight

Great catch Wendy! You are right on about getting some additional tests, that will certainly help paint a more complete picture of what is happening during Bailey's cycle. Hope you and your rabbits feel better soon. Have a great day!
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey AMPS 133 but had a 30 overnight

Yes....good catch. That is known as the high before the break. It's always good to keep an eye on numbers when they go high like that because it could definitely mean a much lower number later.

Good job at observing that. And congrats on the reducie.
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey AMPS 133 but had a 30 overnight

Not only did you do great catching that low, look at Bailey today. What a run of good numbers!
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey AMPS 133 but had a 30 overnight

Sometimes kittys will go extra high and then come down to some nice low numbers in that cycle or the next.
I don't know why it happens, it just does sometimes.
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey AMPS 133 but had a 30 overnight

oh ok I see. I just wondered why it meant a possible hypo when he does that. But I reduced his dose so hopefully it wont happen again.. its scary!
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey AMPS 133 but had a 30 overnight

Yes it is scary. Along with the before bed test, you might want to start setting an alarm for +6 at night time, so you can see how he's doing at around his nadirs.
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey PMPS 380

380!!! I have never seen him so high. This is very odd. Anyway I am going to watch like a hawk tonite. Plus we just finished the insulin vial so maybe it had gone funny at the end.
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey PMPS 380

380! :o I'ts Okay. It's natural. He's just bouncing from that 30 yesterday, and probably the full moon may have some affect.
What I meant in my previous post since it looks like you are testing at +6 during the day, is that cats often go lower at night time. Probably because they are sleeping more and eating less over night.

Come down nice and easy, Bailey.
 
Re: 9/29 Bailey PMPS 380

Makes me scared to think how low he could gave gone last night. And for how long. What kind of damage does a hypo do?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top