9/17 Buster AMPS 113, +4.5 136, +5 147, PMPS 194

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
Good morning. I am hesitant to give a dose this morning, as I will be at work today. I will be able to come home for lunch around +5. Maybe a chicken shot?
Tested 15 min later and we're at 121

Previous Condo
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMBG 113 - dose advice requested

That would be the lowest you've ever shot before, so I understand. Could you maybe get another test in about 20 or so minutes after the last test, just to see if his numbers are going up or down? That would help us to help you decide.
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMBG 113 - dose advice requested

Thanks Dyana - I updated my post in the time you responded - he's going up. We're at 121 15 minutes later. Should be ok, right? I'm not going to get any work done - hehe
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMBG 113 - dose advice requested

Tested 15 min later and we're at 121
I'm sorry, I didn't see that the first time.

What would you feel comfortable with? If you shoot, I would leave out extra food for him. I'm glad you can get home for a mid-cycle test. That's a plus.
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMBG 113 - dose advice requested

I'm going to look at his spreadsheet again. If you decide to BCS, then you don't want to stall, too.
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMBG 113 - dose advice requested

Not prepared to leave extra food out :oops: Guess I need to get a feeder... Last one I had he could break into. I would be ok with shooting .5u, but scared with .75u
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMBG 113 - dose advice requested

I understand. I PM'd Jane to see what she thinks.
I think if it was me, in your shoes, that I would go with the 0.50, too, as it is your lowest pre shot ever, and you will not be home.
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMBG 113 - dose advice requested

Shooting a reduced dose is fine. If you don't want to leave additional food out, you can always add some MC/HC to Buster's AM meal. It's not the best strategy if you're going to be home but if you're nervous about shooting and leaving, it will give you a cushion until you're home to check on Buster.
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMBG 113 - dose advice requested

Your own comfort level right now, is important. And you don't need to be stressed at work, all day. Although, as you get more data, there will be days, when you will shoot low numbers.

I freeze food in little containers that I put out when I leave for the day, and I have two cats, so I leave out a lot.
I will also have a medium carb container of food frozen as well, when I am worried. You might want to try that, until you get a feeder.
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMBG 113 - dose advice requested

Ok, Dyana - I'll work on the frozen food for now. I mustered up a .5 and we'll see what happens. Thank you very much - have a great Monday!!!
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMPS 113

Hi guys .. nice shooting this morning! I know you're nervous but I have high hopes that buster will just cruise the day away for you! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMPS 113

I agree with Dyana and Sienne - I just got the PM :smile: (Thanks, Dyana!) The 0.5u is a fine way to go, since you can't be home to watch the whole cycle. Dyana makes a very good point with the frozen food cubes - if you can see a possible "drama-cycle" coming on, you can always have a special mixed carb food frozen (say, LC mixed with MC or even HC) in icecube trays, so that you can help steady the potential drops when needed.

We'll be looking out for that next BG! Go Buster!!
Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMPS 113

Sometimes, when I forget to freeze food, and I still have an hour or so before leaving, I'll spread the food out thin on a small plate and put it in the freezer, and it will freeze pretty good before I leave. I don't know if you have that much time before you leave.

I also, will put bowls of food around the house, when I'm nervous, in the places where my cat hangs out. On those days I come home to bowls of food or empty bowls of food all around my house, but it makes me feel better :smile:
 
Re: 9/17 Buster AMPS 113, +4.5 136, +5 147

Beautiful numbers for a BCS. Good job. Don't worry if it's high tonight -- baby steps, baby steps! You'll have plenty of time to get the data you need to feel comfy with these low numbers, and not being home is a really important factor here! You are doing a great job, Tara!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top