WCR = same as usual pretty much. Mousie is pretty boring really. doesn't change much from one day to the next so if there is anything different it's usually pretty drastic. one thing though is she's not liking not getting fed when i first get up this morning. she greeted me happily this morning, talked to me like usual, then went over and licked her empty food dish. :cry:
she's used to me getting up and going straight to test/shot/feed at roughly 5:30 am, but with this lantus and trying to get as close to 12/12 as i can, i get up now and do everything else and then test/shot/feed her the very last thing before leaving at 7 am
so after hearing her pitifully licking the empty dish i decided i'd go ahead and get an early test so she could have a few treats. that seemed to tie her over.
Yes ma'am, particularly in early stages of insulin switch We're on the lookout for lethargy, lack of participation in daily activities, etc, but we're also looking for signs she's adapting well. If she's hacking up a hairball when you wake up, that's important too cuz it tells us why she's so high/low/whatever. WCR very important in LL. If she's just being her normal cute self, tell us that too. And if you have adorable stories about her licking her empty dish, by all means tell us that. We love quirky kitty stories.
This would be my Leo report if I did a daily condo:
Gave Leo a haircut yesterday and he's still adapting to being naked, but he's up and around showing off his secksiness to the other kitties, who avert their eyes. Hopefully no more hairballs for him. His fake pill pockets (friskies hairball treats) seem to be playing a little havoc with his numbers but he's getting his heart meds again, so it's worth it. All systems normal, and my eyes runneth over from the stinker he left in the LB this morning.
you mean i gotta do that everyday too? LOL!!
she greeted me happily this morning, talked to me like usual, then went over and licked her empty food dish. :cry:
:lol: You dont HAVE to...you GET to do a wcr everyday!!!! :mrgreen: She may be boring to you (which I highly doubt), but few of us know mousie! Let us get to know her, too. ;-)
Ive had a rare handful of a.m. shots Ive had to stall. Each time Ive caught Latte on her throne licking her blanket...trying to get up any left over crumbs from treats the day before. This is coming from a cat who really does not eat much on her own. its both sad and kinda cute.
You two will find a routine that works for both of you. Its only been a few days. Hang in there!
Yellers are better than stinkus pinkus no doubt!
I'm sure Mousie will adjust to the food time change... just not sure on how long it's gonna take!
Hang in there, we'll look after her (and you) don't you worry!
Re: 3/2 Mousie AMPS 254 PMPS 96..ok, here it is, do i shoot it?
how about a 15 or 30 minute stall, without feeding (if you haven't already)? Probably because you and Mousie are not newbies, you could shoot this, but we might as well see where she is going first.
Re: 3/2 Mousie AMPS 254 PMPS 96..ok, here it is, do i shoot it?
no problemo. we're coming up on 15 minutes so i'll test in just a couple and will let you know.
i had the dose all drawn up too and almost did it but thought i'd better ask anyway. i think i'll toss that syringe full as it's been out now for the 15 and it's no big loss.
and no, Mousie gets fed after her shot so she hasn't had her dinner yet. if i feed her first she wouldn't cooperate with me for test/shot
good. As long as you can test more tonight, you can shoot whenever you're comfortable. She's not dropping anymore. Start with a +1 and +2 for data collection purposes and so we'll know if we need to intervene with food (probably not).
k, will go shoot my 1u and test for the next few hours at least.
thanks Libby.
(btw, totally OT but i was catching up while waiting....did anyone see the newest announcement about Rebecca? she fell and broke her arm i just saw it at the top of Community)
she didn't gobble up her dinner actually. but figure she's getting more treats than usual andddddd, apparently she didn't want Freshpet chicken tonight but wanted Friskies Liver & Chicken Dinner instead. passed her Freshpet on to Fuzzie and got her some of the Friskies and she sat down and ate so we'll see if she gets that spike now. usually she is indeed a spiker so this should be interesting.
You can feed 2 tsp of LC food here and retest in an hour to see if that threw her on her surfboard. Or 1/2 hour if you're a testaholic like me. :mrgreen: Her onset might be just starting.
really? ugh! she hasn't had high carb since september 2006
but you guys are the experts so if you say so then i will. maybe i'll try one lick for now since i haven't a clue what it will do to her. since she hasn't had any in so long maybe 1 lick will be enough ??
boy does she take you guys literally or what! i'd call that steady. LOL!!
how far out should I add the numbers to the subject line? or how about on the next one i remove the +1, +2, etc, from the subject line and just start with +4?
wow! she's doing great!!!
i have no idea what the character limit is for subject lines. we may find out tonight. lol!
you could always remove the amps first.
I'd just take out your amps..the rest are fairly important.
Just have to say.. HEHEHE I'm loving this, you must feel like I did when I switched to Lantus. Kinda a mix of "this is the greatest thing ever!" and "I feel like a total newbie" and "I hope she doesn't do this every nite.. wait I hope she does!"
LOL!! pretty much. actually i don't mind this at night so much. can't have her doing it too much during the day though.
btw, if there comes a big need to get her up a ways, i know what i'm gonna do. i've decided i will either put her in the bedroom with Jr, Stinky, & Yoda or I will pick her up and hold her close to me and smooch her big time. that should stress her out so much her number will skyrocket :lol: (i might need stitches though so if i go missing, someone send an ambulance k)
well if it makes you feel better, I've got a PMPS of 98 over here and our dose is 29u. I am pondering what to do now that it's +12.5, but I'm leaning heavily towards BCS-ing in a couple hours if he's up over 150.