9/9 Sushi - LOW #s LAST PM - +3.75~47|+4~53|+4.25~61|+4.5~55

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sushi (GA 5/05-3/14)

Member Since 2011
Sushi's #s started to drop toward the end of last night's condo; I ended up staying up late into the night/morning trying to get him back up. Here's a recap:
+3.5 ~ 56
+4 ~40 -- VitaGravy
+4.5 ~48
+4.75 ~41 -- 1 tsp FF Chicken hearts & liver feast in gravy
+5 ~42 -- 1 tsp FF Chicken hearts & liver feast in gravy
+5.5 ~53
+6 ~54
+6.25 ~53
+6.5 ~62
+7 ~65 & 73
Thank goodness for Pinterest to keep me occupied through it all! ;-)

Still wondering if anyone has thoughts on VitaGravy?

Have a great evening! : )
 
Re: 9/9 Sushi - LOW #s LAST PM - +4~225|+6~283|+9~179|PMPS~1

:lol: I LOVE Pinterest! So addictive!!!!

Wow, Sushi, you sure stirred the pot last night! But what lovely numbers I'm seeing for today...especially tonight's PMPS! Sure would be nice if you'd surf in the blues and let your momma bean get some sleep! She deserves it!!!! Good job last night, Ashley! Hope he behaves tonight! Sorry I don't know anything about VitaGravy. Hope someone out there has some info for you. Sleep well!!
 
Re: 9/9 Sushi - LOW #s LAST PM - +4~225|+6~283|+9~179|PMPS~1

Ohhhhh brother!! Heerrreee we go again. I just tested Sushi at +3.5 and he's at 47.
Oh boy I need some sleep! @-) This is not good for a bean!

Deborah & Shasta said:
:lol: I LOVE Pinterest! So addictive!!!!
I knooooowwwwww!!! And it's good for this whole burning the midnight oil whilst nailbite_smile because it keeps me alert enough. If I read, I get sleepy and start to fall asleep. If I watch TV I get sleepy. And late night delirious cleaning is kind of an oxymoron with me. I often end up making more of a mess because I get distracted and don't finish the tasks I start.

Ohhh Sushi, please not another 4 hour marathon of low #s! Please please!!
 
Re: 9/9 Sushi - LOW #s LAST PM - +9~179|PMPS~115|+3.5 & 3.75

i have mastered the art of sleeping for 30 minutes at a time, then waking up, testing & giving a treat, and repeating the cycle. it's kinda awful, and yet do-able. the one thing i did discover is that if i'm really tired a timer ding isn't enough, so i use my cell phone alarm.

i've never heard of vita-gravy but since it's made for cats, i'd assume it's ok. this is what i found for it http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=11147529:

Your feline friend will love taking daily vitamins when they're in the form of this rich and meaty cat food topping. The tasty gravy is fortified with Omega 3, linoleic acid and taurine to help give your cat's skin and coat a healthy boost while adding savory new flavor to your kitty's dry food.

Boost the flavor of your kitty's food while boosting his or her health with this HealthPro Vita Gravy Skin & Coat Cat Food Topping. Fortified with Omega 3, linoleic acid and taurine, this nutrient-rich gravy topping helps promote a shiny coat and healthy skin so your cat will look and feel radiant. The mouthwatering taste and rich texture of gravy make getting important vitamins and minerals a delicious treat for your furry friend.

For cats
Fortified with Omega 3, linoleic acid, taurine and other important nutrients to help support a shiny coat and healthy skin
Sumptuous gravy adds irresistible flavor to your cat's food
Wheat-free, all-natural, low-calorie formula is a healthy treat
Made in USA
Squeeze on dry food and stir; serve approximately 1 Tbsp. per 1/2 cup of dry food
Lip Lickin' Chicken
Ingredients: Chicken broth, brown rice flour, safflower oil, natural chicken flavor, hydrolyzed soy protein, honey, carrots, celery, tomato paste, A palmitate, D3 cholecalceferol, E alpha tocopherol acetate, calcium phosphate, potassium phosphate, magnesium sulfate, choline chloride, zinc sulfate, manganese sulfate, thiamin hydrochloride, niacinamide, calcium pantothenate, riboflavin, folic acid, taurine, vitamin B12 supplement, lemon juice, caramel color and xantham gum
Guaranteed Analysis: Crude Protein (min) 1.0%, Crude Fat (min) 3.0%, Crude Fat (max) 4.0%, Crude Fiber (max) 0.1%, Moisture (max) 85.6%

Savory Salmon
Ingredients: seafood broth, rice flour, safflower oil, natural salmon flavor, hydrolyzed soy protein, honey, carrots, celery, tomato paste, pineapple pulp, yucca pulp, A palmitate, D3 cholecalceferol, E alpha tocopherol acetate, calcium phosphate, potassium phosphate, magnesium sulfate, choline chloride, zinc sulfate, manganese sulfate, thiamin hydrochloride, niacinamide, calcium pantothenate, riboflavin, folic acid, taurine, vitamin B12 supplement, lemon juice, caramel color and xantham gum
Guaranteed Analysis: Crude Protein (min) 1.0%, Crude Fat (min) 3.0%, Crude Fat (max) 4.0%, Crude Fiber (max) 0.1%, Moisture (max) 85.6%

Available in an 8-fl. oz. package

Available in Lip Lickin' Chicken and Savory Salmon Flavors

hope you get some sleep tonight!
 
Re: 9/9 Sushi - LOW #s LAST PM - +9~179|PMPS~115|+3.5 & 3.75

Hiiiiii Julie!!!!! :YMHUG:
No, no sleep for me! We're at it again...I tried the sleeping for 30 mins at a time thing a few weeks ago, and it was pretty miserable. But seeing as how I have to work tomorrow, I think I might switch to that mode in a sec. It's just that I get so sleepy and delirious I don't make good decisions. One night I tested, got a 64 and went right back to sleep without a second thought. I usually would have at least done another test to see which way his #s were going, if not given some high carb something.
Sushi sleeps through it all! Even while I test him...it makes me super jealous!

I suppose I should have lowered his dose after last night, but I wasn't sure if that was a good move with all the changes we're going through right now. With everything going back to normal, I figured he's just re-adjusting. But we'll do a decrease tomorrow for sure! I've GOT to start sleeping again!

Also, I feel like no matter how many times this happens, we always end up at 3+ units again anyway. I feel like we just go back and forth, back and forth, and can never land on a dose that really works. I feel like I'm playing checkers, don't see any moves I can make, so I just move a piece one way, then back over and over again. No moving forward. Ugh.

Is there anything I can do to prevent staying up all night? Can I just give him some kibble or something? I've really got to get some sleep! :-|
 
Re: 9/9 Sushi - LOW #s LAST PM - +3.75~47|+4~53|+4.25~61|+4.

welllll - if you give him kibble it will take a while to get into his system, and then it will stay there for another day or so. it's not ideal. i don't really know of a safe plan except to keep checking him every 30 minutes til you're certain he's on his way up and past the nadir. if you could be sure he'd eat, you could leave food but since he's been so iffy i wouldn't trust it.

sorry, wish i had better news, but you know it's a better be safe than sorry type of thing.

i looked at his ss and was going to suggest that you add the name of whatever AB he's on into your comment section. i'd put the dose too - you might need to know it later.
 
Re: 9/9 Sushi - LOW #s LAST PM - +3.75~47|+4~53|+4.25~61|+4.

Okayyyyyyy...
But what if this happened while I was at work or something? Like if I came home for lunch, checked him and he was super low? I would just break open a can of high carb and leave it out for him?

He's up to 70 now, so I'm going to go to sleep and set an alarm to check on him in a bit. Sooo excited to get some zzzz's!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top