Gracie's Yesterday
9/17 Recap:
AMPS: 312
+3: 273
+234
+10: 266
PMPS: 220
+2: 293
+5: 319
Happy Tuesday!!!!
Experiment over. We were prepared to hold this dose one more day if she showed any signs of coming down but nope....up up. So she got a dosecrease to sk.75u this morning. I took her up a full 0.25u. She might still have been overdosed and I might have reduced her too much but it's time to get the Gracie engine moving again and find her lovely greens and regulation back. She seems to feel fine although she's been quiet; she is urinating a little more and the number of days above renal threshold worry me due to the sugar in her urine and the fact that she always runs a little too alkaline of a urine pH anyway. Now we just wait some more to see if she comes back down. I'm prepared to go up as much as she needs us to in small increments. While it might have seemed an exercise in futility resulting in high numbers, we learned a lot from it and the basic premise is it allowed us to get her flattened back out so we can start from a better position instead of trying to deal with roller coaster cycles.
As an important note in case anyone missed it: we did not lower Gracie's dose to do a rebound check. We lowered it because we felt the A/B was resolving infection and her insulin needs were decreasing causing her to dive/bounce. We needed to get that stopped and the best way to do it, in Gracie's situation, was to take her down and "reset" the cycles to flat ones. Please do not carry this method over to your cat. This is a Gracie-specific trial.
Off to do a few more errands today......mainly grocery shopping. We had some new raised planter boxes constructed in the yard and our painter will be here later to do them and repaint the catio (he came the other day but got rained out). So...off we go. Have a great day.
9/17 Recap:
AMPS: 312
+3: 273
+234
+10: 266
PMPS: 220
+2: 293
+5: 319
Happy Tuesday!!!!
Experiment over. We were prepared to hold this dose one more day if she showed any signs of coming down but nope....up up. So she got a dosecrease to sk.75u this morning. I took her up a full 0.25u. She might still have been overdosed and I might have reduced her too much but it's time to get the Gracie engine moving again and find her lovely greens and regulation back. She seems to feel fine although she's been quiet; she is urinating a little more and the number of days above renal threshold worry me due to the sugar in her urine and the fact that she always runs a little too alkaline of a urine pH anyway. Now we just wait some more to see if she comes back down. I'm prepared to go up as much as she needs us to in small increments. While it might have seemed an exercise in futility resulting in high numbers, we learned a lot from it and the basic premise is it allowed us to get her flattened back out so we can start from a better position instead of trying to deal with roller coaster cycles.
As an important note in case anyone missed it: we did not lower Gracie's dose to do a rebound check. We lowered it because we felt the A/B was resolving infection and her insulin needs were decreasing causing her to dive/bounce. We needed to get that stopped and the best way to do it, in Gracie's situation, was to take her down and "reset" the cycles to flat ones. Please do not carry this method over to your cat. This is a Gracie-specific trial.
Off to do a few more errands today......mainly grocery shopping. We had some new raised planter boxes constructed in the yard and our painter will be here later to do them and repaint the catio (he came the other day but got rained out). So...off we go. Have a great day.